We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Briar Lea Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Briar Lea Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2014

I have just spent a wonderful weekend in York with my three daughters and one of their friends to celebrate two of their birthdays. We stayed at the Briar Lee Guesthouse and were very happy with the rooms, the breakfasts, the location and the hosts. Situated on a quiet residential street 7 minutes walk from the city it was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara-C-M1
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Briar Lea Guest House has now closed. Nigel and Norma would like to thank the thousands of guests who have stayed with us over the years. The house is now a private house, and no longer a B @ B. Most of our guests have enjoyed themselves here, and some didn't , but we did our best for you all....

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2014

Excellent, clean very nice little B&B.. yes rooms a little small, but what on earth do you want for a central very good value B&B. We stayed in 2012 and were looked after from arrival to departure. Lovely breakfast, what I consider to be 'clean' food (ie not swimming in grease) and loads of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chezzy48
Reviewed September 18, 2014

My 10-yrs-old daughter and I decided to book at this guest house because of the good reviews read on Tripadvisor. I had great expectations about this accomodation, and I'm happy to say that everything was exactly like we figured it out, or even better! Nigel and Norma made us feel very welcome since our very first knock on their door....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
Sacramento, California
Reviewed September 17, 2014

This Guest House is in a very good location. It's an easy walk to both the train station and into the walled area of town. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to each. The proprietors were very nice and helpful. They even allowed us to store our bags there for a short time after we checked out. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1ParisLuv
Chilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have been to this hotel twice and both times nothing was a problem to Nigel and his wife the breakfasts were very good i go to York every may for the dante meeting and hopefully will be going next may also this is the 1st place i will try and book

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nevdavies2014
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. I would certainly recommend it. The owners are very friendly, and nothing is to much for them. When we parked our car, we didn't have to move it again until we were leaving. It is just a five minutes walk. The hotel is very clean, got everything you need and the breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank But2nnose
Coppell, Texas
Reviewed July 13, 2014

On our recent whirlwind trip through the UK, my daughter, mother and I stayed in 6 different guest houses and small hotel/B&Bs. Briar Lea surpassed them all! The family room on the top floor was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and very quiet even though facing the road. The owners, Nigel and Norma, were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gnatsmom
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Briar Lea, and even more pleased that we were the best place you stayed in on your trip to the UK. What you understand is that a guesthouse like ours, is not a hotel, and is run by just the two of us, so we can't offer the 24 hour reception, and...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We chose Briar Lea for two things - car park space, near to town centre and the fact we could check in at 11.30am. We were not disappointed - we had room 5 which was excellent. The information folder provided in the room was really helpful covering all aspects. The building was spotlessly clean and the breakfast excellent. Nigel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheshireChallenger
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

We always try to have the rooms ready for guests by 1130am, because we know some guests arrive early, and want to get on with all the great things York has to offer. Parking is included in our price too, unlike many hotels who charge extra for parking and breakfast. We are pleased you commented on the cleanliness. This is...

Barrowford, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We recently stayed in Briar Lea and had a warm welcome but have to admit we were a little disappointed in the room. We were on the ground floor, right by the dining room. The room was very small and the shower room door hit the end of the bed when opened. The shower pressure was also very poor. Because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iliketogoawanderin
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry Briar Lea failed to meet your expectations, but when we asked you at check out if everything was ok, you said it was, so we are surprised you were unable to tell us at the time about your experience. Our ground floor double room is actually requested very regularly , because guests...

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very happy with this guest house. Great location, 10 minutes walking time to centre and river, tastefully decorated room, we had the double room in room 5and more than enough variety for breakfast. We love York and will book here again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don W
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you staying at Briar Lea. We hope to meet you again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#49 of 206 in York
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beech House
Beech House
#52 of 206 in York
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#67 of 206 in York
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 206 in York
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 206 in York
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Briar Lea Guest House

Address: 8 Longfield Terrace, York YO30 7DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Lea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Briar Lea Guest House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Briar Lea Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't choose Room 1.”
 of 5 bubbles 1ParisLuv, Sep 17, 2014 | Read review
“Approx 10 mins walk from railway station”
 of 5 bubbles nevdavies2014, Aug 11, 2014 | Read review
“Both rooms we have stayed in, have been brilliant.”
 of 5 bubbles But2nnose, Jul 20, 2014 | Read review
“We had Room 5 at the rear of house which was great.”
 of 5 bubbles CheshireChallenger, Jul 8, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the 1st or top floor. Avoid the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles iliketogoawanderin, Jul 7, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question