We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Traveler (306)
Room & Suite (131)
Dining (22)

About

#20 of 43 hotels in Oxford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the heart of the historic university city of Oxford, this beautiful 17th-century coaching-inn looks over the Examination Halls and Magdalen Tower. The convenient central location allows guests to easily discover Oxford's most iconic landmarks. City sightseeing tours are available in the area, making this a great base for guests who want to explore. The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms which are perfectly equipped to accommodate individuals, couples and families.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Classic
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
91Great for walkers
Grade: 91 out of 100
30Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
39Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,264Reviews
12Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 305
  • 505
  • 305
  • 97
  • 52
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
this hotel is a good choice and basis for a 24hrs stay in Oxford; good advice for visiting high-lights; helpfull and friendly personel in reception and bar; room and bathroom how they had to be in a hotel in this sector
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Response from ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Alma S, Many thanks for your review following your stay with us at the Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be passing your comments on to my team. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Malcolm Hood, Rooms Division Manager
Read more
We recently stayed at the hotel for a much needed long weekend. Having read previous reviews about the hotel we were confident that we had chosen a nice hotel for our visit to Oxford. However we were left very disappointed. We have stayed in many hotels before but our room that
Read more
Response from PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir Thank you for your recent review, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The hotel is located in the historic centre of Oxford, and was originally 4 townhouses and is over 100 years old and listed. I am afraid that due to the age and structure of the building we are restricted in the size of a few of the bedrooms, and during the refurbishment in 2015 we reduced the amount of furnishing to enhance the space available in the bedrooms. We have recently appointed a new Maintenance Manager who over the first few weeks in the hotel, has started a total survey and audit of the hotel bedrooms, and we will have a plan in place by June, prioritising all areas and rooms, in order of what needs updating or repaired. With reference to the missing bag, I am very sorry and extremely embarrassed, I have asked for a fully report from the area manager for the housekeeping department as to what happened. My deputy was on duty and he had not been made aware of your concerns, and would have dealt with your experience at the time. I am concerned at your disappointment and would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel. In the meantime, should you wish to come back and visit Oxford please do contact me, so I may assist in rectifying the disappointment you experienced on your first stay. Yours sincerely Peter Watt General Manager
Read more
Hotel location- excellent Hotel staff- generally very good, Nelly in the evening in Keepers was brilliant and should get a raise. Like most Mercures this one is a little tired and needs some TLC. The drains outside the hotel on the corner of Merton street and the high street had
Read more
Response from PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear RSCort Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased that the team had looked after you, in particular, Nella the restaurant manager. The hotel was renovated in 2015, and we have recently employed a new maintenance manager who doing a full audit of all bedrooms, bathrooms and corridors prioritising what is needed and allocating his team a new target every day. At the same time he is also checking the bedrooms at the end of the corridors as to what may have caused the strong smell that you encountered, we have asked for our air conditioning system to audited prior to the start of summer, as a precaution. We are in the ideal position of the city centre and surrounded by history and the various colleges of Oxford university and directly opposite the main examination hall. I thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager
Read more
Centrally located for all the major sights, with Magdalen College (our favourite) a short walk away. The reception team were really helpful in pointing us in the right direction for all the main attractions and in holding our luggage as we arrived before check-in and left after
Read more
Response from ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear EddySch, Many thanks for your review following your stay with us at the Eastgate Hotel. It is wonderful to receive such great feedback from our guests and am very glad that you enjoyed your time with us at the Eastgate Hotel. Oxford is such a beautiful city and am glad that my Reception team were able to enhance your experience. It is wonderful to receive such great feedback from our Keepers Kitchen & Bar. We only opened at the end of February and feedback like yours is great encouragement to the team. We do hope to welcome you back to the Eastgate Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Malcolm Hood Rooms Division Manager
Read more
We stayed as couple for a midweek break in Oxford. As the name implies this is at the east end of the city lying on the High St. We had a room in the annex to the back of the hotel which meant no lift but this was a not a problem. The room overlooked the car park and beyond to
Read more
Response from PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded Apr 19, 2019
Dear Thrombeldinbar, Thank you for your kind review, greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost to the team. Oxford is a beautiful and historic city and we are ideally located in the centre surrounded by the various colleges of Oxford University and directly opposite the main examination hall. We trust you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. With kind regards Peter Watt General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure eastgate oxford hotel oxfordaccor eastgate oxfordmercure oxford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandOxford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing