We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chelmsford Place Guest House

Show Prices
#17 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chelmsford Place Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 377: English reviews
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed on 3rd Dec for 1 night to watch snooker semis. Lovely place very welcoming couple. Room a bit small but very clean. Noise from road traffic was obvious. Didn't sleep great. Yorks a lovely place would definitely come again. Breakfast was lovely and quality ingredients

Helpful?
Thank mikrpn
High hesleden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 night in room 2 and cannot emphasise enough how lovely it was. Hosts very helpful and made to feel at home. Room comfortable, immaculate and everything you need. Breakfast delicious, good produce and offered plenty of everything. Car parking provided which is brilliant in York and only 15 min walk to centre. Will Definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Andrea, Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the city of York. Hope it was a nice change from the Lake District lol. We would love to see you both again and hopefully with your daughter, perhaps in the New Year. Take Care... More 

Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Guesthouse is a short taxi ride from York Station, but you can walk or go by your own car. Janine greeted us as if she had known us for years. Explained what happened for breakfast, the menu then gave us a guide to York marking where the guesthouse was. We were up one flight of stairs and our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirleyp153
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Shirley, Many many thanks for taking the time to post your brilliant review and kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you all and we sincerely hope to see you again next year. We hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Year. Take Care Janine & Steve More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visitors to York, do yourselves a favour and stay at the Chelmsford Place guest house. I had no preconceptions about the place & we booked on the strength of previous reviews. Now i've stayed in hotels from the Isle of Skye to Havana & believe me I've seen all sides of the story,the good,bad & ugly, I loved this place,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark_H3722014
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Mark, WOW, what can we say "Thank you so much" for your wonderful reviews and kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our guest house and that we fulfilled your expectations. Being a small guest house does allow us time for chats with our guests and if we can help in any way we... More 

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had 2 nights off peak. It was very convenient for the bus to town (just across the road) at £1/2 a trip. Alternatively, it's a 10 min walk. The room was clean and tidy and bathroom was good. The only down side is that breakfast is served from 8am till 9am. Rather early for people trying to relax. Check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are so pleased that you found our guest house "homely", being a traditional family run guest house we do like our guests to feel relaxed and at ease. The breakfast hour is the norm in most guest houses, we have people who want early breakfasts and people... More 

Corsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and found it to be a very friendly and comfortable place. The breakfasts were extremely good and fulfilling. Only reason for four stars was that the wifi was not working for our mobiles and laptop which was frustrating trying to access Internet and emails etc. Otherwise a highly recommended place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank dave r
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Dave, Wow, that was quick lol you only left yesterday. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, however are surprised that during our many conversations you never mentioned the wifi, we would have happily done a re-boot on the system and that should have sorted any problems out. We have the new BT Hub that you are... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My spouse and I spent three nights with Steve (Janine was on a trip away) in September 2016. I booked directly with Janine by email, and her replies and responses to my questions and reservation request was immediate. The guest house is an easy walk to the center of York. Or, for £1, you can catch the #7 bus right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet H
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Janet, Thank you so much for your brilliant review and kind words, so sorry that I did not meet you, however it looks like Steve looked after you especially with his breakfasts :-). We are pleased that you enjoyed the gluten free provisions, we do try to ensure that all guests diet requirements are met, with our special sausages,... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016

We took ourselves off for a couple of days to the beautiful city of York, and stayed at this wonderful B&B. A lovely Friendly welcome, informative about sights to see and walks to take. Our room was very comfortable, very clean, and well serviced. The breakfast was filling, and made with good quality products, all served with a smile. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tess C
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Tess, Thank you sooo much for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we are really very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you both again and hopefully in the not too distant future, (remember the wallet before you set off lol) It is meeting nice people like yourselves... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel very friendly staff and only a stones throw from the town centre... rooms very nice and clean and the breakfasts were lovely with plenty to choose from....good parking facilities... can't wait to go back

Helpful?
1 Thank Hgvdriver1970
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry you did not leave your name however, many many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review and kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and breakfasts (lol) we would love to see you again (hopefully in the not too distant future). Take care Janine & Steve More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016

This is a lovely place to stay if you are visiting York. It was an easy walk to the city centre. But that's not the best part; Steve and Janine were a great source of information about the city. The room was quiet and peaceful and the breakfast delicious!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dale L
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Dale, Thank you so much for your brilliant review, it is really nice for us to meet nice people like yourselves... :-) We would love to see you both again and hopefully it will not be too far in the future. Take care Janine & Steve More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
840 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 206 in York
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 206 in York
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Paragon Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $64 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chelmsford Place Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Luton, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chelmsford Place Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“if you prefer a quieter room ask for one at the back. People with poorer mobility may benefit from a room on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Shirleyp153, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms at the back are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles dalel143, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“We were in the atic room and was very nice and confortable, with a lot of light”
 of 5 bubbles 22Bego22, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“Request lower down rooms if a max of 2 flights of stairs would be a difficulty for you. Call directly to get best prices!”
 of 5 bubbles MPadd, Aug 14, 2016 | Read review
“Upper rooms are nice but a number of stairs to climb”
 of 5 bubbles FSAUGUST, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay