We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Shrewsbury Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Shrewsbury Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 575: English reviews
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was very good value as prices are lower on Sundays. The hotel is centrally located, close to the shops, theatre and other amenities. We had a large double room. The only quibble was with the shower. This was over the very narrow bath and the shower curtain was rather short and difficult to keep in place. Also it...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickykt
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vickykt Thank you for your fantastic review hope to see you again very soon Gal and The Hotel Team

North Wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about the room was up to expectations. !0 pm, wanted to watch the news. No remote control. Tried to fix on the night. No help available. Following day was told 'oh yes, someone stole it last week'. THANKS FOR THAT!!!

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anownertoo
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review Gail and the Hotel Team

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great place to stay right in town centre and park then walk around beautiful shrewsbury hit the bars and shops had a great new years eve we had great breakfast but they run out of tomatoes and mushrooms lol

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rider2017
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Many thanks for your excellent review and a Happy New Year to you. :-) Regards: Jane & The Hotel Team.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Front of hotel was shrouded in scaffolding and mesh when we arrived - outside was being painted. An older building (first Wetherspoons hotel in UK), some sloping floors on the upper floors. Staff were friendly. To access our room on the top floor involved a lift and stairs, then a walk along a long corridor. The telephone was not connected....

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aldo17
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your review, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that I was able to compensate you for the inconvenience caused to your stay. Kind Regards Jane & The Hotel Team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visit Shrewsbury four times a year for a couple of nights and have stayed at many places. Thought we would give the Shrewsbury Hotel a try. Have to say it was excellent £148 for two nights huge double bed big room with tv and all the bits and they are not frightened to heat the place. Its a good base...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fabulous review we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Shrewsbury, don't forget to call us to ensure you are able to stay in your requested favourite room. Regards: Jane & The Hotel Team.

Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Hotel good room 107 good at side so very quiet ,room big enough for 2 ,bed very comfortable clean,warm ,Staff very friendly and helpful, Breakfast is in the pub good and plenty of choices.No problem with parking free! I was surprised with Shrewsbury plenty to do ,lots of old pubs and shops the only problem weather cold and damp. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thank you for your amazing review lets hope when you come in the Summer the weather can match up Gail and the Hotel Team

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Fabulous Hotel, excellent location right in the centre of town, brilliant service the staff are all so friendly and helpful, food is excellent and so reasonable and cleanliness outstanding. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Secure car parking is a bonus and everyone great.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzieQ147
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SuzieQ Thank you for your fantastic review hope to see you again very soon Gail and The Hotel Team

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 6, 2016

We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff who made us welcome. The room was very clean and tidy and bright and modern, a little small especially if you were staying for a few nights. Nice touches in the room that made it a very comfortable and enjoyable stay - and at a bargain price. Great location and the benefit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Hi James Many thanks for your fabulous review. Kind Regards: Jane & The Hotel Team.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely 2 night break at this wonderful hotel set right in the Town Centre. From the moment we arrived, everything until our departure was perfect. There is on site parking and the check in was the quickest and most efficient we have experienced at any hotel we have stayed in anywhere in the world....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel W
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Noel, Thank you so much for your excellent review, I am so happy that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future. Kind Regards: Jane & The Hotel team. :-)

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2016

My partner and myself had a fab stay, polite, friendly staff and great food and we really enjoyed the real ales they had on. The room was clean and the bed was the biggest most comfy bed ever. Would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank traceyjames28
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracyjames28 Thank you for your amazing review hope to see you again very soon Gail and The Hotel Team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 15 in Shrewsbury
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#8 of 15 in Shrewsbury
948 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.3 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 22 bedroom Hotel owned by J D Wetherspoon, located in the beautiful town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. Situated in the town centre looking onto the River Severn. All rooms have free WIFI. A friendly reception team are on the front desk 24 hours a day to welcome you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Hotel

Address: Bridge Place Mardol, Shrewsbury SY1 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: $63 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Shrewsbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Shrewsbury Hotel staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Shrewsbury Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not sure if other rooms are better sound-proof...”
 of 5 bubbles taveya2016, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“Stay at the back rooms more quieter. Or stay on the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles 459sandra, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Don't pick a small room”
 of 5 bubbles Billythefish1, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms are very warm , really need air con in summer”
 of 5 bubbles 364lizb, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Room 106 large, bright and airy at front corner with dual aspect windows, can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles T3JHD, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay