We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin York

Show Prices
#15 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,417: English reviews
County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 11, 2015

My Husband and I have now stayed in Hotel Du Vin York on several occasions both with friends and on our own. This time just the two of us stayed for my Husbands birthday. When we arrived to our room the Team had left us some lovely chocolates as a welcome back to the hotel which we thought was a...

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs A
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify the areas you mentioned for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either now...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 11, 2015

Room was good, service also, but let down by the food I'm afraid, particularly the breakfast which was disappointing. The Sommelier however was very knowledgeable and suggested some great wines for us

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 516jenny
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify the areas you mentioned for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either now...

Alnwick
Reviewed February 10, 2015

This is a quality hotel which is dedicated and focused to the customer. Everything is catered for in a small but friendly environment. We stayed as a couple who were having a night away from the kids and it lived up to our expectations. The staff are on hand at every opportunity to assist where necessary or sign post you...

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 503mrd
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your visit to Hotel du Vin York. We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, so we are very glad we achieved this for your stay. We very much look forward to the opportunity of...

Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 9, 2015

I have recently returned from an overnight stay, with dinner at this hotel. The room, food and staff have prompted me to write my 1st ever online review. I could not have asked for a better birthday break, with even the manager wishing me happy birthday when we left. Our room Penfol was wonderful, spacious and bright. The bar staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet L
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your visit to Hotel du Vin York. We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, so we are very glad we achieved this for your stay. We very much look forward to the opportunity of...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2015

Warm and cosy! I need say no more! The staff are great, location is easy walking to the centre of york so all good. We go there every year and they look after us very well. Rooms are great with everything you need and the house Merlot is top notch!

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your visit to Hotel du Vin York. We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, so we are very glad we achieved this for your stay. We very much look forward to the opportunity of...

Brighton
Reviewed February 9, 2015

We stayed for one night while we were in York to go to a gig. The staff were all charming, the room comfortable and relaxing, and the lunch was tasty. We always sleep well on HduV beds and this time was no exception. Only mild complaint was that the fruit compote that came with breakfast tasted like it had some...

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spiggiewiggie
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your visit to Hotel du Vin York. We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, so we are very glad we achieved this for your stay. We very much look forward to the opportunity of...

Stourbridge
Reviewed February 9, 2015

Wonderful place, staff and location. 10 minutes walk from the main town. Loads and loads of shops with some really interesting things to nose at. Our room was something else. Huge bed, 2 flat screens atleast 45". Free standing bath and walk in shower. Would definitely recommend for couples!

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bizzel89
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify the areas you mentioned for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either now...

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 6, 2015

we went to stay for my partners 30th birthday with the Sunday stopover. The room was gorgeous. Absolutely no complaints, and I think the hotel was the perfect distance from the centre, not too far but far enough that no noise follows you home! We ate in the bistro, which was part of the deal, the food was gorgeous but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra R
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify the areas you mentioned for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either now...

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 5, 2015

Was greeted by very pleasant receptionist and the rest of the staff were just as pleasant. Room was very good super comfy bed and duvet. Super towels hot water. Robe and slippers. Wish I had been staying longer. A 10 min slow walk into town or £4 taxi if needed. Lovely building and had a lovely meal in evening in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madelaine C
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your visit to Hotel du Vin York. We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, so we are very glad we achieved this for your stay. We very much look forward to the opportunity of...

rotherham
Reviewed February 5, 2015

good stay but spoiled by room being too hot, knocking radiator and rumbling sound from unit in corridor outside room. Very limited choice on plat du jour menu. Would not go for pre paid dinner if stayed again.

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 805mrj
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify the areas you mentioned for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either now...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

687 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (319)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (170)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (358)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Browns Brothers (24)
Viewed
Dom Perignon (30)
Viewed
Krug (27)
Viewed
La Grande Dame (41)
Viewed
Moet Vintage Collection Suite (34)
Viewed
Penfolds (37)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Tattinger (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Umani Ronchi (37)
Viewed
Veuve Clicquot (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
977 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Cuisines: French, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $116 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in York
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin York staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't have Pol Roger”
 of 5 bubbles kafrins, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Go for the 'Superior Rooms' a little extra but worth the cost but if you have a deeper pocket opt for a suite, ,sublime.”
 of 5 bubbles jagojamesh, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Not above the bar!!”
 of 5 bubbles TheHoleyCheese, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Upgrade to a superior room it's well worth the additional cost.”
 of 5 bubbles 521NEILS, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the one above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles gilbertpeter, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question