We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Highway Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Highway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
tredegar, gwent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely village. The Highway Inn was small but lovely. Stayed in The Burford room which was spacious, lovely comfy mattress and super hot water (and plenty of it) for a bath. Enjoyed an evening meal where the steak was cooked perfect. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank pandapops
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Originally built in 1480, staying in this Cotswolds’ Inn gives you a great experience of what a full service guesthouse can be. The friendly staff was very helpful. The food and pub was atmospheric and very good. Dinner just down the street at the Golden Pleasant and Spice Lounge was also very good. Burford We stayed in the attractive village... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took a wrong turning on our way to Thornbury and arrived in Burford by accident. It is a beautiful old Cotswold village so we decided to stop by for lunch on our return journey the following day and we are so glad we did! Did bit of sightseeing then shopping and most buildings are beautiful with many being 15th or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you took a wrong turn so ended up visiting us. I agree, beside the open fire is a great place to sit this time of year and hard to leave. Hopefully next visit you will have more time to spend in the Highway, maybe staying in one of our rooms. I will have to keep an eye... More 

Glossop
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ambiance : 5* Service : 5* Butternut Squash Soup :5* Moules : 5* Roast Beef Sunday Lunch : 5* Fish & Chips : 5* Am I fussy restaurant critic : due to my job I travel a great deal and stay / eat in hotels on a weekly basis ; yes I'm fussy. Would I recommend this establishment : Definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole L
Fownhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay here; my mum and I stayed in the twin room, Upton. It was a nice room on the second floor (not good for people who can't manage lots of stairs though!). The room was nicely furnished and clean. Our only complaint was the bathroom decor was rather tired with some peeling paint and a blind with... More 

Helpful?
Thank BowensBandB
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you had a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you and your husband next time. We have a list of jobs thjat we are working our way through so we do value the comments and will be addressing the issues you mentioned. More 

WOLVERHAMPTON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Met up with friends for a weekend in Burford. Been many times to this beautiful small town. 1st time at The Highway, but it won't be our last. All 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere. Food, drink and accommodation were all excellent, but above all it was the friendly and helpful attitude of the people working at The... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJPARKINSON
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great time here with us and are delighted you will be returning. We have only a small team of staff and it is alway great to hear that they are doing a great job. More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016

My wife and I visited the hotel for 2 nights recently. We stayed in Windrush which is a first floor double room overlooking the High Street. We found very little noise from outside either from traffic or people passing by. The room oozed character and was very quirky down to the floor which had a distinct slant, a brass bedstead... More 

Helpful?
Thank BillB57257
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. It is always great to hear that someone else loves the place as much as we do and that the food and staff made your stay fantastic. We do look forward to seeing you again. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2016

This was my third visit to this hotel and every time it's been great. I stayed with girlfriends, staying in the Upton twin bedded room, to be found at the very top. This trip, I took my husband and we were in the Windrush room, on the first floor looking out the front of the building. Each time, the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank handbagqueen2016
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

It is always nice to welcome returning guests. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2016

What a beautiful place to stay in Burford. We had the four poster bed room at the front of the hotel on the 1st floor. We parked the car in a opposite side street with no problem. The food is excellent, good choice and very tasty because of local produce and excellent Chef obviously. Breakfast was excellent. The Hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen D
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

thank you for the review. We are delighted you had such a fabulous time here with us at the Highway. We really hope you will come back sometime soon. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2016

The Highway Inn is on the main street on the hill - there is no car park but you can park on the opposite side of the street free of charge all day. The Inn itself is quirky full of old beams and character and sqeaky floorboards!! It is expected I suppose considering its age. There should be a different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rose J
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us and hope to see ou again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
443 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Highway Inn is a family owned and run cosy Inn, right in the heart of Burford, in between Oxford and Cheltenham. The open fires, great food and cosy bedrooms will help you relax whether on business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Highway Inn

Address: 117 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range: $97 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Highway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highway Hotel Burford
Highway Hotel Burford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Highway Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Warwick, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Highway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There was some road noise at the front of the hotel so maybe a room at the back would be quieter. It wasn't bad though.”
 of 5 bubbles BowensBandB, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Windrush was a great room, with double bed and ensuite with bath/shower. Quiet too.”
 of 5 bubbles handbagqueen2016, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Ask the staff about rooms and they are happy to help you make your decision depending upon your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenD143, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 622rosej, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“We chose a rear room of the hotel upstairs - very quiet and restful”
 of 5 bubbles 7terencec, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay