We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Holiday Inn York

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,081: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Reception desk was chaotic. I was given a room number and a plastic key for that room. I entered this bedroom and to my amazement it was already occupied by another couple. I returned to the Reception desk to sort out the problem. The receptionist could not understand what had happened. I eventually got another room. I thought that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank geraldmarriner
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were booked here for our annual trip to York races last weekend. Everyone knows this is a busy weekend in York. You'd think the management would plan for this and have plenty of staff on. But no, unfortunately not. I'll start with check in - two staff on who took approx 15 minutes to check in each couple -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our room was pleasant and comfortable and the small bathroom modern and clean. The hotel is convenient for the racecourse and the centre of York. Unfortunately the room we were in had a door to the adjecent room which was essentially not soundproofed and so we could hear the conversations as though the two men next door were in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank jandGald
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very expensive presumably because it's school holidays. Three weeks ago it cost less than half what it cost this weekend. Nothing extra for the increase in cost. Minimum amount of tea coffee etc. Bathroom toiletries not even enough for two people. Very busy but could have done more. Breakfast was good. This hotel is in a good position if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank JEAN F
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've stayed at Holiday Inn York on several occasions so had no problem deciding to book a Three day stay. Our room was an executive room and has all we needed no bath but a great shower. The Hotel is located outside the main city near the racecourse with a nice Pub (Fox and Roman) just over the road if... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisandbarbara
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel nice and clean, staff are pleasant the issue was the evening meal. We were staying as we had attended the Button Hook Society annual event and the evening meal was in the hotel and had been pre-booked from a menu. The whole meal was one of the worst I have ever had in a hotel. The starter was mushroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin Y

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another fabulous stay. Group of us stayed up here on business and as always the service was spot on. Staff were friendly and polite and always smiling. We only had dinner on the first night to sample the new menu which was delicious. Glad to see the bathrooms were all done up and the shower was amazing. A big thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andybabsi
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I telephoned the hotel early one morning as my sister was staying and it was her birthday. Otis was very accommodating in arranging chocolates and a card for her and even emailed me a photo of what they looked like in her room. I can honestly say I have never experienced such fabulous customer service - thank you

Helpful?
Thank K C
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear K C, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review of our hotel.  I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly to hear that you were offered excellent customer service by Otis. It is always a delight to hear when our team members have delivered outstanding customer service, as... More 

Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel .great room .nice and clean . Bar was good. staff friendly and welcoming. Definitely go again . There was a car park which was good and we got a park which was good too . Bathroom was clean and it had a bath which is good. 😀😀😡👍👍👍nice view out off the room as well .

Helpful?
Thank Anna S
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear Anna S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us your review and recommendation of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and were able to make the most of the amenities we have to offer.  I am particularly pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very tired. The bed is like a caravan bed with a very thin mattress - and I stayed on the executive floor. The lady at reception on checkin was very lovely though. Breakfast was a shambles - it was not ready by the time I had to leave at 06:45 (despite breakfast starting at 06:30). Avoid this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherWill... E
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear ChristopherWill...E, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that one of our receptionists stood out for you during your stay. However please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to room conditions. I am pleased to confirm that we have now completed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 47 in York
3.5 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $95 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, IHG, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay