We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Oxford Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Oxford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Oxford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 581: English reviews
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very nice little hotel. Clean and tidy very pleasant and helpful staff. Easy walking distance to the town centre. Very comfortable beds. Water provided in the room free of charge! there are lots of good hotels that don't provide drinking water, so top marks for that. Complimentary fruit too. Excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolStanton
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 28, 2014

First off I should clarify, lovely hotel, immaculate room (107 has the most wonderful windows over the crossroads - although try to remember that there are no nets on the bathroom window. I stood there brushing my teeth for a couple of minutes before realising that anyone looking over from the building opposite would have had the terrifying view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A lovely hotel...friendly staff, the room was well appointed and comfortable, huge bathroom. There were some lovely little touches such as free fruit and newspapers, and the breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. The staff were really courteous and helpful. The only slight downside was noise from the street overnight, but this is to be expected from such a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally H
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Being centrally located has its pros and cons and having double glazing in all of the hotel bedrooms helps to reduce the outside noise. Heavy blackout curtains were also installed to help with the noise reduction and I think...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hotel is ideally placed: near the station, and an easy walk to anywhere in Oxford one's likely to want to see. I have stayed here many times, and all the rooms are large and comfortable, with lots of fruit and (too many!) biscuits provided. Bathrooms are generally large too, and have baths.with showers that are easy for technomorons to work!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stonebob
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you very much for your review and it is our pleasure having you at our hotel! Looking forward to be of service to you in the very near future. Yours faithfully Marzena James

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Staff are excellent and very accommodating. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station, so travelling to the office is easy from here. Being dropped off and picked up by transportation to and from the airport can be a bit sketchy due to the high traffic. A fridge in the room would be a very nice additional amenity, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anita B
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you very much for finding the time to write the review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately at the moment there are no plans of adding fridges to the bedrooms, however we do offer 24h Room Service, you can ask for as much ice as you require and we have...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good central location, friendly & efficient staff. excellent breakfast Car parking is awkward - as pensioners we did not pay for buses to the park & ride but it would otherwise add to costs A good choice for anyone using public transport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John O
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Just to clarify the cost of Park and Ride buses, a return ticket to the Sea Court Park and Ride on Botley Road is £2.70 and parking for 24 hours there costs £2.00 only. We also co-operate with a...

Lund, Sweden
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Room and reception were clean. The bed was comfortable. Friendly, service minded and competent staff. Some noise from street, but it is a central location. If you are not into the full English breakfast the selection is limited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJL001
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to be of service to you in the near future. Yours faithfully Marzena James GM

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel, the reception staff very pleasant, location near rail station and close to centre, car parking close by. The room was comfortable and well decorated, very clean (except the dirty toilet brush, which I am sure housekeeping have now rectified). Complimentary bottled water and fruit, it is on a busy road but they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynMichael
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apology for the unacceptable 'toilet brush' occurrence which was immediately brought to the Housekeeping department attention and rectified. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Yours faithfully Marzena James GM

London
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Booked the family room as there were 3 of us travelling, comfortable, spacious room, huge bathroom, fruit, biscuits,bottled water all complimentary. Beds really comfy, staff lovely. Breakfast a bit pricey, but plenty of nearby option. Would not hesitate to sty there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda T
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you very much for finding the time to write the review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to be of service to you in the near future. Yours faithfully Marzena James

New York City, New York
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just a few steps from the station, makes it easy to time your dash to the London train, but you are not in the prettiest part of old Oxford, and it's a little walk to the colleges, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Set on a busy intersection, so light sleepers might get woken by traffic from 7AM. Complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanZimSa
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your positive feedback which we greatly appreciate. Next time you come to stay with us, please ask to speak to the Front of House Manager or myself as we would like you to try our very tasty Breakfast options and we will be happy to offer one complementary breakfast. We hope to be of service...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

273 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Double Room (Twin Aspect) (34)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)
Viewed
Twin Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $123 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Oxford Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
18 days ago
Glossop, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Oxford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room on a higher floor.”
378altheaa, 1 week ago | Read review
“Try to get a view of the plaza to the front of the hotel - great for people watching”
964jakew, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be a very good standard.”
lucianos227, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“Room at the back 101 was quiet although the hotel is on a busy roundabout.”
314rosg, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“No elevator”
nandn34, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question