We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

St James Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
St James Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 557: English reviews
Notts, England
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went for our Xmas Party at the St James, and will not return again. Food was of a very poor standard and really there is no excuse for it, you had to pre-order and the menu was limited to two options for each course...and even then certain members of our group had things like stuffing missed off their plates. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dearmrman
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

prepaid room for £85,for somewhere in the centre of the city i thought was very reasonable.the hotel is bright and clean,our bedroom was well presented with a well set out bathroom,plenty of hot water and good soft towels.although we dont eat cooked breakfast we enjoyed the fruit salad etc,i did look at the hot food and it looked of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danmac080448
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Where do I begin? On arrival we had to park our car in an old rundown multi-storey car park next door to the hotel that charges you £22 a day as the hotel has no parking facilities. The car park stinks of urine and has homeless people camped out inside the main stair well to get to the hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our room was very good,but the long dark corridor leading to it was not impressive . No evening meal in the hotel so we went to a Indian only 5mins walk around the corner that was out of this world,the food and they way we were looked after was just 5 star. Back to the hotel with friends for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kateellery40
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially noting your accommodation, the service and fantastic breakfast. I will of course pass your feedback on to the rest...

Derby
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good Value, Easy to Find. Easy to park (if a little expensive but Multi Storey option may be cheaper) Comfortable rooms recently refurbished. (View was limited but in a City Centre hotel this is inevitable) Walking Distance to central area's. Self Service Breakfast which has lots of Choice. Good Wi-Fi Happy to recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trevor Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. It was great to read your feedback in relation to your stay and that you would recommend the St James Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, I will of course...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for our work Christmas party, for £40 the food was poor (were the roasts frozen?!) and didn't appear freshly prepared. Would have been acceptable in your local pub. The DJ was average but with a poor set-up. Staff were good but let down by poor food and lack of thought in overall execution. Can't recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreatrExpectations
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Christmas party night with us at the St James Hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to your evening. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard of service and our Christmas party nights are very popular and are a great success....

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location in Nottingham for castle and center.. very easy to walk from so a good base for exploring. Room was fine, bathroom very small. Nice touch in room was the sleep spray, not sure it helps but nice idea. Bar was fine too but didn't have ingredients for some of the cocktails. Breakfast was good, although sausage was standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marco B Thank you for your review of St James Hotel. I will look at some of the points raised with the hotel management team and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards

Consett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for four nights with a couple of friends. The reception area was lovely, spacious with the most beautiful flower arrangement in the foyer. We were welcomed and booked in by the friendly and efficient staff. Our rooms on the sixth floor were clean and comfortable, we did have to ask for the heated towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin1096734
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear martin1096734 Thank you for your review of St James Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the city. Kindest regards

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Last night was our annual Christmas party. We will not be returning next year. Paid a lot for the pleasure of cold food, no red wine that I ordered, out of order card machine and to top it all! A Disco that finished at 00:30 when advertised until 01:00. Staff all obviously Xmas temps with little catering experience. Very poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppypoopants
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Poppypoopants Thank you for your review. My apologies you did not enjoy the party this weekend. The party nights conclude at 1am however the bar closes at 12:45 and we do advise last orders 20 minutes prior. I am sorry to read you found the food cold, the nutloaf main course is served warm and our experience is if...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been there for four nights! The hotel is pretty good, nice breakfast and room, very clean as well! The location is good too. Only one thing needs a note, no bottle of water and no mini bar in the room.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mario C Thank you for your review of St James Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and we have complimentary bottled water in all our rooms again now, my apologies this wasn't in your room during your stay. Kindest regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#13 of 54 in Nottingham
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#10 of 54 in Nottingham
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range: $63 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from St James Hotel staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Dudley, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from St James Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not sure each time we have stayed,nice room,no view but as its near the park ask!”
 of 5 bubbles kateellery40, 5 days ago | Read review
“Some rooms overlook Multi Storey Car Park”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorM434, 5 days ago | Read review
“Our room on the sixth floor was extremely quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles martin1096734, 6 days ago | Read review
“Top floors to see over the rooftops. Not the corner rooms as apparently they were draughty.”
 of 5 bubbles Lyn_T149, 1 week ago | Read review
“6th floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 271rogerd, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay