We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,024 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 937: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Eastgate Oxford
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location, lovely room; just missed out on some details, the 'privalidge' room was booked for 2 but only set up for 1. On way out for dinner we mentioned a few details needed attending to, when we returned 2 hours later nothing had changed. Wires hanging out of towel rail and radiator still cold (full of air) Having been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pappa2906
Kent
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable hotel and a stone's throw from the High Street with an array of shops, restaurants and cafes.Clean rooms and very comfortable bed. A slight musty smell in our room but after a spray of perfume, didn't notice it . Only had one spare pillow and empty box of tissues but a call to reception and a very quick visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonicsfitnesscentre
About Hotel's Favorite Review
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Tonicsfitnesscentre Thank you very much for your kind review, it is a great morale boost to the team and really appreciated. The hotel is very centrally located, ideally for the main shops and all historic universities in Oxford - all within walking distance. The hotel is over 100 years old and was originally 4 townhouses, which due to the...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice hotel centrally located, just off Oxford High Street. So all major sights are in walking distance. Rooms are of a good standard and have been renovated quite recently. Service is professional and friendly. Nice bar and restaurant (Marco's Italian) serving good Italian fare.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joachim K
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas for 2 nights. Very good location, close to the station, near the main road but still very quite. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable, professional and friendly staff and we had all our privacy. The only minus is there is no a free parking while you stay in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Véro N
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I love the hotel bar and got married at this hotel 23 years ago. However, if you want to eat here, then expect mediocre food, with poor service from the bar and staff. The staff are unfocused (saw this another review) and seem to lack any idea that they are there to serve drinks. The food we ate in November...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 746louise
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. I am happy with their service and quality of hotel. Location of this hotel is in central area. Walking distance to all attractions and places to eat out. Only couple things that I cannot give good review are following - 1. Very slow wifi connection - as I was staying there for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kouster
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Kouster Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel. The hotel is over 100 years old and was originally 4 townhouses, now 1 hotel, however due to the age and structure of the building I am afraid a couple of the bedrooms are restricted in the size and although...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgekV3033WT
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is a historic building, has a great location, close to Bodleian Library. The reception very kind, a Portuguese answered us, the room is comfortable, quiet, great shower. Breakfast is served in the restaurant which is connected to the Hotel, it is excellent! We met Oxford on foot, walking on every street of this special town, we want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gimlima
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location you can walk to all the main attractions from here easily, taxi costs about £6 from the train station. Breakfast is good as well. The room is a bit small but you're paying more for the location! Also wasnt to extacting with the transparent windows in the bathroom overlooking other rooms etc but there was a blind you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haha6754
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Haha 6754 Thank you for your kind review, greatly appreciate and a huge morale boost to the team. Oxford is a vibrant and historic city, full of places to visit and see, we are very lucky to be located in the centre of it all. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel overnight 8th February 2017. The location of the hotel is excellent - right on the high street in the centre of Oxford. Plenty of parking but at an additional £20 charge which wasn't mentioned when we booked the hotel! On a positive note the hotel staff allowed us to use the car park before booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Paul G. Thank you so much for kind review, greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost to the team. I was pleased to note that you had enjoyed Oxford, the hotel and Marco's; we are ideally located in the city centre and surrounded by history. Oxford is a university city, although the shopping area has all the main departmental...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

265 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (223)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $152 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Eastgate Oxford staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Eastgate Oxford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed on the second floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Gimlima, 1 week ago | Read review
“Dont forget the car parking cost in your cost calculations”
 of 5 bubbles 194grahaml, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms overlooking Merton Street or High Street have much better views. Deluxe rooms have more space.”
 of 5 bubbles G4774REmichelleb, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
“The Suite at the front of the hotel was very spacious and well presented.”
 of 5 bubbles Millie4006, Dec 26, 2016 | Read review
“Privilege room”
 of 5 bubbles EiaquLatzio, Dec 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question