We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

912 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 903: English reviews
Sint-Amands, Belgium
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The position of the hotel on the Thames is superb and the rooms are large and very comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel, which was very good, unfortunately had to wait a long time to be served. Breakfast was excellent and service throughout our stay was very good. We will stay here again even though it is 15 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo V
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 07/01/2017. When we arrived a wedding party were stood in reception, leaving hardly any space for us to get to the reception desk (still confused as to why they weren't told to wait in the large dining space located behind them). When getting to the reception desk at 2.25pm, we were told that we were too early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlie B
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Carlie, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and I sincerely apologize for this. Indeed large events always represent a slight challenge but I agree that no Guest should be receiving any lower standards of service because of this....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night, meeting up with our granddaughter who also stayed over. The position of the hotel on the Thames is superb and the rooms are large and very comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel, which was very good, unfortunately spoilt by a large and very noisy wedding party who traipsed through the restaurant en masse to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingy53
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Kingy, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that your experience was affected by some issues. We will surely work towards addressing the highlighted shortcomings but we wish you will trust us again in the future. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience experienced. Best Regards, Marco Sani

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2nights Christmas & Boxing .Ideal position,riverside views and walks. Cross the bridge to Caversham a village like atmosphere or walk into Reading Shopping Mall with a Canal through the centre also other points of interest nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANTHONY G
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that your experience was of the expected standards and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Marco Sani

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was perfect room, location, service quality. Even when they missed it, they were very generous to accept it and even offer free services for their missed services. The best part of the trip, it had a wonderful view from room and hotel, besides the river

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohan K
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Rohan, thank you very much for your kind feedback. We always strive to deliver the highest possible standards of service and product and we are very happy to know that on this occasion we have met your expectations. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was a part of a massive business group having a meal at Crowne Plaza Reading. Good parking provision. Meal was OK not wow. I felt drinks at the bar were pricey. The dessert chocolate salted tart was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TR R
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear TR, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We always strive to achieve the best standards in service and products and we are sorry to hear that your experience was not completely satisfactory. We will take your comments into account and initiate the appropriate actions. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience experienced. Best Regards,

Reading. United Kingdon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was amazing attended a Christmas function in The Riversuit. The room was done up like a winter wonderland which was fabulous, the polar bear and santa sheigh was amazing. The food was ace and we could not fault any of the courses. The hotel was extremely clean including the bedroom which over looked The River Thames. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Celestinz
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Celestinz, thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback. We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and memorable. Your comments will be passed to the relative team mebers that will be surely happy to know that they have made your stay special. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Marco...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

- long looong waiting times at the bar and restaurant, mixed up orders and bills (2 weeks after my stay, I still receive invoices for dinners) The staff seemed either to ignore us (the bar lady just served everybody coming before and after us), or totally unexperienced (I arrived at dinner saying that I AM VERY VERY THIRSTY, PLEASE BRING...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 618DianaD
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Diana, Thanks for providing us with your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on your last visit and I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvinience you have experienced. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss these issues further. Best Regards, Marco Sani

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza reading for one week for business. The hotel is quiet and located right above to the themes river. The hotel has good wifi therefore it's very good for business. IHG members can access the lounge which make everything very convenient. The lounge however will not replace a good dinner since the food that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank May G
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear May, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy to know that your experience was overall satisfactory and we apologize for the poor check - in experience. Your comments will be passed to the relative departments and used to improve our standards. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Marco Sani

Hertfordshire
Reviewed December 11, 2016

A family gathering was arranged for family from around the country, there were approx 20 of us. My husband and I had booked an executive suite. Upon arrival we were advised our room was not ready but it would be ready by 3pm and we were given the lounge access pass key. We were also told that we would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whereissummer
Operations C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Whereissummer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay has not been of the expected standards and I wish to pass you my most sincere apologies. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss these issues further. Best Regards, Marco Sani

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

230 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,627 reviews
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Hotel
The Forbury Hotel
#3 of 32 in Reading
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $86 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Leicester, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Bridgend, United Kingdom
3 months ago
High Wycombe, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Request riverside view”
 of 5 bubbles ANTHONYG788, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 212 Great View Balcony so maybe not great for children.”
 of 5 bubbles Celestinz, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“In the morning the geese can wake you up so make sure to close the window before going to sleep!”
  • Great idea!!!
  • Upgraded room from my PREVIOUS visit. Not a standard room i got in October.
 of 5 bubbles Miss_MayG, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“If here on business you can walk to Thames Valley Park if it is not raining...”
 of 5 bubbles ericdumont, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the river are the quieter rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnChris, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay