We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge York Central

Show Prices
#29 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

798 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge York Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 794: English reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

Simple Travelodge no frills it is what it says on the tin. Very clean and good information from reception. Had a great weekend mainly drinking, eating and shopping in York. Perfect location to stay very central to everywhere 5 to 10 min walk. Weatherspoons joined onto Travelodge was a bonus for breakfast and cheap drinks before heading out and about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Newcastle
Reviewed November 6, 2015

Very comfortable stay, room was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Idealy situated and next door to Wetherspoons. No parking but discounted secure parking only five minutes away, would stay again

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cas425
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stop for lunch there last month. It was clean, spacious and had a very accommodating staff. The menu was reasonably varied and the prices were fair. Would be happy to return there anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johncouzigou
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2015

On arrival back to my room around 2200 after a works meal, the hotel was very noisy inside, metal clanging, the reception were unhelpful and did not really offer any explanation as to the cause, the noise continued until the early hours, I had a horrible nights sleep and will never recommend or stay here!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie F
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Rosie. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with us was affected by noise. At all of our Travelodge Hotels we ensure we have staff patrolling the corridors through the night at 2 or 3 hourly intervals, to ensure noise within the Hotel is kept to a minimum. If customers...

England
Reviewed November 1, 2015

Stayed here for one night as we were visiting the Barbican which is just a short distance away. Location is also good for city centre, also a short walk away. We found the staff friendly & helpful. We were on the third floor which was reasonably quiet for a Friday night. All in all good value for city accommodation.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CornellEngland
Reviewed November 1, 2015

York is such a beautiful city and our room was reasonably sized and pleasant at first, however my bed was covered in hair! It was literally like a dog has been sleeping on it. What disappointed me further was that there was no free wifi, luckily i used the free restaurant wifi next door to the hotel, and luckily i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aisling T
Ipswich
Reviewed November 1, 2015

We choose travel lodge as it was one of the few places we could get an affordable family room. You get what you pay for though. We all found the beds uncomfortable, especially the camp beds. Why a hotel of this size and location doesn't have 'permanent' family rooms is odd? Surely there is demand for this? The sheets were...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2015

Clean ,welcoming just a bit too noisy for my liking,probably OK round the hotel.Me and my wife was in room 225 alongside of the main road,the traffic was all night long,people passing shouting,beer barrels being moved around in the early hours,so if you get a room beware of that area,not good.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2015

The York Central Travelodge offers excellent value for money right in the centre of York. The rooms are modern, spotlessly clean and receptionists were very helpful. Next to Weatherspoons for lovely breakfast!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nab23
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2015

Excellent. Room was clean and well maintained. Bed was so comfortable. Staff very friendly and attentive. Wetherspoons next door which is a winner for breakfast. Little bit of noise from the pub when windows were open but nothing to worry about

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
1,748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 45 in York
1,822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central

Address: 90 Piccadilly, York YO1 9NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: $66 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge York Central 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge York Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Hotel York
Central Travelodge York
Travel Lodge York
York Travel Lodge
York Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Travelodge York Central staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge York Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room not backing on to pub”
Wotsthisletsgo, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“My daughter and I occupied rooms 200 and 201. These were next to and electric cupboard which buzzed off and on all night.”
rableather1314, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
ellee2014, Mar 17, 2017 | Read review
“Check the cleanliness thoroughly.”
DKVB, Feb 2, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms can be a little noisy facing the hotel across the road - due to staff outside smoking and chatting!”
R5325DGpatriciab, Jan 22, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question