We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn York

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,099: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Despite it being a busy period due to race week the staff could not be faulted for their efforts and their courtesy. They are, however, badly let down by the standard of the hotel. The furnishings and decor are more akin to a 1970's council tenement block. The bathroom was the smallest I have witnessed. But the low point was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saljack
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Wonderful helpful staff. Lovely room. Good value for money. Near racecourse so a little way out of York but good transport links into the city. Breakfast was varied and certainly something for everyone. Would certainly stay here again in the future.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katephus
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a night and our room was on the second floor. When we arrived at our room, the sofa bed was made up, for what reason we don't as the room was only booked for two adults. Went to reception and asked to have the sofa bed removed. The room was a good size but definitely requires refurbishment.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larnel
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in despererately in need of a revamp throughout. So overpriced in comparison to Premier Inn. Booked because of the races but much further walk than The Marriott where we stayed last year. Did not get the type of room I booked. Was offered an alternative eventually but no good for my husband as was on the top... More 

Helpful?
Thank 131frances49
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear 131frances49, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay did not match your expectations. I am pleased to confirm that we are currently in the middle of our full bedroom refurbishment which we anticipate will be completed by November. We also do have two lifts which operate to every level to... More 

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed her on the 7th August 16 for 4 nights. When we arrived the staff at reception were lovely, they made sure that the extra things i had ordered for my room was okay. We were made to feel very welcomed and nothing was to much bother for them. I would like to say a big thank you to Nor... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigmacb2015
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear bigmacb2015, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second stay here with us and found our staff fantastic.  I am particularly pleased to read the lovely comments for Nor, Emily and George, who are each valued members of our team. Our team... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed here and cannot complain about the friendly and helpful staff or the cleanliness of the room. However, our room definitely needed refurbishing. The chair seat was broken and the veneer on the desk unit was peeling off.The carpet was shabby too. We were visiting family nearby so cannot comment on the food.I put all these points in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear Alison C, Thank you for staying at the hotel and submitting your review. We work hard to make your stay comfortable and pleasant so we are pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness and wonderful staff. I appreciate you bringing your concerns about the need for refurbishment particularly in the rooms and furnishings. This... More 

Somerset uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights. Breakfast was terrible , cold fatty greasy , coffee that would stain your teeth should you drink more than 2 cups, it's reasonably priced , and that's what you get , nothing special , walked into York centre , taxi back was £7 .

Helpful?
Thank Sue A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear Sue A, Thank you for providing us feedback from your recent stay. I am please to read that our location was convenient for the purpose of your travel. However, it is regrettable that the food selection at breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this has caused. I will certainly discuss... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

6/8/16 We stayed overnight in the Holiday inn York which is 10 minutes from the centre. as part of a hen party package. We were very pleased with the standard of the rooms, and facilities, everything was spotless and comfortable. Staff were friendly efficient and helpful.We enjoyed a full breakfast, and there was plenty tochoose from, breakfast is serveduntil 11.00... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fizzbomboo
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I worked here in 1998! when it was a posthouse and Not only was is one of the best places to work Then it is one of the best places to stay in York NOW! I'm Not being biased this place was and Still is amazing it deserves all the credit it gets! the staff work their nuts off and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erec S
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear Erec S, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review and recommendation of our hotel.  I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and I am particularly pleased to read of your praise for our staff. It's something our team takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family stayed here as part of a Globus tour. This hotel room is dated and small. The bathroom is tiny! You have to walk in, squeeze to the side to shut the door. The toilet was dirty. Good thing I had Lysol. There was hair in the tub, on the floor, and on the back of the door. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank purpleflowe
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear purpleflowe, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Please rest assured that these issues have been discussed with our housekeeping team and will be looked into to ensure the high standards we strive for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 47 in York
3.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
0.1 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $98 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay