We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Griffin Inn

Agoda.com$125*
View Deal
#50 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Start your review of The Griffin Inn
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Griffin Inn is a nice little place in a great location. We only stayed for one night but it was a good choice to be in central Bath. I would advise that the rooms are quite small with even smaller bathrooms, and some of the rooms are up several flights of stairs and down small, narrow corridors. Whilst this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuartandLaura_2011
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Had a great meal in there last week, food was absolutely fantastic, met the chef who was really informative about what we had eaten, barstaff absolutely fantastic, also spoke to the manageress who I think was called Kate and she could not have been more helpful, highly recommended and will definately return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
Prince_of_Ales, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, Thank you for you review, I have passed on your comments to the Kate and Nick (the chef) Sam

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

This small city centre traditional pub with excellent food is one of Bath's best kept secrets. Just off the busiest tourist routes, this is a welcome haven from much of the over-crowded chains elsewhere in town. I go here all the time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FredPettit
Prince_of_Ales, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

I agree, The Griffin is an unspoiled gem! Sam

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Stayed at the Griffin on Good Friday for a quick visit to Bath. Quirky little Inn with nice friendly staff and reasonable prices. Great location for seeing the town and pleasant enough for a short break. Good breakfast thrown in as well. Only drawback was no on-site parking with a good 5 minute walk to the nearest car park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pritci23
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sam

Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Visited Bath this weekend and was drawn to The Griffin Inn. Never will I go back there, glamourised on Booking.com with very cleverly took photographs , although the young girl on arrival on the Saturday was friendly the rest of the staff are a different matter We asked about the free drink on arrival and was told that this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nickey S
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nickey S, I am so sorry that you had a poor time at the Griffin, I am looking into all of your complaints and will be acting on them. Sam

Whitstable
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

Firstly must say evening bar staff an morning breakfast staff were fantastic and helped out with any problems. But housekeeping terrible (current lack of staff). Room not cleaned properly and not ready for visitors. Corridors and staircase have filthy dirty walls and carpet. Mentions in information left in room to allow for old quirky property and room. It was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia G
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Laetitia, We are attempting to remedy the issues that you bring up. Thank you for your feedback Sam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2017

Absolutely disappointed of my decision. First of all, it is a very noisy hotel because of the bar on the ground floor. There is a door that could isolate the noise, but it is never closed. It is definitely not a family friendly place. The rooms and the bathroom are dark and tiny. I finally tried to avoid going back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arturoguz
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Arturoguz, I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. The Griffin does not pretend to be a family friendly hotel, as the Griffin is a pub with rooms. That said we will always do our best to accommodate families. Thank you for your feedback Sam

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 5, 2017

I really liked the location, it was walking distance to everything you could wish to do in Bath. The pub was great, the locals were friendly and drew us maps to some other interesting pubs in the area. I was a bit disappointed by the room - although the bed was huge and really comfy, I don't think I've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kakapo2015
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kakapo2015, Unfortunately the building is listed and so we are unable to change the size of the rooms, however we will be changing the shower and giving the rooms an refresh imminently. Thank you very much for your feedback Sam

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

It is a good hotel due to the following reasons: 1) location: close to the termae and abbey (5min) 2) complete breakfast: English, omelettes, and other options 3) clean room 4) friends staff There is a restaurant and pub inside I would recommed it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juggler85
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, please come again soon. Sam

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 22, 2017

The accommodation was of an excellent standard. Leah was fantastic and helpful in many ways. Nothing was amiss and the service was great. The Circus Room was of excellent standard and all amenities were provided. Breakfast was cooked to perfection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _eddiefelton2355
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eddie, Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again. Sam

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 154 in Bath
1,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At nearly 300 years old, The Griffin Inn has never looked so good - founded in 1730, it has changed a lot since then - comfortable en-suite rooms, free wifi & a wholesome breakfast, delicious fresh cooked food, 18 craft ales & ciders and a wine list fit for a king! Welcome to our Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Griffin Inn

Address: Monmouth Street, Bath BA1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $121 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Griffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Griffin Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Griffin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Circus Room has a good view of the front. Very close to The Theatre Royal.”
_eddiefelton2355, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
“all thew same standard”
sodafarl12, Mar 20, 2017 | Read review
“Pick rooms at the back - not street facing.”
rosieg726, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
“If you have luggage get a room closer to the stairway by the bar.”
BaLMaharaj, Jan 19, 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in the Abby Room or any room at the front of the hotel!”
Gemie13, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$125* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$125
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates