We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Burford House

Booking.com$134*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Burford House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Burford House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 279: English reviews
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2016

First time in burford and we wanted a cup of tea/coffee so popped in to this place,.it looked nice from the outside and we weren't disappointed Nice friendly and quick service in a relaxing place. At a reasonable price Recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holidayer164
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future :)

Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful Cotswold village of Burford has this Hotel on the Main Street. You cannot park outside the hotel with ease. You can unload here but then park in the public car park. No car park for the hotel. Lovely property but the welcome was a little disappointing. You have to walk up to the first floor to check in, no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carolyn F
Management response:

We do feel a tiny bit disappointed as we haven't experienced none, if any bad reviews when it comes to our bedrooms, however, I feel I should sum up what has been mentioned in this review. We are a 17th century property, hence why we do not have a lift, like all hotels in Burford. We have and still are...

Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous boutique hotel with friendly staff, delicious food (we had the Thai curry, lamb stew and full English) oh and cake lots of cake. The G&T's are very good too, think I tried four with different herbs and fruits. We had a four poster bed that was extremely comfy and a bathroom that I would love to have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nety1958
Management response:

We are extremely grateful for your review, as this is exactly what we are aiming to do; we want our customers to leave incredibly happy and be returning guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed October 3, 2016

Lovely hotel in a great location. With nice snug room. Serves fantastic cream teas and tea cakes. Prices very reasonable and staff are helpful. Very clean and smart all through will be going again wile in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt B
Management response:

Bravo! Look forward to seeing you again :)

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We stopped here for a quick rest whilst travelling through. It was a lovely, sunny day, so we sat in the courtyard out the back. There were plenty of seats even though it was busy, but without feeling packed in. The service is very prompt and friendly. The menu was not extensive, but offered just the right selection of cakes,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emulent
Management response:

Love this, cant wait to see you again soon :)

Nottinghamshire, UK
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

After staying here on business 4 times last year, I booked again, this time with my wife. So I was most disappointed with a noisy street facing room -Westwell. The hotel was not full and wondered why this was not occupied last? Other rooms had been lovely (& quiet) - the breakfast was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAFos1
Management response:

I can only apologise for the noise, all Burford hotels are fully aware of this problem, the high street is the only thru road for most traffic at peak times. On making enquiries, the hotel was full that evening, many of our business custom checking in later on. When making a future booking, please contact me directly where I can...

Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Everything as advertised! Attentive staff, special rooms, and great atmosphere. The lawns are lovely - conducive to a pleasant stroll before or after dinner. Would recommend adding the spa special - great massage experience at a fair price when other amenities considered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
Management response:

We will keep this review (even though its not us) :)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

The tall gentleman serving that day was unbelievably rude. Didn't say hello, when asked if they are still serving food said yes and walked away. When he finally seated us he ignored us for a while not even giving menus. We walked out and across the road where we were wonderfully treated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NatNatlondon1
Management response:

We can only apologise, we don't know what went wrong, please give us another try sometime soon.

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

We decided to have lunch here for the last day, and both had amazing salads with scone afterwards which was perfect apart from not enough jam for the hugeness of the scone, I am sure they would have offered us more if we had asked. The cakes on offer were varied and interesting and I would definitely opt for that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingforfun72
Management response:

We have tonnes of Jam, promise to ask next time. Look forward to seeing you :)

Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Was treated here for my birthday. Lovely room, staff and the building is an old 17th century place. The downfall would be the noisy traffic but it is on a main road with the local pubs, shops tea rooms. And the shower was incredibly small and water was filling up at the bottom quick so wasn't able to enjoy it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tish M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
668 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Burford House

Address: 99 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range: $154 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Burford House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Burford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford House Hotel Burford
Burford Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#4 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Burford House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Burford House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors have large beam across the room which could be a challenge for taller people in the middle of the night.”
matildasnan, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Noise late at night from people in the road outside. Road outside noisy from very early morning with heavy lorries/trailers.”
HibiscusCoast, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Had a look at Rooms, All Very Big - Ensuites! Look forward to trying it”
, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
“Situated in heart of town large lorries at all times of day and night ear plugs supplied in rooms.”
D1304GZnicolag, Feb 8, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice depends if you want a 4 poster bed.”
malcolmf651, Jan 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$134* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$134
Hotels.com$134
Expedia.com$134
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates