We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,098 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,072: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is a very tired hotel, and needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to the standard of others in the city centre. The reception area was very dated and shabby as was the room. It was ok for a night but would not have stayed any longer for what I paid.

Helpful?
Thank Jack L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Yes, it's very worn down for a city centre hotel, and it's not perfectly clean in some places, but I wouldn't say there was anything wrong with our stay and the reception staff were helpful when we had an issue with our booking agent. The room we had was spacious (although the room other members of our group had seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank alopex101
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

After reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive. The location for the city centre is excellent. The staff were fantastic, anything that they could do for you they would. Food, plentyful, delicious, hot and a good variety. Room, clean, comfortable, clean bed linen, furniture a bit 'tired'. Bathroom, large, bath & shower, clean towels. The only problem with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank d0ris24
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, its great to hear you had a lovely time and I will pass on your feedback to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is in a great location its 2 mins walk across the road and your in the town ,main square with lots of shops bars and sightseeing ,trams and buses,to the right of hotel 3 mins walk (small uphill ) is the lovely Nottingham castle a great day out The hote is clean hot water and clean towels beds... More 

Helpful?
Thank cooki36
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception staff need a good wake up call , miserable is not the word !. Only one lift working so a 20 minute wait before you even get to your designated floor. We were lucky enough to be on floor 4 !!!! The stench when the lift doors open was unreal it smacked you in the face. It smelt... More 

Helpful?
Thank ian975
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thorough feedback from your stay with us. I am sorry you felt you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is unclear from your feedback as to whether you informed our management team to the issues you have raised, as we would have been able to address them by offering another room and dealing with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is probably the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. Unfortunately it was a near last minute booking - nearby hotels (Premier Inn, Park Plaza) were fully booked already. We had a Double Executive room, which had tired, dated and broken furnishings. Don't believe the photos, as other recent reviews have said! The shower head was covered in limescale, bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xiera M
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments from your stay, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, the lift as I'm sure you can appreciate is out of the hands of the hotel and with the lift company. I'm unsure whether you raised your concerns during your stay so we would be able to address them, however, thank you for... More 

Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room wasn't Ready. The shower was broken. I had holes in the towels. No ventilation in the bathroom and no air conditioning in the room. An amazing view of the car park. The breakfast is not included and the bathroom is filthy. Don't shower in here.

Helpful?
Thank ellieabros
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As a hotel we offer a variety of room rates and if your breakfast was not included it would be that you chose a room only offer, I am uncertain if you informed management of your concerns but will pass these onto my housekeeping team for you. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at front-desk is not friendly at all... The rooms are not cleaned everyday.... The worst is they don't provide internet facility in the room... It is only available in the public area... Just wanted to ask are we leaving in the Stone Age... Every hotel in the city provide internet facility in the hotel rooms; not sure what... More 

Helpful?
Thank laks2016
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you are correct as at present we do not offer wi fi in the bedrooms however this will be changing over the next couple of months with an upgrade on our wi fi system. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. More 

Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't be fooled by the photos or description this hotel is the epitome of a tired, dated City centre hotel in need of complete refurbishment. From first arrival the hotel lobby was smelly, the kind of carpet smell they will never get rid of. Even though I had booked direct on the Britania web-site (the receptionist tried to blame a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I'm sorry you did not find your arrival welcoming however we do not have carpet in reception it is a marble floor. The fire doors are being dealt was damaged however the issue has now been addressed and work is being carried out in this area. Once again thank you for your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was prepared for a bit of shabbiness as we were on a budget but not like what we experienced. The room stank like smoke as soon as I walked in. The beds were EXTREMELY hard. We had a speaker stolen from the room on the 3rd day of our stay. Don't keep anything valuable at all ,make sure you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

287 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (281)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 53 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#13 of 53 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#26 of 53 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#14 of 53 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range: $47 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay