We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Foxholes Farm Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Foxholes Farm Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Some reviewers were not so good for this place, but I have to say, they are wrong. Perhaps a bit of kindness would be better in the SMS they send with the instructions about how to get the keys. The trip. As usual, we used google maps to take us avoiding the motorway, so, it took us through the peak... More 

Helpful?
Thank David Felipe A
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

We were guests for a wedding in the accommodation. We arrived and were told more where we could not park rather than where we could. The cottage was OK but not cleaned and lots of cobwebs. The heating was on so turned of the radiator and turned down the thermostat and discussed we had a leak. We told the lady... More 

Helpful?
Thank Astonchap
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review, we are of course very upset to hear how you felt about the weekend, however we should like to provide some contextual facts in relation to your comments. Heating: Immediately upon being advised that there was a leak with a radiator in the lounge area our maintenance attended site and turned off the water... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Just hired cottage 1 and 8 for 2 nights as we were attending a family wedding in Bradfield village hall. (2 adults, 2 OPS, 2 children under 15) This is a charming place, but basic. It was within walking distance (.6 miles) after the event. Glad I packed my flat shoes as the climb up the hill in the dark... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay in our 2- 3 star ETC rated cottages, the facilities provided reflect that rating and this may by way you felt that the cottages were simple, basic and essential. Our hillside location is perfect for the views over the village and peaceful location, but the 10 minute climb is up a... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We hired the 5 cottages and the marquee for our wedding in April 2016. The site has a fantastic view across to High Bradfield,the marquee is very nice and was warm, and the wedding manager on the day was lovely and helpful. However, this venue required a lot of extra (heating, skip hire, fairy lights) expense. It was definitely a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vanessaf0x
Management response:

We welcomed the opportunity to host your wedding here a Foxholes Farm and appreciate your feedback. we do feel it is fair to point out the fact that the brochure and terms and conditions of wedding bookings does clearly point out those items that are included in the wedding hire of the venue, along with a list of extras. The... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

We arrived late on a Friday night after nearly a 5 hour drive, I tried multiple times to call the listed telephone number to let the owner know we'd be a bit later than expected arriving due to the traffic conditions going through Birmingham. None of my calls were answered. We eventually found the property, no signs of life around... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Samanthahoshi
Management response:

Thank you for staying with us, clearly you had made a long journey on a dark winters night up country. Our housekeeper was aware that you were due to arrive late, however this was not a cause for concern as all guests are able to access keys from an on site key safe for their own convenience, and therefore arrival... More 

warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Awful accommodation. Only the location is any good. Decor is shabby and basic and standards of cleanliness are very poor. There is no proper shower either, only an attachment over the bath. Also, WiFi and phone signal are virtually nonexistent, so it is difficult to contact owner re numerous complaints. Their attitude to guests is abysmal to say the least.

Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireCaroline
Management response:

Dear Caroline Thanks you for taking the time to post your experiences on this website. Our self catering cottages are all 2-3 star ETC rated and as such meet the requirement levels for the annual rating visit by an independent inspector. Following your arrival we did receive notification that you required a property with a shower, however having booked following... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Bradfield is a short drive from my boyhood home. In sixty years it has remained relatively unspoilt. The location of the property is on a rise with a beautiful view across the valley to High Bradfield. But the view is not available from the rental properties and even so that is where the best of it ends. The whole process... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank ianbowater
Management response:

Thank you Ian for your wonderful comments regarding our beautiful location accross the valley to High and Low Bradfield. Your comments though that this view is unavailable from the properties are perplexing as clearly our location is what it is and the views our location afford are extensive and far reaching. Foxholes Farm is owned by Mrs Jean and Mr... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The location is nice, but that's all there is to say about the place. We had no hot water for two days. White towels were stained a dirty brown. The drinking water was a muddy orange. There were no coat hangers in the cottage. And no wifi in the house. Tenants in the other cottages also complained about the same... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank petpv
Management response:

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our beautiful location, at the time of your stay there was a problem with Peat run off from the moorland affecting the water supply throughout the village. A member of our management team did speak to you on three occasions regarding the water supply and advised you that water bowser facilities were provided... More 

warwickshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

Second time we have stayed here. Very convenient and close to some nice places to visit and good walking spots. Accommodation is clean and has everything you need. Only thing not provided is bin bags and dish clothes, apart from that it's perfect. Would recommend to all! Thanks

Helpful?
Thank fenners56
Management response:

Thank you for your extremely kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wedding August 2013. Foxholes certainly provided us with a spectacular spot for our wedding but Rachel’s management from start to finish was terrible. As a couple looking for a relaxed wedding we found she was the main cause of our wedding stress. We were sold a wedding which was billed as flexible and relaxed, a wedding tailored to your own... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank LukeChurchill
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
6.0 mi away
Kenwood Hall
Kenwood Hall
#25 of 55 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
4.7 mi away
Garrison Hotel
Garrison Hotel
#23 of 55 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
5.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#10 of 55 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#26 of 55 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
5.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 55 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
7.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on a quiet hillside in the Peak District overlooking Low Bradfield enjoying magnificent views across the Doomsday villages, Foxholes Farm was built in the 19th century and includes a Grade II listed castellated folly. The main courtyard has now been transformed into five peaceful holiday cottages sleeping from 2 to 23 people. We also offer a bespoke wedding venue for 15 very special marriage celebrations each year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Foxholes Farm Cottages

Address: Hoarstones Road | Low Bradfield, Sheffield S6 6HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Foxholes Farm Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Foxholes Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay