We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Expectations Hotel & Bar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Start your review of Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
 Click to rate
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as was travelling to Cheltenham festival from Reading with friends. Clean room, comfy bed, clean sheets and a fantastic shower!! Also a very good choice of breakfast included in the price. Thanks and well done!! Will definitely use again...👍👍👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davecarroll69
33londondst, General Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank so much for your great review .we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went in and asked if the football could be put on, was promised it would be which they did. We ordered drinks and food and only AFTER we payed and was given food did they then turn it off for rugby ( they had more people ask for it) when we then looked around NOBODY was watching it apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizx859
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews of Great Expectations, but I can only say it was really very good all round. Reception staff a bit inattentive when I checked in and there are a lot of stairs to climb to get to the rooms (not much fun with a heavy suitcase), but those were really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtenay R
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review . I'm so sorry we didn't notice you had a heavy case ,we would have taken it to your room for you. We hope to see you again

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

Had a nice stay whilst visiting Reading for the weekend. Room was clean and comfortable. Friendly and efficient staff. Full English breakfast included in the room price was excellent. Thank you for a lovely stay. (No parking at the hotel but within 5 minutes walk of Queen's Road Carpark.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicsta196
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

We're so pleased you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Thank you for your review . I hope you chose to stay with us again when you're next in Reading .

pel74
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Ok stay Rooms very dated need a re vamp Parking tricky as you are in the centre of town Saving grace was the staff were very friendly and the breakfast included was pretty decent and therefore made the cost decent value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pel74
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ,we pride ourselves on our friendly staff,so glad you found this the case.

Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

This is the worst place l have stayed.Bathroom and toilet not cleaned.Toilet not flashing.Blood from insects in sink.Curtains dirty. Room tray and cup dirty and with hair.No heating in my room,freezing. Hoovering not done properly.Terrible place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beautifulplaces24
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you had some problems whilst staying with us.lf we had been made aware of these problems by yourself whilst you were staying with us, we would of course have rectified them.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend and some friends for one night. The pub downstairs was nice. The staff were lovely. The décor in the pub was novel. The hotel upstairs was very plain in comparison. It was clean but a bit outdated/worn. Breakfast was included, my friends liked the full English breakfast however there were no other options for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florence E
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ,we do in fact offer a full range of breakfast options.l do apologise if this was not offered to you. Happy New Year to you.

Reviewed December 29, 2016

Stayed in the Great Expectations hotel over Christmas this year and was very pleasantly surprised. The staff went above and beyond for us. They were super friendly and had a great sense of humour - fantastic bunch. The rooms had everything you might need and the bed in the large suite was unbelievably comfortable. Best night's sleep ever!! The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review ,we hope you chose to stay with us again soon.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016

I stayed at Great Expectations for 3 weeks, and I could have happily stayed another week or so. I can't comment on the price of the rooms as my room was paid for by my work, but my room was a good size with lovely double bed, a nice TV, and a decent shower and bathroom. For breakfast you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackrackhamup
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review.we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.our food is home cooked so l'm pleased you found it the best you 'd had . We look forward to welcoming you back ,hopefully in the near future.

Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2016

This is not the Hilton or indeed the Ritz. Having spent most of my working life travelling or being away from home, the standard business hotel with fine dining and very polite staff after a while loses it charm. I found the hotel by mistake, when looking for a room at short notice. The secret of this hotel is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Intheborders
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.We're so pleased you enjoyed a great steak cooked by our chef Paul and your boiled egg!.we look forward to welcoming you back if you are working back near Reading again .

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Reading
Quality Hotel Reading
#25 of 32 in Reading
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Great Expectations Hotel & Bar

Address: 33 London Street, Reading RG1 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $60 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Expectations Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Great Expectations Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Expectations Hotel And Bar
Great Expectations Hotel Bar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Great Expectations Hotel & Bar staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Great Expectations Hotel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The room with the four-poster bed is super comfy :)”
 of 5 bubbles bryanc917, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a double room”
 of 5 bubbles Intheborders, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Janiemac24, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel: if you have to the rooms at the front are incredibly loud, overlooking a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles Export_Sales_Manager, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“four poster room is nicest”
 of 5 bubbles 150ewanw, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question