We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

St Hugh's College

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
St Hugh\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great x2 days stay. We were upgraded to Dickson Poon build due to some renovations going on at St Hugh's. We are x2 couples visiting. One double bedroom turned out to be fitted with disabled facilities, microwave, cooktop, fridge, etc. very new & modern. My husband & I were given x2 single ensuite rooms on different buildings. Very clean &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms in the Dickson Poon Building to your liking. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

This is old school Oxford. Where the porter would rather you weren't staying and is rude to your face. I studied at Oxford for undergraduate and then MBA and am noting that only to say how much the non-welcome at St Hughs disgusts me - don't stay here until they change their night porter staff as they are rude and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ted E
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. We will be investing in further customer service and wider training programmes for our staff. If you were able to provide further details to help us address the issues you encountered by emailing accommodation.manager@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk we would be very grateful.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are old and poorly maintained. Bathrooms are shared. On top of that, the place is really loud and the sound of old wooden doors banging wont let you rest. No one show you to your room, they just give you a map and up you go. I would never visit again for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Phil_Kimby
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. We are in the process of instigating an extensive refurbishment programme of our accommodation. Our website does state that: “These have shared bathroom facilities” and that “Our rooms are basic”. When staying with us during term time, regrettably there... More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

After having used St Hughs for a rugby World Cup volunteers dinner, our Oxford Refs. society decided to hold our end of season dinner here. We were not disappointed. Met by attentive staff, with Champagne in the garden, it proved to be a chilly evening. They moved us inside with no problem. We then proceeded to dine. A tasty three... More 

Helpful?
Thank cynthiarob
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

We booked rooms at St Hugh's so we could attend a conference on the site the following day. The rooms were charged at £100 per night so we were expecting something more than we received.. The rooms were tiny with only the absolute basics (bed, wardrobe, kettle, desk, light and bathroom), essentially a bedsit. The parking was also pretty bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy F
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. The rooms provided for your visit are charged at £75 to include basic student accommodation in an Oxford College. Our website does state that: “Our rooms are basic, comfortable and represent good value for money. All rooms are provided... More 

Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Paid £70 for bed and breakfast. No prior information was given about the location of the porter's lodge and where to park, so I had to wander around the outside of the college, which occupies quite a few acres. On arrival, the porter's manner was surly, off-hand and even hostile, which was quite off-putting. In addition, on the map he... More 

Helpful?
Thank trallever
AccomManager, General Manager at St Hugh's College, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay. We have noted your comments about providing information of the location of the Porter’s Lodge and whilst the website does ask guests checking in to “Please arrive at the College Lodge on St Margaret’s Road”, will look to address... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

I went to Oxford because my son had interviews. At first I didn't have a clue where to stay and the hotels local to the college were very expensive. Three nights B and B at the college was £150, the same stay in a local hotel was £400. The room I had was a basic student room. The showers were... More 

Helpful?
Thank suebabe19
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

7 of us stayed here for one night . The rooms are basic but warm and comfortable. Please remember these are student rooms so no frills. The staff at the Porters Lodge were friendly and helpful.Very good full English breakfast . At £50 for a single room this was good value. The college is on a good bus route from... More 

Helpful?
Thank 15travels15
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Stayed here Aug 2015 for about a week. Understood that the room is a student's dorm room. Stayed at Maplethorpe Building which was built fairly recently. Modern with lift facilities. Paid for room with ensuite. Beautiful garden for scenery. Convenient for conference as it was in the same building. They couldn't find my reservation even though my reservation was made... More 

Helpful?
Thank SingaporeSQTraveller
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

I had a nice stay at St Hugh's. I stayed for just two nights in the summer. The location of the college is convenient as it is a short walk to the shops in North Parade. The room was basic, but clean. There were many bathrooms in the hallways and while these were okay, they were pretty old-fashioned and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank marchofdimes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#19 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#35 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#31 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Margarets Hotel
St Margarets Hotel
#36 of 85 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#12 of 85 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whilst not one of the old colleges, St Hugh’s can offer accommodation set within fourteen acres of quiet, leafy North Oxford. Located just outside of the city centre, we are only a 15 minute walk from the main attractions of Oxford.We can offer ensuite bedrooms within the relatively modern Maplethorpe and Rachel Trickett buildings. We can also offer rooms with shared bathroom facilities within our more traditional Main Building. All rooms are provided with bed linen, towels and toiletries, and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Hugh's College

Address: St. Margarets Road, Oxford OX2 6LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $65 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your St Hugh's College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay