We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Save
Share
George Street Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
FindHotel
$65
View deal
Hotels.com$70
Priceline$70
Trip.com$70
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (509)
Room & Suite (235)
Dining (32)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 43 hotels in Nottingham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel. Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi. The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Bulgarian, Hungarian and 3 more
1695Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 730
  • 522
  • 259
  • 100
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephen M wrote a review Dec 3
1 contribution
....just returned from a 2 day Xmas shopping break at the Mecure Nottingham - been having these 2 day breaks at Christmas for a number of years now - picking a different city each year - and this was the best! I know the Mecure is part of a group but the service, staff and atmosphere was very much of a 'family business' nature - they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - the breakfast was excellent and the Junior Suite we stayed in was just marvellous. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to be in the centre of city life and be well looked after!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ..go for the Junior Suite!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Butler, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Stephen, Thank you so much for your review. The team and I are genuinely delighted to read your review. It is wonderful to hear you had such an enjoyable experience, with the team here being such a positive aspect of your stay. Our team here at Mercure Nottingham City Centre is small and we do try our very best to create the family feeling you mention. I am honestly so pleased that this came across to you. We are also happy to hear that you found your Junior Suite to have been to your liking and thank you for your kind words about our breakfast service. To hear you found your experience with us to have been the best you have had really is so encouraging to hear. We may not get things right every time but we strive to provide the same experience to all of our guests. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on this occasion Stephen and for your kind recommendation. We genuinely hope we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager
Read more
Navigate429022 wrote a review Dec 2
1 contribution
Stayed with friends for a stag weekend. One night stay. From checking in to checking out the Staff were friendly. The rooms were all clean and ready for us as requested. The breakfast was great. Rooms were brilliant. Special thank you to Sabrin.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Butler, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Navigate429022, Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and your experience with our team from check in through to check out was an enjoyable one. This is most encouraging to hear and I look forward to sharing your comments with the team, especially Sabrin who I can see made a lasting impression. The team and I thank you for having chosen to stay with us on this occasion and we sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager
Read more
Frances N wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We have just returned from a weekend to catch up with friends and visit the Christmas market. Ideal location, discounted parking, cosy rooms and lots of history to the hotel. The staff were fantastic all around and amazing breakfast. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Butler, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 139francesn, Thank you so much for your review. It is a pleasure to receive your comments, I will make sure that this will get shared with the team and the chef as well. We are looking forward to having you again with us in the future. Kindest Regards Sabrin Daoud Operations Manager
Read more
emilylteague wrote a review Nov 2021
Pontyclun, United Kingdom5 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Good afternoon, I have just stayed at the Mecure Nottingham and I have been extremely disappointed with my stay and really wish that I’d booked the Premier Inn as I believe I would’ve seen better quality rooms in a budget hotel. Upon arrival to our room, we were left shocked at the condition of the room. We booked the Mecure for our friends 30th Celebration as a treat, as in our opinion, Mecure hotels are of the higher brand hotel status. This couldn’t be further from the truth. As stated on their website, the luxurious rooms were more like basic rooms. The carpet was ripped and rising up in areas. The shower door was hanging off and the ‘tiles’ on the bathroom floor raised when walked over to get in and out of the shower. The bathroom in general didn’t appeared to have been thoroughly cleaned, rather given a quick wipe over, despite advertising that your rooms are spotlessly clean. The toilet was stained, the sink and shower had a lot of grime in it. The room was cold, we had to blast the heating into our room to even feel a bit of warmth. It states in the description of the rooms that they come with a Nespresso coffee machine, this was also untrue. There was a kettle hidden in the wardrobe as there was no where else for it. The iron had last been PAT tested in April 2020, demonstrating that customer safety clearly comes very low on their list of priorities. When I approached reception about my concerns, they were extremely unhelpful. It appeared that my inability to use the shower due the door and the overall concern with how rundown the room was, was a bit of a hinderance to them. They sent the Maintenance man to the room and by his response it was clear that the broken shower door was a regular thing. We were left confused as to why we had ear plugs left in our room. But later on into the evening, it became very apparent as to why. It was extremely loud. This is fine but I think it should state this very clearly about this when booking. Our friends were extremely concerned with the smell of cigarettes that they could constantly smell in their room that appeared to be coming through the extractor fan. Overall, we were disgusted with the state of the hotel and the facilities on offer. I think the hotel is in some desperate need of some tlc and this should be reflected in the price. We were given an upgrade on arrival and I dread to think what the lower spec room was like.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Butler, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on various platforms. I am very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We had plans in place to complete a refurbishment throughout the hotel in 2020 which unfortunately we were not able to complete due to COVID-19 and the hotel had to be closed for over 6 months which would have included all the carpets to be changed in the hotel. Our hotel was built in 1822 and during the original refurbishment, all the original floorboards were kept which resulted in some rooms and corridors being at a slight slant. Most guests like the quirkiness of the building but I completely understand that this may not be the case for everyone. I have passed your comments and pictures to the housekeeping manager to investigate and ensure that the team completes a more thorough cleaning of the bedrooms. I am also sorry that you felt the team did not listen to your comments. I have spoken with all the members of staff that were on duty on the day of arrival and apart from the shower door (which as you have mentioned maintenance did go and fix for you immediately), no other issues were mentioned regarding the bedroom and I am very sorry that these were not raised during the stay so we could rectify immediately. We do not advertise to have Nespresso machines in our bedrooms, these facilities are only advertised for the Privilege King rooms and Suites, and on this occasion, you have booked a City Pad room. I am also sorry that you were disturbed by external noise. We are located in the liveliest areas of Nottingham city center, surrounded by bars, restaurants, and late nightlife. Should any guest request to have a quiet room in advance we are honest to say that (especially on a Saturday night) this is not possible. We do try honour requests made in advance for allocating a bedroom on a higher floor and away from the street noise. We have been placing earplugs in the rooms for some time to try and help guests achieve a great night's sleep. We do not wish for any of our guests to stay in a bedroom they are not comfortable with for any reason and our team would have been more than happy to show you alternative bedroom options. Should you wish to return to us in the future which I very much do hope so, please contact us direct. Kindest Regards Sabrin Daoud Operations Manager
Read more
steve D wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
6 middle aged blokes on a night out in Nottingham. We did the excellent Virtual Reality laser games, had fantastic burgers at Annie's then drinks at pubs and clubs around town, We stayed at the Mercure where the reception staff were brilliant - sorted bag care till check in, efficiently sorted our rooms (which were clean and cosy - awesome showers!!), fab breakfast and service when heads were sore and needed TLC, and checkout with the same smiles and good humour.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Phone up and ask
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Butler, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear H9816VWsteved, Thank you so much for our chat yesterday morning and for leaving us a review. It was a pleasure to have you all with us and I am truly glad you had a good stay and you managed what Nottingham has to offer. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again with us. Kindest Regards Sabrin Daoud Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nottingham comfort inn, comfort inn nottingham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottinghamshireNottingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escapologic Nottingham (0.3 miles), Logiclock Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), and National Justice Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Revolution Hockley, Hungry Pumpkin, and Bistro Live Nottingham.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Nottingham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Green's Windmill (0.6 miles), Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem (0.3 miles), and Wollaton Hall and Park (2.8 miles).