We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5RH England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/24/22
Expedia.com
$155
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/29/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$127
View deal
Hotels.com$155
Priceline$137
getaroom.com$166
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (499)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (203)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 44 hotels in Nottingham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Crowne Plaza Nottingham is one of the most stylish hotels in the Midlands. In the City Centre nearby many Government offices, both Universities, the Queens Medical Centre and Casinos. Crowne Plaza Nottingham has air conditioning in every bedroom plus an indoor swimming pool. Close to East Midlands Airport and the city centre attractions and shops, we have 210 bedrooms including flat screen TV's, mini bars and laptop safes (in most rooms). In addition we have a choice of bar and dining options, a leisure club and our own 600-space car park with direct access into the hotel. As the East Midland's No1 Conference and Meeting venue we offer 17 excellent rooms from a Boardroom for 6 to a conference for 400 including your own dedicated conference partner, use of Workbase and the services of our own in-house technician with the latest audio visual equipment with wireless internet access. From ancient to modern, Nottingham is the home of Robin Hood and Paul Smith, combining history with style as the East Midland's premier shopping City. Our sporting heritage is unparalleled too with Trent Bridge cricket club, 2 football teams, The National Ice Arena, Nottingham Castle and the National Watersports Centre, only a few of the great places to visit in Nottingham including the renowned nightlife. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
2189Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 668
  • 776
  • 429
  • 186
  • 130
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
disco4 wrote a review Jan 23
North West England, United Kingdom24 contributions4 helpful votes
Great staff, lovely breakfast, hot shower in clean bedroom and nice bar, however our room on 6th floor over looked a popular nightclub which was very noisy also be aware of the street cleaning machines, they start very early in the morning. There are only two very small lifts one of which has not worked since before Christmas which means a large number of hotel occupants waiting for and using the lift at any one time. The staff must be fed up dealing with complaints regarding this. The alternative staircase is reminiscent of a car park staircase.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Car park next door Close to tram stop Central
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Flavia De Silva wrote a review Jan 16
Hatfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed here for two nights. The hotel and the room were perfect and it was really worth for the price. Especially the cleanliness and the amenities which are available at the hotel room were all good. Except for the reservations and the reception team, where I had to keep calling them so many times to change my check-out date made me feel hectic, and Mr. Roy and Mr. Bradley, Ms.Wardha from Food and Beverage were really helpful and the customer service skills were beyond the expectation. Thank you so much for the great service and for making our stay memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a good view, My room was a standard room but the view...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Annabelle Pritchard, Owner at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Good afternoon Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon Kind regards Peter Gregory General Manager
Read more
B Rups wrote a review Jan 12
Midlands44 contributions32 helpful votes
We stayed here in December just before Christmas we booked a two night stay for like £300 including breakfast because we have stayed at the hotel before in another city and the breakfast was deemed as amazing. The hotel website Boasts about good staysAnd the experience and how the food is brilliant but let me tell you the breakfast was not amazing at all. The worst I have ever had at a hotel. In fact The premier in breakfast for £9.50 was a lot and I mean a lot better than this hotel. The food look like it had been cooked hours ago even though we went at 9:30 on the first day which was a Saturday and on the Sunday we went at 8:30 and it was pretty bad then so they can't make out that it was made fresh which is what the website says on demand. The first day the sausages were over cooked the skin was so tough. Second day it was undercooked and you could see the skin peeling off. The hash browns looked like they had been cooked or defried. So bad. To me it looked like they had used cheap quality ingredients and had no care of what they are giving their guests.. specially when paying above the odds for a breakfast They say breakfast is the best meal of the day and once you had it it should set you up for at least a few hours but we were really really disappointed specially having spent that kind of money to stay. Ended up going out for lunch early on both days it was that bad. the noise was also just as bad. Yes it was Christmas and we understand that everybody has a good time we also went out out on both nights but the fact is that the noise levels were horrendous. I did not think that was a GOOD EXPERIENCE at all which is what the hotel is promoting I did write to IHG group to raise my concerns during Christmas and I have not had a response I have also chased it up again and still not heard anything. Basically what I'm saying is that if you do want to stay somewhere Central it's a great location however think twice and specially having paid £60 extra for having breakfast so that we could set ourselves up for the day that breakfast was really bad and I mean that I mean that it was hardly cooked or it was overcooked and dry and there was oil floating around in some of the food dishes and that orange juice was also watered down completely honestly I've never had a breakfast like that before Please choose wisely can you book because honestly in Nottingham this was really really bad I've stayed at Birmingham before and manchester never had this issue and really feel like I wasted £300 on a two night stay I tried to attach photos but said file was too large.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Annabelle Pritchard, Owner at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hi bijalr2018 Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I would like to take the opportunity to discuss this with you in person. Please do contact me at your convenience on peter.gregory@valoreurope.com. Kind regards Peter Gregory General Manager
Read more
Carole M wrote a review Jan 1
