We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This Inn, and our room, are perfect for our summer visit to Shrewsbury. We have an ample room with two beds, a bath, and a sitting chair. This hotel has just as many amenities as the Prince Rupert where I stayed a few years ago. I prefer unique hotels over the chains. We have cookies for our tea, there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stumbled across this Inn by chance on a daytrip to Shrewsbury which happened to coincide with the last day of the famous Flower Show. On this occasion, I had just popped in for a drink with a few friends. As we are all real ale drinkers, we were quite pleased with the selection and quality of ales on offer.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tino S
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend, our 2 children (aged 5) and her dog to attend a charity dog show in May and was very impressed. The rooms are clean and comfortable with an ensure bathroom with shower. Yes the Windows need replacing but this is a minor issue. It cost £60 for myself and my son to stay for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Visited our daughter who lives in Shrewsbury. We were a bit torn as to where to eat. There were lots of venues in town but most seemed a little pricy. We opted for The Olde Bucks Head Inn, simply because it appealed visually when we drove past earlier in the day. As luck would have it we dropped on!! The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fireyfred
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Jon and tracy are great hosts and try to help in any way , the home made food is exceptional and good value hats off to the chef the home made steak and kidney pie was the best I have ever eaten, rooms lovely, easy parking and quite, Perfect.

Helpful?
Thank 145David145
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

I felt like this place helped us out, in that we turned up unannounced in dire need of somewhere to stay and they made the process of us getting up to the room as painless as possible. And for 50 notes it was a fair price. Old fashioned in the widest sense of the word, a bit stuffy, but cosy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ax0xa
Newtown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

We have stayed at the Bucks Head for nearly 2 year. Visiting 6 times when we visit family. We have always been happy with the staff and facilities until our last visit. At the end of April we booked in for 4 nights. We were very disappointed with our whole stay. The internet did not work in our room, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
Management response:

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay this time , with regards to the internet we were having problems with connection in the rooms which is currently being dealt with .The shower in your room we were informed by a member of staff and have checked the shower and it works fine , other guests who have stayed... More 

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

Whenever at the theatre usually pop here for food. Did book in advance which was just as well as the place was heaving which is good to see. Appears to be under new management with a menu change, so absolutely gutted to see the Carribbean chicken has gone. But the food was good and service excellent.

Helpful?
Thank ksm3
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

Beware The Buck's Head Inn. The bed I slept in last night was torturous. It's now 6am and I'm leaving as quickly as I can. Sadly, though a hot shower would undoubtedly help my aching back and neck, there is no hot water… was supposed to stay two nights but am cancelling and finding another place to stay and enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank sfearing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

We called here in September for three nights as we come to shrewsbury a lot.We like the inn as it is cosy and is very close to the town with plenty of places to eat and drink.And at the end of the day it's a great little inn to go back to.With friendly staff and locals. Congratulations to Phil Michelle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#7 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#13 of 14 in Shrewsbury
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn

Address: 53 Frankwell, Shrewsbury SY3 8JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bucks Head Hotel Shrewsbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing