We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel

Save
Share
Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6NS England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$536
View deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1642)
Room & Suite (366)
Dining (141)

About

#27 of 37 hotels in Bath
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bath Spa Hotel is perfectly situated in historic Bath and is just a short stroll from many of the city's top attractions. The hotel has years and years of history behind its walls and is rich in character which is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities. Exquisite food and rolling grounds create the perfect setting for your city break, but it is the outstanding customer service which will set your holiday apart.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
5684Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,301
  • 1,537
  • 986
  • 531
  • 329
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jasmine K wrote a review Jun 14
7 contributions
We came at the weekend to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels we stayed at. The staff were on point and the hotel itself was beautiful. We had a lovely upgraded room which was lovely and the bed was soooo comfy. The aircon in the room was most welcomed. We had pre-booked to use the swimming pools which again were a lovely bonus, they had sunbeds around the outside pool which you can order drinks at which I thought was a lovely touch. We had drinks outside on the stunning terrace before we walked into town for dinner, we then came back to have some drinks before returning to our room as it was so peaceful and you were very looked after. The breakfast the next day was exquisite. Lots of options and we honestly felt like the luckiest couple in the world. The whole stay was utterly perfect we were so sad to leave. We will definitely be back! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Sadie wrote a review Jun 14
23 contributions8 helpful votes
Booked to stay here 2 months in advance for a birthday gift for my partner, upgraded our room and also asked for balloons and chocolates to be put in the room as a surprise. When we arrived we were an hour early but we watched the football in the bar so not an issue. When we were in the bar it took 20 minutes from the time we ordered our drink to the time it was served to us, despite everyone around us having been served theirs. We had to remind 2 different waitresses that we had ordered a drink and neither of them were helpful. When the drinks finally arrived we ordered a Camembert which came with bread. After 15 minutes the food arrived and the bread was rock solid to the point I couldn’t chew it. We asked a waitress for some different bread on the side (was happy to pay for it) but again, 25 minutes later and 3 reminders later the bread turned up by which point the Camembert was cold and hard. When we told the waitress she just went ‘oh ok’ and walked off. I then complained to reception about the poor service and she reassured me they will take the food off the bill and cook us a new Camembert for the inconvenience. A new Camembert shortly followed and so did the bill, charging us for the Camembert and the bread we received late the first time. As we didn’t want to make any more of a fuss as it had already ruined the afternoon we just paid the bill. I then went to check in and asked the receptionist ‘Just double checking the balloons and chocolates I organised are in our room’ to which she reassured me they were. We got to our room and there was nothing, as you can imagine I was really upset because it was a surprise I had organised for my partner to make him feel special and yet another thing had gone wrong and at this point there was no point even complaining as the special moment had passed. The room was ok, although we were supposed to have bath robes and slippers, no slippers were provided. The TV remote for the TV didn’t work at all so we had to control the TV by the buttons at the side of it. I paid the extra for breakfast the next day and when we turned up our room number or name wasn’t on the list. The service was better, they were a lot quicker but when the cooked breakfast arrived it was dry, no taste at all and wasn’t worth paying extra for. I came away from this night away feeling really upset and disappointed that something I had booked to be so special was quite the opposite. The hotel itself is a beautiful hotel but the lack of customer service was bad enough to ensure I will never book at this hotel or any of its partner hotels again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bath Spa, General Manager at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. As you have contacted us by email, we will respond to you direct.
Read more
mrjook wrote a review Jun 13
Newport, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
On arrival to this beautiful hotel, we were directed to our room which was spotlessly clean with all the facilities we expected. However, when peering through the window we realised we had the view of the car park instead of the garden. We specifically booked a room with a garden view using a 3rd party organisation, so there must have been a mix-up with the reservation. We reported this to the reception staff and was taken under the wing of Elaine. Elaine immediately prioritised our situation and took action without delay changing our room to one with a garden view. Professional and friendly service, thanks Elaine, you made our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Cathy blake wrote a review Jun 11
34 contributions43 helpful votes
The soft of old fashioned hotel with excellent courteous service that is s pleasure to visit. Had a massage in the spa which was thorough, and very relaxing. Coffee on the terrac e overlooking the beautiful grounds. The room was lovely, superbly comfortable bed, luxurious en suite with a powerful shower whicj came hot pretty much instantly and didn't require much fiddling with. Breakfast was good, the full English cooked to perfection. A pleasant walk into town, plenty of shops and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
abigail d wrote a review Jun 6
1 contribution
We had a fantastic 4 night stay. The facilities and the rooms were really good and so was the food but what lifted the hotel above the norm was the service. All the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Great team in the restaurant making everything run smoothly and quickly despite all the covid rules (which they observed consistently). We will definitely be back and would recommend to any family, so relaxing to stay here and a fabulous location too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald bath hotel bath, macdonald hotel bath, bath hotel spa, macdonald bath spa
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Roman Baths (0.7 miles), The Makery (0.7 miles), and Krowd Keepers: Magic Theatre (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cappadocia Mediterranean Restaurant, Eight, and Sotto Sotto.
Are there opportunities to exercise at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Bath.
Are any cleaning services offered at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Roman Baths (0.7 miles), Bath Abbey (0.7 miles), and Bath Street (0.8 miles).