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked an overnight stay at the Crowne Plaza, Nottingham on 30/12/21. We travelled to Nottingham for a funeral, leaving in the early hours of the 30th. By the time we got to the hotel we were physically and emotionally drained, hence we retired to bed early. At about 10pm we realised that our Executive room was directly opposite a night club called 'Rock City'! The music was so loud we could not sleep at all. When it was still going at 2am I telephoned reception for the second time and was told that the club has a 3am licence! When I asked why we had been put in such a room when the hotel was half empty I was told he did not allocate rooms and I would have to ask the hotel manager - by this time I was distraught through the stress of the whole situation. The music finally stopped at about 3am, but then followed singing, dancing and shouting as the club emptied and taxis collected people etc. In the morning we took my 93 year old mother to breakfast (luckily she had been allocated a room to the rear of the hotel). After this, I went to Reception to speak to the Front of House Manager - this conversation lasted approximately 3 minutes and went like this: Me - I made a complaint at 2.22am and was told to speak to you; FOHM - I have been made aware of your complaint; Me - I would like to know why we were allocated a room directly opposite a night club (I tried to say more but he kept talking over me); FOHM - you have used our services, you have benefitted from the hotel experience... ; at this stage I simply laughed and said what, the experience of getting no sleep - I tried to continue but he said (in a very aggressive manner) : IF YOU WILL LISTEN TO ME AND LET ME FINISH WHAT I AM SAYING - I was horrified and said - why don't you listen to what I have to say - at this stage he rolled his eyes, threw his hands in the air, turned his back on me and walked away! I was horrified, this man clearly did not care about customer service, he was not inte I waited for the Receptionist to finish a call she was on and asked her for his name + the name of the manager + the name of the UK CEO as I was so horrified that a Senior Manager who has responsibility for customer service could treat anyone in such a manner - he had no intention of listening to what I had to say or answer my questions. Unfortunately, the receptionist said she did not overhear my conversation as she was on the phone, but I am absolutely clear about what was said and the manner in which I was treated. He was a tall man and towered over my 5'1" frame - he never looked at me and kept staring above my head as if I was simply wasting his time. He clearly couldn't care less about my concerns or maybe he was so used to getting complaints of this type he clearly felt I was wasting his time. One has to wonder if this is how all customers at Nottingham, or indeed IHG are treated - clearly he had no conscience or regrets about treating me in such a manner as he did not deign to make an appearance when we checked out. I am now writing to senior levels in IHG in the hope that others will not be treated in such a way. This hotel is fully aware that there is a nightclub directly opposite rooms at the front of the hotel - why on earth allocate these rooms to two elderly customers - why not say to us on arrival, the Executive room allocated is opposite a club, would you like to go in a slightly smaller room that is on the other side of the corridor (I checked the 8th floor - there were 6 empty rooms on the opposite side of the corridor!) which does not have a noise problem. We were told by a member of staff that it was probably because we booked through booking.com and, as such the hotel don't get the full fee, I don't know if this is true and was one of the things I wanted to ask the FOHM, but didn't get the chance!! This hotel, took our money in advance knowing full well that the room is noisy and that the club has a licence until 3am; we paid for a place to rest our heads before continuing our journey, you don't just book a room, you book somewhere to SLEEP - they did not provide this and in my opinion the room is not fit for use (unless you accept it with prior knowledge of the problems) and as such they have charged us under false pretences, they totally ignored their duty of care and then treated us with the most utter disdain when we tried to question them about it and suggest that they had a responsibility to their customers to, at the very least, warn them about the problems with the room. When the hospitality sector is bemoaning the fact that they are struggling - how can a large hotel group such as IHG treat their customers with such utter contempt. It will be interesting to see if this gets posted as none of the Google reviews showing refer to this or the fact that a) the hot food at breakfast is actually cold, that the walls are so thin between rooms that you can hear everything that is going on around you (!!) It is also worth mentioning that when we checked in we asked where we should park the car - we were given directions to the public car park - we were not told there was any discount for hotel customers and it cost us £17.00 for an overnight stay. NB - we have just received an email saying the hotel will refund the full amount of our stay - we have accepted, but, in order to hopefully stop someone else going through the nightmare we have been through then we will post this review anyway.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room well away from 'Rock City' nightclub
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Clements, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear carolemZ7356RE Thanks for taking the time to post a further review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the stay with us. I will pick this up with the team as this is most unusual but I am pleased that we have refunded you. Kindest regards David Clements General Manager
Read more
Chloe wrote a review Dec 2021
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night as a couple. The room was fantastic, huge bed! Very clean, complimentary hot drinks and a biscuit each which was a nice touch. We paid £10 extra for a buffet breakfast and it was lovely. We came in towards the end of service and the food still tasted fresh. Parking was £15 for the whole stay. We arrived at 3pm and departed at 4pm the next day. The ticket we were given was valid for all of the departure day, excellent value. We were disappointed with the spa facilities but the hotel reception rectified this, I can’t fault the hotels response. The main selling point for this hotel was the spa/jacuzzi facilities. We checked in at 3pm and headed to the pool to find the jacuzzi out of action. On the way out I asked the spa reception about this. They were extremely defensive rather than empathetic to our disappointment. They said they expected it to have been fixed a few days ago and there was nothing they could do. Although I understand things break and it’s out of their control, a little more understanding would’ve been appreciated, all I was told to do was come back first thing in the morning and if it was fixed I could use it prior to checking out. When I asked why guests weren’t warned about this, their response was we had no time as it should’ve been fixed. Not the best service from the spa. When I explained this to the hotel reception when checking out they were empathetic and apologetic. She explained the spa was seperate to the hotel, but she offered a solution I was pleased with. A hotel that acknowledges when expectations aren’t always met and acts on them means this is 5* to me. I’m looking forward to returning in the future. Despite the disappointment with the spa, we enjoyed our stay and loved the hotel. We’ve had a very positive experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from David Clements, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear cl0smith98 Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review following a recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Nottingham. It is good to know that you enjoyed the stay and the team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Kindest regards David Clements General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nottingham crowne plaza
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottinghamshireNottingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
210
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Logiclock Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), Cryptology Nottingham (0.09 miles), and Ali Baba Cabs (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Maharaja's Retreat, Kushi-ya, and Calcutta Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Nottingham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Nottingham, an IHG hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Green's Windmill (1.0 miles), Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem (0.07 miles), and City of Caves (0.5 miles).