We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Goldsmiths Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Goldsmiths Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 1, 2015

Stayed here dec 31. Great warm welcome when we arrived.Guesthouse was lovely and warm and our room was lovely perfect for what we wanted.Just a 5-10 min stroll along the river into York which is beautiful and peaceful. Will def be stopping here again and would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billytiger0109
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 15, 2014

We decided to go and see a concert at the Barbican, York and to stay overnight. My wife tried lots of places in York for a weekend stay in Christmas season - York was full! Luckily she managed to book us into Goldsmiths last minute.....it was lovely. At the risk of repeating what others have said, we had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dick h
Surrey
Reviewed November 30, 2014

I needed a room for one night in York at short notice as I was asked to work at the NRM. Got this via LateBookers.com. Very good location near centre of York (walk along river bank) and NRM (walk over river footbridge). Got a warm welcome on arrival, comfortable room with tea facilities on the first floor front. A good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TandRSurrey
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2014

We arrived early for a two night stay, just hoping to be able to park up and then go and look around York. We where met with a warm welcome and shown where to park up (off of the road right opposite the B&B.). Our room was already ready so we where able to check in straight away. We where...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jon_crane
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed October 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in September.Host was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast had good variety and was well presented. We had the double room on the ground floor. Room was warm but we opened window to fix that. Ensuite bathroom a bit noisy but not a big issue. It was a lovely 10 minute walk along the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol Y
Reviewed September 17, 2014

I've paid for a 4star b/b and got 1 star the room was damp and had a shower very cold water no internet I tried to get help the husband very rude breakfast very poor just go to a hotel that what ill do next time rubbish service

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank phil n
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

i have been waiting for your review to appear after the comments you put in our visitors book so i can reply to them, you said could not get the internet i am sorry about that but we did try and help you with it with no success, all other guests since then have had no trouble ,you also complained...

Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Visted York for a long weekend as a birthday treat for my mom. Went by train, however parking was available and offered if needed (useful), the location was perfect, less than 10 minutes from the train station and a lovely stroll (<10 mins)into York centre. Set in a quiet road its a peaceful setting, room was basic but had everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for your review sorry your mum was disappointed that there was no decaf coffee in her room i do have loose decaf so if she had asked i could have given her some ,hope to see you again if you visit york .

Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights whilst exploring York. Having arrived early at 10 AM, we were hoping just to drop our bags off, however our room was ready and we were made to feel extremely welcome. A car parking space was found for us and we were provided with a map and directions to the city centre. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Carol
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for posting such a good review of your stay with us and the bonus was you submitting the photos as well it was very kind of you,we are pleased you enjoy your stayed with us and hope to see you again if you come to york

Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Cracking wee guesthouse minutes from station and town centre, very welcoming and very clean, room a tad on small size but more than adequate, the cooked breakfast was delish!!!! all in all a great find, would definitely recommend

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SbpAlgn
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the trouble to write such a good review of our guest house we do appreciate it and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2014

What a lovely ,clean, comfortable welcoming guest house, better than any hotel. Rooms are clean ensuite, with wifi, hair dryer,toiletries .Breakfast is absolutely fabulous , full English is best I have had, plenty of tea coffee and toast. Susan is delightful with great sense of humour and very friendly. Very central 7 min walk to city centre along the river...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BRITOK
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a fabulous review for us it is very much appreciated ,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Beech House
Beech House
#53 of 206 in York
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#45 of 206 in York
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 206 in York
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lawrance York
The Lawrance York
#6 of 50 in York
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#17 of 206 in York
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Goldsmiths Guest House

Address: 18 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldsmiths Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Goldsmiths Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Goldsmiths Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Can only recommend the room we used due to no other information.”
 of 5 bubbles Thehotelcat, May 18, 2014 | Read review
“One of few hotels I've found in York with a single room and rate to match”
 of 5 bubbles JCLee2014, May 11, 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles pooliemad, Aug 18, 2013 | Read review
“we had room 1 and 4 great rooms room 4 1 single bed and double great for small family room 1 lovely double bed”
 of 5 bubbles lovelylynda, May 3, 2013 | Read review
“I cannot comment on other rooms but the ones at the front would face the railway line so maybe a room elsewhere in the Guest House would be better. I have heard that room 5 is nice and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Fairywings56, Apr 19, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question