We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hawkwell House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hawkwell House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

839 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 799: English reviews
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Have just spent four nights at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and keen to make sure our stay was good. The disabled bathroom was excellent , where other hotels fail to appreciate the needs of people like me. Location was key to my choice and being only two miles from the centre of Oxford was ideal. Staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bribie1946
South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Harkwell House Hotel looks great on its website but the reality is very different. I was a single woman on a stopover and stayed for one night. There was no offer of help with my bags at reception and I was placed in Elm House, about 200 yards up a hill and my room was up two lots of stairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tutira
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked in for one night, on checking the hotel on the website it looked very nice. I had booked the room at least 6 weeks ago and when we arrived we were very disappointed to be in the annex, an area I was not aware of or told we would be in. We had booked a superior double so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gilly909
HHH1865, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. I would love to hear from your personally to discuss these comments if you could email via gm@hawkwellhouse.co.uk, kind regards, Nick More 

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked a two night B@B break to enable us to visit Oxford. The Hotel is situated close to the City in Iffley,a small village to the south. You can walk from the hotel along the riverside straight into the heart of the City.It takes about 45 minutes of steady walking though you need to remember that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David A
HHH1865, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay here with us, I think that we can learn from a few things here, if you are looking to stay again in the future please book directly with myself via gm@hawkwellhouse.co.uk, kind regards, Nick More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a standard family room. Everything seemed fine upon check in (although we were surprised to see that we would receive one physical key on a keychain, rather than a key card). it was only on check in that we were informed that we had been placed in a room in the separate annex building (a former business centre)... More 

Helpful?
Thank beautifuljulie
HHH1865, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here with us, it does appear that we can improve in a couple of areas here, I would be interested in discussing these with you in person if you could contact via email, gm@hawkwellhouse.co.uk, kind regards, Nick More 

australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No way is this hotel "boutique". Arrived when an extremely noisy wedding party was in full swing, guests smoking right outside the front door,no parking,impossible to hear receptionist at check in desk. These things may have been out of their control to a certain degree,however, what stuck us was their complete lack of interest! No body told us where to... More 

Helpful?
Thank yveAustralia
HHH1865, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I am sorry to hear that you encountered some issues during your recent stay here with us - I would be interested in discussing these personally with you if you could email me at gm@hawkwellhouse.co.uk, kind regards, Nick More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Partner and I decided to stay at Hawkell House to celebrate our anniversary back in June as we were able to retain a very good rate via Secret Escapes and we wanted to explore the Oxford area. The hotel was pleasant however we did not get that "Luxury Boutique" feel it claims on its website as we just found... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Countrysidebliss
HHH1865, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, many thanks for your taking the time to post your feedback and in general I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. There are some valid points (honey) that we will certainly put into place and should be on the buffet, I am glad that you enjoyed your evening meal. If you are looking to return please contact... More 

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights in a standard double room, which was similar in layout to Premiere Inn, but with the addition of Skye TV, a radio and complementary toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and airy. There was the usual tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits and the bottles of still water were very welcome. Information about the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
HHH1865, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very kind comments, especially regarding the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, kind regards, Nick. More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for a wedding, having been told that we would get a discount, but when we rang to book we were told that we couldn't have the discount as it was only for a limited time; this had never been mentioned before. We booked a rather expensive room, and were disappointed to discover that it wasn't even a double.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kirsty p
HHH1865, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and firstly, I am sorry that you didn't get a good night's sleep after the wedding you attended out of the hotel. The discounted rate that was offered to the bride & groom (who were getting married elsewhere) had to be booked at least 4 weeks prior to the date, unfortunately you did call up... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have just spent 2 nights at hawkwell house hotel and throughly enjoyed our stay, admittedly we did stay in the honeymoon suite as we were celebrating our anniversary and if we wanted to knit-pick we could like 1 lightbulb didn't work in the room and because of the lovely hot weather the room was quite warm but why should you... More 

Helpful?
Thank karl h
HHH1865, General Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments posted during your recent stay here with us, I do look forward to welcoming you back in the future, kind regards, nick More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

482 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (173)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Room with Outdoor Access (28)
Viewed
Superior Black and Gold Accents Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Green Accents Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.0 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oxford Thames Four Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars
#1 of 1 in Sandford-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
2.2 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $112 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay