We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Royal Oak

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Well situated hotel just a couple of hundred yards from the main high street. Parking is available though a little limited. The room I stayed in was number 1 and is directly over the bar so there was some noise until the bar closed, not terrible but if you wanted peace and quiet the other room is probably better. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
RoyalOakBurford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies regarding the shower in your room.As you have advised we were not made aware of this issue so we were unable to rectify it during your stay.The shower has now been fixed & is in good working order. More 

Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

Lovely place to stay , Burford is amazing like stepping back in time. Room was comfortable, at the back so no noise. Easy to park. Really friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. Food superb the pies were lovely. Stayed for two nights and it was a perfect base to tour around. Highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank julieterry2016
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

This property is in a good location. No frills. One major caveat, we missed breakfast as they only serve between 8&9am which is ridiculous. We had to leave for the airport at 7.45 and they refused to serve earlier but charged us all the same! Very unaccommodating.

Helpful?
4 Thank Emmalizi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

Had a lovely nights stay here.Our room was quite big, was well heated and had all the mod cons. We ate in the restaurant with our daughter at night which was lovely. The pies are very well recommended and the service brilliant. In the morning we had the breakfast which was 10/10 and the overall stay was very good value... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016 via mobile

We booked here from Sunday to Tuesday starting off with a fabulously Sunday lunch. There's a relaxed feel when you walk in and the service is all you can wish for. The only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 is the bathroom could do with updating. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016

Friendly welcome and nice meal in the evening, had to leave to early for breakfast so they made me a BLT to take with me, next time I will make sure I can try the breakfast as well. Room a little cold in the morning but an extra heater in the room soon sorted that out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
Plymouth, UK.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We needed somewhere to stay on our last night in the Witney area and my wife found this place. The Royal Oak has a great little bar and the barman is very friendly with bags of local knowledge. If you are new to this area then he can point you in the right direction for some must see sights. As... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catoliver
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our visit. Lovely rooms and we had an evening meal on one of the nights. We both had pies and they were very good indeed with really rich red wine gravy. When we dined out of the town we came back to the bar so we could have a drink. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RinaRogers
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Very pleasant stay at this BnB. Only 2 rooms available,so you'd need to book early, especially during the summer season. John is a friendly and helpful host. Our room was large with adequate storage. We were in the Cotswolds for 4 nights to attend a wedding and the large room was very welcome. The room was clean. There was always... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni38
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a night while Geocaching in Burford - fantastic band on on the Saturday night. Excellent food huge double bedroom very clean and a delicious breakfast - great hosts. Enjoyed the bar billiards! Limited parking very close to town centre.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Highway Inn
The Highway Inn
#2 of 16 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Oak is a traditional British Inn, offering freshly prepared food, great real ales and bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Witney Street, Burford OX18 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range: $78 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Burford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay