We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cromwells Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwells Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of Cromwells Hotel
 Click to rate
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here valentines weekend, very claustrophobic!! First room bed was Very Very head down from a sinking floor, after few moments of disappointment we were very quickly relocated without a fuss, however compromised on space. Tea/coffee had to be made on floor as table in hallway couldn't even fit cups, bedroom area smaller than a box room, no bedside cabinet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samsmyth78
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your rather nasty and unfair 'review'. The room you chose was a budget room. The hallway you mention is still within the room. Unless you are of gaurgantuan proportions it should be acceptable. The building is a 500 year old Grade II Listed building originally designed as a house. We have three large rooms, with handmade four poster...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been 3 x weeks running which was very good, This Sunday was not for the price of £12.50 for a one course, The beef was over done and the veg for 4 adults was a joke, 1 carrot each and a tinny bit of a two others, I was given that size last week on my own, Sorry but won't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrencunnington
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

Darren, I have looked for the three 'very good' experiences you may have published before taking the trouble to publish this one. I can't find it. Why didn't you publish three very good ones? You published just the one poor one. Just trying to get some balance and understanding on your motivation. All you had to do say was, 'Could...

Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

Cromwells is one of the best places in town to have a quick drink after work, lazy Saturday afternoon drinks, Sunday lunch or a date night. They have a lovely raised terrace with heaters that actually keep you warm and lovely blankets for late night drinks! Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky R
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Cromwell Hotel whilst visit the Shrewsbury area on a house hunting mission. We wanted to stay in the town so we could walk everywhere. This was a great location in the town and only a short walk to all areas of the town. Car parking isn't available at the hotel but an NCP car park is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

I recently dropped into cromwells with friends I had been before but as I heard new kitchen staff I decided to give it another go a is a great location. Food is better now, place has a great atmosphere so can't knock a good thing Well done

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaydle15
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Visited this bar/restaurant today had a lovely herbal tea as recommended by Zoe the bar tender Quite a few people were eating The food is consistently extremely good in here. A very cosy bar with excellent background music. The recent wall art is exquisite I highly recommend a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 23, 2016

stayed in the hotel in dec, 2016 - staff really friendly and owner gave us a little bit of history of the hotel, room featured tudor wooden beams that you'd have to pay a lot more for in the likes of the rupert hotel. Breakfast top notch. thank you for a great stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolmhassan
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 27, 2016

We only had a meal, it was really good, just the right quantity, tasted great and the advice on the wine was appreciated. Best chips in Shrewsbury! The steaks were cooked just right and the chicken melted in the mouth I'm told.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 01743Rich
Reviewed November 14, 2016

The staff were welcoming and Damien the manager went overboard to greet us and book us in. There was a party of 10 of us eating and we all had a fantastic meal. Everything was cooked to perfection and my steak was the best I have tasted, cooked perfect. The new menu and new chef, certainly works well at this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
Llanfachraeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

I would like to begin by saying that overall, my fiancée and I had a very nice stay at Cromwell'. Thank you to the staff for looking after us so nicely. We were looking for somewhere for B&B for one night (Friday) as we were in Shrewsbury for an event the following day. Cromwell's Inn is a quirky, ancient building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatODonnell83
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you had an average experience due to the noise in your room. There is little we can do as the building is ancient and in the middle of the town but the bar was closed off at midnight for the cinvieience of our room guests. Wechave been awarded 5 stars by the Food Standards Agency so the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 15 in Shrewsbury
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#14 of 15 in Shrewsbury
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#14 of 55 in Shrewsbury
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#7 of 55 in Shrewsbury
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#18 of 55 in Shrewsbury
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cromwells Hotel

Address: 11 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: $73 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwells Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cromwells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cromwells Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwells Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go for the 4 poster. and eat in the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles robj776, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“If you want a romantic stay book a room with a four poster bed!”
 of 5 bubbles 921ems, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if they have rooms off the street - but if they do I'd ask for one.”
 of 5 bubbles stewartindia, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“My advice is choose an alternative”
 of 5 bubbles 405mandyd, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is at the front of the hotel, busy bar on a Saturday & the road is busy, you will have noise. The room was faultless & immaculate.”
 of 5 bubbles SharonR532, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question