We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

pentahotel Reading

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
pentahotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,748 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,688: English reviews
Reading
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel and room are good, however my room was at fromt and I was disturbed by noisy drunks in high street until 1am. Also, the WiFi did not work due to local fibre problems. Breakfast was good, however not replenished quickly enough e.g. no fried eggs available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarkT2907
.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came just for 1 night and found the Penta Hotel very easy, in the middle of the city. The room was clean and very comfortable especially the bed. The staff were professional, helpful and very friendly. We'll definitely use this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peeterss2016
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Penta for business on a Sunday night. It is a great hotel with lovely staff, spacious room, awesome breakfast and a good, fun vibe on arrival. Added bonus: the bar is open all night, and hot food is available all hours.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katw259
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a short 2 night break. The location is excellent for the city centre without being right in the hustle and bustle of Reading. Friendly staff, there if you need them whilst leaving you to yourselves. A pleasant overall stay and the smoking room was a very welcome option to save those trips in and the building! Would be... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HSignum1
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am really pleased to read that you had a brilliant stay with us and were taken good care of by the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another stay. Best wishes Steve Thorne-Farrar Operations Manager More 

Slough
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Black out curtains in room 607 were broken. Let the light in as unable to close fully. Ideally would like onsite parking. Nice to have a complimentary late checkout on Sunday's. Snack vending machine is very overpriced! Hairdryer was very low power.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sabrinasJ1950BV
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that you found the blackout blinds were not working correctly. I will have the team check this out immediately, but please accept my apologise for this. Should you require a higher power hairdryer on your next stay, please just see the team who will be... More 

hull
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked a trip to reading 2 weeks before we were due to go. This hotel cost £148 for two nights, no breakfast. Which at last minute is a good deal, however we got put in a room that was next to the motorway. The room was that hot you needed the window open to sleep... But the noise made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Demi-leigh A
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I m sorry to read that you did not enjoy the room location on this occasion, but please do see the team should you return who will do their best to allocate you in a location that you feel is better for your needs. Our bar is very competitively priced... More 

Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall, the hotel has a great vibe--nice decor, cool music and lighting in the lounge/bar/reception area, nice modern appointments in the rooms, nice breakfast offerings--but there are few details that made my stay unnecessarily unpleasant: 1. Wifi - The free wifi is TERRIBLE - only 0.2 MBPS--a throwback to the days of dial-up. Having to pay extra for reasonable speeds... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank drew589
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologise for the issues you encountered with our wifi. This is something that our team is looking into as I type. I am sorry you found the room too warm, but do hope the team put some additional fans into your room to keep you comfortable. We are currently... More 

Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Only negatives are that the WiFi is very slow (they don't even seem to have a paid faster option...?) and it is also very dark in the lobby and restaurant - that might not be a problem for some people though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank B8244QPjamesb
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologise for the issues you encountered with our wifi, this is currently been looked into and am sure on your next stay will be something of the past. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon. Best... More 

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
248 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Perfectly acceptable at the price , all the stuff you would expect , food is ok and breakfast is good and the hotel is central for most places . On the down side it is all a little bit tired and the staff , who are supposedly bilingual , need to get English as a second language !

Helpful?
Thank sirpike
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry if you feel their was a language barrier with the some of the team, please be assured I will look into this matter. I am pleased to read that overall you had a lovely stay with us. Best wishes Steve Thorne-Farrar Operations Manager More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel. Nice rooms. Some of the staff on certain days\shifts only attend to you after they have finished their conversation amongst themselves ( in their own language, not being racist by the way. I'm ethnic minority too) This really doesn't work for me. Its good to have fun at work but serve your customer first. Hence the two stars.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mal M
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am naturally very disappointed to read you feedback on the level of service you have received from the team. As you will see from the other review, our teams service is very highly praised so am disappointed to read that this has not come across during your visit. Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (145)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Hotel
The Forbury Hotel
#1 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#8 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $77 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay