We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 472: English reviews
Start your review of Cotswold Gateway Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and my partner decided to got to the Gateway as we have not been for nearly two years. The atmosphere seemed to have changed somewhat. The waitress took our food order on a piece of napkin as she could find a notepad which was rather odd. But it would explain why the food order went completely wrong. My partner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy S
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived here late at night after a 45 minute drive from our wedding venue, we were greeted by the couple that run the hotel (who were absolutely lovely), we then went to our beautiful four poster room where we had our first wedding card, a bottle of prosecco and chocolates! Very comfortable bed, and were even allowed a late check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Due to an overbooking of another hotel we were referred to the Cotswold Gateway Hotel. The staff was very friendly, helpful and flexible. The breakfast was outstanding. The price/value is outstanding.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 134claudio
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was great and tasty- and the staff friendly, all I would have wanted in a meal on a long journey. Unfortunately me and my partner had to leave due to unforeseen and unfortunate circumstances which we cannot disclose or discuss (nothing to do with the quality of the restaurant, which as I have said is tremendous), but my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
Oxfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was good and staff are friendly and attentive to accommodate us and our dog. Our room was very clean but not enough room to stretch out Food was ok and liked enough parking spaces. Little bit confused how breakfast was served as we had to make toasts after seeing what's on the plate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fumin2017
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Positives: the family room was well appointed, very clean and there were plenty of towels. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was well pleasant with a good shower. Staff in pub: friendly staff Burford town is very close by and whilst there isn't much there, it is quite pleasant to walk around. Negatives: the location. The hotel is situated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janeyb222
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had stayed here about two years ago and loved it, so decided to come for dinner on a Saturday night. I was so disappointed. The waitress was complaining to the table next to us about the chef because obviously 'someone' had got their order wrong. We ordered a butchers plate for entree because we love pate. It arrived with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andream0402
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed at the Cotswold Gateway, although it is under different management the staff and food were excellent. The last time we stayed we were in the main hotel building and had a lovely room for us and our two dogs. This time we were in the annex which was not particularly nice, everything...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Oxfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good comfortable room on ground floor, suitable as I am disabled. Staff very pleasant. Convenient for getting around both Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire. Would stay there again. Would reccommend the Gateway to both couples and families.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 483guestw
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is old and beautiful , however we were put in room 11 . This was an awful room. It was so small my partner who is 6'4 was so uncomfortable his feet were hanging over the side of the bed. The room was over a heating unit and we couldn't open the window as faced a main road....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate S
cotswoldgateway, General Manager at Cotswold Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I do apologize you did not enjoy your stay due to the room that you had booked, double en suite, when you book through booking.com for a double room with us it will allocate you what ever room is available whether it is a double, twin or family room. we were fully booked the evening...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

228 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Family Room (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Second Double Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
496 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
308 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Address: Cheltenham Road, Burford OX18 4HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range: $99 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gateway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#2 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cotswold Gateway Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Morecambe
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cotswold Gateway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid the A40 side”
28lindat, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“go elsewhere”
harveyk1, Mar 23, 2017 | Read review
“Another plus is the great English breakfast. Great dining options also!”
louiseh462, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“not applicable to us”
BrianS36, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“As we wanted the family room it was noisy due to being near the roundabout and the traffic didn't stop all night.”
Sallystar_13, Nov 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question