We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great Expectations Hotel & Bar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a nice stay whilst visiting Reading for the weekend. Room was clean and comfortable. Friendly and efficient staff. Full English breakfast included in the room price was excellent. Thank you for a lovely stay. (No parking at the hotel but within 5 minutes walk of Queen's Road Carpark.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicsta196
pel74
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok stay Rooms very dated need a re vamp Parking tricky as you are in the centre of town Saving grace was the staff were very friendly and the breakfast included was pretty decent and therefore made the cost decent value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pel74
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst place l have stayed.Bathroom and toilet not cleaned.Toilet not flashing.Blood from insects in sink.Curtains dirty. Room tray and cup dirty and with hair.No heating in my room,freezing. Hoovering not done properly.Terrible place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beautifulplaces24
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you had some problems whilst staying with us.lf we had been made aware of these problems by yourself whilst you were staying with us, we would of course have rectified them.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend and some friends for one night. The pub downstairs was nice. The staff were lovely. The décor in the pub was novel. The hotel upstairs was very plain in comparison. It was clean but a bit outdated/worn. Breakfast was included, my friends liked the full English breakfast however there were no other options for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florence E
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ,we do in fact offer a full range of breakfast options.l do apologise if this was not offered to you. Happy New Year to you.

Reviewed December 29, 2016

Stayed in the Great Expectations hotel over Christmas this year and was very pleasantly surprised. The staff went above and beyond for us. They were super friendly and had a great sense of humour - fantastic bunch. The rooms had everything you might need and the bed in the large suite was unbelievably comfortable. Best night's sleep ever!! The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review ,we hope you chose to stay with us again soon.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016

I stayed at Great Expectations for 3 weeks, and I could have happily stayed another week or so. I can't comment on the price of the rooms as my room was paid for by my work, but my room was a good size with lovely double bed, a nice TV, and a decent shower and bathroom. For breakfast you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackrackhamup
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review.we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.our food is home cooked so l'm pleased you found it the best you 'd had . We look forward to welcoming you back ,hopefully in the near future.

Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2016

This is not the Hilton or indeed the Ritz. Having spent most of my working life travelling or being away from home, the standard business hotel with fine dining and very polite staff after a while loses it charm. I found the hotel by mistake, when looking for a room at short notice. The secret of this hotel is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Intheborders
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.We're so pleased you enjoyed a great steak cooked by our chef Paul and your boiled egg!.we look forward to welcoming you back if you are working back near Reading again .

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2016

A group of us went there for a pre arranged buffet lunch. Dreadful. Some of our party informed me that the food we were eating was all from Iceland. Music was depressing, dark dingy atmosphere, as I stood with my plate in hand saying 'Please Sir, can I have some more' I think the staff realised the music needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janiemac24
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

So sorry you didn't enjoy our Buffett .it was actually all especially prepared for you even to the extent of making our own burger buns for our mini home made burgers and vegetation options as requested .as all the remaining food was taken away in boxes by the rest of your party l presume they enjoyed it more you.our pub...

Dortmund, Germany
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Everything is shabby. My room was small and you don't want to know what the stains are on the dirty carpet. The bathroom was not cleaned in my 3 day stay, the soap not replaced on the third day, the toilet paper not refilled after the first night. Breakfast is in the cold pub bar, smelling of last nights beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Export_Sales_Manager
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Sorry we didn't meet your expectations .we try to deal with customer request for breakfast and where possible we are happy to provide a Bespoke breakfast .rooms are cleaned daily ,we will refresh our staff as to the standard required. Thank you for your comments .

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Suggest premier Inn around the corner only went here as that was booked up. Poor service, staff and dirty run down. Arrived late and it was locked up. Bell didn't work and had to call hotel to let me in wasn't impressed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattdavis3137
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

We do not offer 24hr check-in . I am disappointed we didn't reach the standards you expected .hopefully if you visit again We can do so next time .

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Reading
Quality Hotel Reading
#26 of 32 in Reading
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Great Expectations Hotel & Bar

Address: 33 London Street, Reading RG1 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $61 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Expectations Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Great Expectations Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Expectations Hotel And Bar
Great Expectations Hotel Bar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Great Expectations Hotel & Bar staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Great Expectations Hotel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The room with the four-poster bed is super comfy :)”
 of 5 bubbles bryanc917, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a double room”
 of 5 bubbles Intheborders, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Janiemac24, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel: if you have to the rooms at the front are incredibly loud, overlooking a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles Export_Sales_Manager, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“four poster room is nicest”
 of 5 bubbles 150ewanw, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question