We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,068 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,063: English reviews
Worcester
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The accommodation was spotlessly clean and fresh with an excellent location right in the heart of York. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent - all you can eat for 8 quid. Spot on.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tort01se
County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good hotel, good location. All rooms were clean. We were greeted by friendly staff when we arrived. I have read some reviews about the club right nearby causing a lot of noise but our room looked out directly onto the club and we had a fine nights sleep. It's not really an issue. Would come back here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank icekidd123
Yorkshire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a 2 night break in january. The place is very basic but the staff were very helpful and friendly. Beds very comfortable.The breakfast was good and set us up for a day of shopping! Location is ideal for shops, bars and restaurants. Perfect if you're in a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binshky
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their time with us and we are really pleased to learn that this was achieved and that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and your experience in our bar cafe. It is also our aim to offer accommodation in convenient locations and...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ok, firstly the good: the hotel's location is fantastic in terms of accessibility to all that the city has to offer and the staff we're approachable and helpful. Now for the bad. This is one of the dirtiest hotels I've ever visited and considering I've travelled extensively for business and leisure, that is no mean feat. Noise from revellers is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geemcee
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found the staff to be helpful during your stay. We aim to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests so we are sorry to learn that you found your room to be too...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great value and location. The hotel and room was clean and comfortable. Liked the nice touch of having extra teas and coffee down at reception to help yourself. Street noise did wake us was to be expected but had a issue with the window couldn't close it. We also had the breakfast this was ok but I booked it online...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Number1lifeguard
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the breakfast service. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback such...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fab location, less than a 10 minute walk from the train station and close to Fibbers were we were going to watch a band. Also near to restaurants and bars. The staff were welcoming and allowed us to store our luggage until our room was ready. We were on the third floor, it was a good sized room and it...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elmreed
Osmotherley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel dirty, wrong room type allocated, no towels, toilet not clean, unfriendly and unhelpful staff. I've stayed nicer places for less than £50. Having stayed here before because of the location, I do not intend to return, it has significantly deteriorated despite having been refurbished.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AC9296
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This travelodge feels a little more central that the one in Picadilly - it is certainly nearest of the two to the railway station. Check in took a while as it was a busy time but not a problem. Nice to have the luggage room as this meant we could drop off our cases in the morning and enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JandK2
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to hear you found your overall time with us to be positive and of good value. Feedback such as yours is invaluable and we will ensure the hotel receives a copy of your comments.Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we hope to welcome you back...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of York, really easy to get to from the train station. Reception staff were great and made themselves available for any help we may need. The beds are so comfortable, I slept amazingly well. Spotlessly clean, refreshments provided and the shower room was fantastic. unbelievable value for money

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay to all of our guests so we’re pleased that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the staff to be friendly during your stay. We will be sure to pass your comments onto the hotel team and we hope to see you again soon.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had two night stay lift not working but was informed before we turned up so that was fine.. but the hygiene of the hotel carpets there was fresh sick stains not correctly cleaned and smelt .. bed linen smelt damp and mould forming in the bathroom noisy outside obviously not hotels fault . Stayed there 3 years ago was nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trishaf71
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from The Social Media Team. at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

May we thank you for your review of York Central Micklegate Travelodge. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as cleanliness and room service are the basics of our promise to our customers and this is far from the high standards we strive to provide. Please accept our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 46 in York
1,526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $51 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Travelodge York Central Micklegate staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Hereford, United Kingdom
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Wakefield, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge York Central Micklegate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“anything about ground floor is OK”
 of 5 bubbles phils1969, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“So close to the city centre, it would be difficult to find a better value hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 230wendys, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“No because I may not get it next time. Only joking we like front over micklegate”
 of 5 bubbles 98gillians, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for the top floor overlooking the carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles DouglasB390, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room not overlooking George Hudson Street where Popworld is situated.”
 of 5 bubbles 24marshallp, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay