We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cromwells Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cromwells Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Doncaster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stopped here from July 18th to 20th. Home from home. Lovely room. Very comfortable. Very friendly staff. Nothing was too much for them. Ideally situated. Perfect for a few days away from home. Only drawback was you have to park in the public carpark which is about a 3 minute walk away. No biggie but I like to know... More 

Helpful?
Thank M7211LOmarya
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to wait absolutely ages for our meals and when they did arrive only 3 came out at the same time. We had to wait a substantial time for the 4th meal to arrive. The waiter forgot to order the 4th meal so the three of us had to start eating before Jo. The bill at the end was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizwall2016

Travelers are raving about these Shrewsbury hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated on the edge of the main shopping area this hotel is full of character. Spacious room, four poster bed. Some noise from road but this is town centre. Great breakfast. Food menu looked good but didn't try as the town is full of choice if you want to eat out. Overall the hotel is excellent value. Only downside is... More 

Helpful?
Thank PuchM50
Shrewsbury
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Definitely gone downmarket. Loud horrible music. Staff looked as if working in disco. Whole restaurant looked seedy and dirty. Menu changed and not good. Chips big, but dry. Onion rings so crispy were inedible.

Helpful?
Thank NicolaShrewsbury
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good location,room ok overlooking garden very noisy music til midnight.breakfast basic vegetarian breakfast not complete due to problems in kitchen but no extras offered. Shrewsbury town lovely but would not stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank gill j
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night as my wife had one it in a competition and it was our 49th wedding anniversary. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant young man behind the bar and were shown to our room. The room was very clean with a four poster bed that was one of the most comfortable beds I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

this is a very old building that adds to its charm . we stayed in room 4 ,clean and tidy, on the small side ,door opened onto the foot of the bed making access a little difficult The food was excellent and service to match. the down side of town centre hotels is the lack of on site parking .we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight room very clean and warm bit small as you would expect from a old building though. Staff superb fab breakfast would stay again no probs, no car parking on site but staff onto it and direct straight to a very very close ncp which was secure and less than £8 for 24 hrs . Great location for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Hi we came and stayed with you on the 16th of April 2016.We stayed for one night in two groups the Spencer...... Are stay was very good we where made very welcome ..... The rooms were very good and very comfortable .......I would come and stay again and i would also refer you to other people :) ......

Helpful?
Thank 59devilkiss
St Clears, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

To celebrate my birthday we wanted to stay somewhere special and having read the reviews we booked a superior room for two nights here. Initially we were pleased with the room but when we went to the restaurant we were really disappointed. We chose the steak as it was steak night but it was very poor and very over cooked.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you were pleased with our superior room. It is very special. The bed you slept in was made in Shropshire from oak trees that grew in Shropshire and cost over £10,000. Conversely, we are unhappy that you say that you had a problem with our food. However, we have no record of your dissatisfaction with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#13 of 14 in Shrewsbury
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
#12 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#18 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Draper's Hall
Draper's Hall
#16 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cromwells Hotel

Address: 11 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: $80 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cromwells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay