We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 430: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Very comfortable, well appointed rooms, Warm and cosy, and supplied with every convenience a traveller would need; tea/coffee; bottled water; iron and even a trouser press! Not too far away from Bibury and Cirencester.

Helpful?
Thank Maliha H
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding. Lovely little pub. Nice and quiet. Nicely decorated and really good nights sleep. It is quite out of the way in the countryside though so you'd need a car. Or a reliable taxi number.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Audlem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel before on many occasions. It has recently been renovated and is much brighter and refreshed. Our family room was excellent and very clean with new furnishings. Three of us enjoyed a lovely evening meal and the service and friendliness of the staff was excellent. Unfortunately the breakfast was dreadful. We felt ignored. The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sallystar_13
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the best hotel in the world from the bar to the rooms to sleep in every thing is perfect although they could add a fire place George does the best lime and lemonade and Elle does the best orange and lemonade the bar is adept and clean along with all the rooms beer is also sold here Price... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom12343211234
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
732 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was part of a group of 14 who had dinner here. I had duo of duck followed by a trio of poached pear, chocolate mousse cup and vanilla ice cream. I enjoyed the duck dish, although it was a smallish dinner on a large plate, but the dessert was especially nice. We had a room to ourselves, with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice pub hotel and very cozy. Beds are so comfortable!!! Very clean but walls are a bit too thin and you can hear people talking in the next room.The food in the bar restaurant was really nice and staff friendly and professional. The town is beautiful and is all kind of very nice activities people organise around. Was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The gateway is an old favourite but we hadn't been in just over a year. Called in for breakfast this morning. £9.99 for buffet inc. drinks and the food was absolutely superb - especially the sausages! Service also good

Helpful?
Thank Graemew91
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Living in Burford, The Gateway has been our 'local' for many years. We have made every effort to engage with the new owners Wandsworth Brewery, our experience had not been great with the first managers, poor customer service and very poor food - so we got excited when we heard there were new managers. We went to say hello during... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jojoOxford
Management response:

Thank you for your feed back and would like to apologize that it was a unpleasant visit i have spoken to the team members on shift on Saturday night to find out what had happened and why you were not treated right, I understand that we had a party of 35 eating in our dinning room at 8pm and the... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and when we turned up a guy appeared behind the reception desk and didn't even greet us. He simply said 'checking in?' Come on mate, you're in a customer facing job. Gave us some rough directions to our 'room' which was tiny. I requested to be away from the road but was placed facing it.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron T
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2016

The rooms were spacious and clean. We had a king size bed and a single off to the side. It was very comfortable. It had everything we needed. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bar was cute and the food was good.

Helpful?
Thank jsworsley
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Family Room (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Second Double Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Address: Cheltenham Road, Burford OX18 4HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range: $122 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gateway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cotswold Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#2 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cotswold Gateway Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Morecambe
5 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cotswold Gateway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“As we wanted the family room it was noisy due to being near the roundabout and the traffic didn't stop all night.”
 of 5 bubbles Sallystar_13, 1 week ago | Read review
“This is a historical hotel. We did have a room by a round about. We had the window open, the air is so fresh!”
 of 5 bubbles jsworsley, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms to the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles craigt516, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has no life so stay on 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles notfussy2012, Aug 11, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room if poss away from the front, which overlooks the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles susieb20, Aug 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay