We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Oxford

2.5 miles from Oxford center
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 686: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Oxford
 Click to rate
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked for a 2 night stay but was bitterly disappointed on arrival. The rooms are dated, tired and dirty (carpet stains beyond acceptable). Ended up canceling my 2nd night and booking the Hampton by Hilton just round the corner. 10x better and ironically was £2 cheaper! Go there! I do want to shout out about the staff however. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl U
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the condition of the hotel. I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the staff. The hotel is due to start a refurbishment this year. Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room and staff good breakfast very very basic went down at 7.45 said there was bacon and sausage no bacon and the scramled egg looked luke somthing from a kids colouring book we still here for another night will not be staying here again would advise anyone look around before you book ibis is far better indeed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karon R
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We offer a continental breakfast with 3 hot items which is included in the room rate. The cooked items are scrambed egg, sausage & beans. Many other hotels charge extra for breakfast. The feedback that we receive from the vast majority of...

Skegness
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was fast asleep and the receptionist rang my room initially, which woke me up but missed the call so I went back to sleep to be woken by a bang at the door. Th receptionist kept saying that someone with a similar name (it sounded nothing like mine) was checking in and their had been a mix up with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lex162
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were disturbed by our staff. this was an unnecessary mistake on our part Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I booked double room for 1 night . When we arrived the receptionist asked me three times if I was sure I wanted a double room as it had a double bed in it ? I guess as we are a same sex couple the receptionist was not happy !!! I told him three times yes ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the way you were spoken to at the check in. We try to avoid any unintended embarrassment to same gender couples by just confirming the room type once. We also wish to avoid offering rooms with one bed to people who do not wish...

South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They room was clean but a little cold; electric heating which took time to heat up. The internet was good. If you require an evening meal you have a 10 minute walking along the side of a main road; would not recommend for a single lady because of the walk. Breakfast was a little poor compared to other HIE, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that despite some concerns you would stay here again. We have, in addition to the three restaurants inside the Vue Cinema, a freephone in the reception area connected to three different restaurants that deliver take aways to the hotel. We encourage guests to eat their pizza, curry or Chinese...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights for the FA cup fifth round and had an excellent weekend. We were made very welcome by all staff and they even put the football on in the bar area so that we could watch the Leicester Derby game whilst eating a takeaway (they allow you to eat takeaways and provide crockery and cutlery) making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FF1186338
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for kind comments Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hi Express is a chain we use quite a bit on business and this one is convenient for us. However, it is in need of a refresh which many of the others have or are undergoing although I will say the hotel itself is clean, the bedrooms are comfortable and the position is handy. There are a couple of restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magnahasty
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that the hotel was convenient for your business. We are planning to start a refurbishment later on this year Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely hotel, perfect location for the Kassam Stadium. Very clean hotel. Only criticism would be the walls/doors are perhaps not sound proofed enough. Breakfast needs a little attention. The cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and croissants you can't go wrong with, however, the cooked breakfast is truly awful. Scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans pre cooked and left under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandybusby30
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that the hotel suited your needs. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. IHG, our parent company, are trialing improvements to the breakfast in the UK Express hotels. Kind regards Chris Mason General Manager

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first stay at this hotel. Very good location for the football but a bit far out of Oxford city centre. Rooms were very good. Service by the staff was excellent. Breakfast was ok. Although finishing at 10.30 was a bit early for a Sunday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan c
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that the hotel suited your needs. There are a number of ways to get to the City Centre: • Taxi fixed price £12 can be ordered by hotel • Park & Ride Redbridge, OX1 4XG • Buses take either 1 or 5 from Knights Rd, buses run every 6...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room clean, cheap and cheerful. Hot breakfast is very basic. Sausage, beans and scrambled egg same both days. Need to mix it up a bit. Bacon, tomato and different eggs alternative days maybe?? Staff professional and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenzy1971
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that the hotel suited you. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast choice. We offer a continental breakfast with 3 hot items. Unlike many other hotels we do not charge extra for breakfast. The feedback that we receive from the vast majority of our guests when...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

279 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (13)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Accessible Room (41)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Twin Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
579 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $78 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Oxford staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Oxford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a from away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Y3693ZFchriss, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Always try to get a room at the end of a corridor”
 of 5 bubbles Pezzaruss, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“avoid disabled room”
 of 5 bubbles magix666, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“not sure we were on ground floor and was ok”
 of 5 bubbles Q8849VIjanes, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
“The area is quiet, so any room is good for a quiet night.”
 of 5 bubbles Phil_in_the_city, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question