We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Buttery Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Buttery Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 302: English reviews
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this little 16 room hotel located on High Street across from Trinity College. It is in the heart of Old Oxford, just minutes from the Bodlian Library, Radcliffe Camera, Queens College, All Souls and pretty much everything. Coming from the US, we wanted a more traditional place to stay and this was it--the building is quite old, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheriedoc
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very excited to book the buttery after I read many reviews on trip advisor, and elsewhere. I have stayed in many hotels in my life, and avoid staying in soulless chain hotels, that feel like you could be anywhere in the world, and do not reflect the local culture. The buttery looked just right for me, however the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
oxcampus, Owner at The Buttery Hotel, responded to this review

Oh dear I'm sorry you were not happy with your stay I am talking to all reception staff as all guests should be offered help with their luggage. There is an intercom at the door if you have heavy bags. I hope that once you tried our breakfast you actually found more than cereal and enjoyed the variety. We do... More 

Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a nice (but short) stay here. The room was clean, the location was excellent, and the staff were friendly. We would stay there again. The stairs are a little tough to navigate. Not much else to say, good basic accommodations.

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

I had a couple of days to relax before a meeting and chose to spend them in Oxford. I selected The Buttery in large part because of its excellent location. I was arriving and departing by bus, and the hotel is a few minutes' walk from the central bus station. (The train station is somewhat further down the road, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuff1944
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

Tidy, practical and functional. Cannot get too enthusiastic about this hotel. What it really scores on is the location. Its its squarely across the road from Balliol college and in the heart. Of Oxford town centre and only barely 10minute easy walk to the train station. If these are your priorities, do go ahead and book. The staff are courteous... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Asbeh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

We attended our daughter's graduation in June and since the ceremony was early in the morning we decided to stay one night.From the time I booked until I checked in and checked out the service was excellant.The ever smiling Anita and her team were very helpful.Made sure we packed choc pastries fresh hot and from the oven and coffee before... More 

Helpful?
Thank HasnahH
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

A location in the heart of the old town and a spotless, well appointed, comfortable room. Pleasant, helpful staff, and a good nights sleep. Good bed linen and towels, fast free wi fi, and decent lighting. Didn't eat the breakfast, but it's included in the room price. The Buttery isn't a plush hotel, but it's certainly a 5 Star B... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrownupFamily
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

In the last spring I stayed at the Buttery hotel for a period of almost two months (as part of a fellowship at the University). It was a wonderful stay from every aspect. The location is prefect - right in the middle of Oxford. During my stay I slept in several rooms - all were very clean, cozy, and comfortably... More 

Helpful?
Thank doron591
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

Although the the price doesn't reflect it, this is a basic place. If all you need is a bed, simple limited breakfast and a central location, go here. Broad St is full of Oxford charm, including a flavour of student life as it is the main route home for students up until around 3am. Single glazed windows don't keep out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cumul0Nimbus
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Our large room had two single beds and a sofa bed. Large bathroom with full tub. There was a nice air conditioner in the room. Free wifi. You do need to be able to climb stairs. Reception is one flight up and we were a floor above them. The floor in our room sloped a little. Joys of an old... More 

Helpful?
Thank 598Lisa
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

229 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (173)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (32)
Viewed
Family Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Single Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Triple or Twin Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
#16 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $139 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay