We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 576: English reviews
Start your review of Lion + Pheasant Hotel
 Click to rate
Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Staff were friendly and catered to our needs including changing our table to upstairs. Menu had enough to choose from and the food was really lovely. Catering staff were attentive without being overwhelming - definitely coming back again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cloggie98
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely fresh room with comfortable bed. Downstairs very stylish and contemporary - fresh flowers a nice touch. Great bar area with a modern vibe. Really nice breakfasts with alternatives to the full English e.g. Eggs Benedict.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachel682
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

After a chilly walk by the river,to find this gem ,it was bliss ,lovely fire,great welcome,food and Sevice 1st class ,stayed for hours,in Shrewsbury for the Fleetwood Mac Rumours tour ,wish I'd booked in here ,next time. ,give it a try.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to welcome you back to the Lion + Pheasant in the near future. Kind Regards Lion + Pheasant Team.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed here on several occasions and it never disappoints. Rooms are individual, clean and comfortable. Food is excellent, freshly cooked and full of imagination and relatively well priced. Breakfast is excellent with a choice of cooked selections at no extra cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank filer2017
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to welcome you back to the Lion + Pheasant in the near future. Kind Regards Lion + Pheasant Team.

Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The deco is great, shame the heating isn't as good. Constant chill and breeze in both the bar and restaurant. Food amazing. Bedrooms very stylish on the basic side. Ensuite tiny !! Left with a huge bruise on my shine off the corner of the wooden bed. For the price I would expect a better quality bed, more luxurious. Price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJS1234567
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Lion + Pheasant. Glad to hear you enjoyed the food and the decor of the Hotel. In regards to the other points raised, I’m not sure if you mentioned this at the time, we certainly would have done our best to rectify any concerns raised. If you would...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can't say enough good things about the meal and service I received here last night. Absolutely amazing nothing was too much trouble. Had a very bad experience at another restaurant in town and the team here rescued what would have been a terrible night. The steak was perfect and the staff were polite and friendly and made us feel relaxed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Lion + Pheasant. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to us, it really means a lot. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon. Kind Regards Lion + Pheasant Team.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had room 15 which was spacious but starting to look tired, we had visited a couple of years ago and had a standard room which was lovely however this time we felt the room lacked furniture and the paper on the ceiling was coming away and a couple of the bathroom tiles were broken.........think I'd stick to the cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiverKatyKate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Again only stayed one night and again really enjoyed it. A great location on the Wyle Cop, a few minutes walk from the delights of Shrewsbury and the river Severn and almost opposite Tanners Wine Merchants. Staff friendly and efficient, excellent room. And a great breakfast, except for that coffee. Good value at any time, great value in the winter,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexWembley
ShropshireLad50, Owner at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for posting our review ,hope to see you again soon . All good wishes from everyone at the Lion + Pheasant .

dorchester dorset
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room (number 14) was comfortable and beautifully decorated and presented. Comfy bed with lush bedding. Lovely clean bathroom. Warm and cosy. Just one snag, we overlooked the kitchen vents and the noise from the kitchen started early in the morning as they prepared breakfasts and was still noisy late into the evening. If we stayed again we would ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine c
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Went with a friend for a drink and we were able to chat without shouting. Have been before when there was a singer which was very good. Great place for an intimate drink but also for large groups. Will visit again soon. Have not stayed at the hotel so can't comment on that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
3.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 15 in Shrewsbury
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
7.2 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#4 of 15 in Shrewsbury
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: $132 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lion + Pheasant Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Lion + Pheasant Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Steep stairs to climb so not good for anyone with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles rachel682, 2 days ago | Read review
“The price is luxury but what you get isn't !!”
 of 5 bubbles AJS1234567, 1 week ago | Read review
“The Loft Suite is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles TomH423, Jan 15, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the road are best”
 of 5 bubbles john_a_griffiths, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
“Can't say, we only ate there”
 of 5 bubbles david00edwards, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question