We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Churchill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Churchill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Churchill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,611: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Can't believe some of the most recent comments. Are they staying in a different hotel.? I have stayed a good few times - staff always attentive and polite (and a good source of local knowledge - the young ones know about eating and drinking out - the old guy knows where to see the best history stuff) I' ve always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian T
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sebastian T, We thank you for your great review and are so glad that you've always enjoyed your stays. ''Can't believe some of the most recent comments. Are they staying in a different hotel?'' - we can't pretend that we always get things spot on hence there are some poor reviews dotted amongst the good ones. We value all...

Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is great, really good value for money, one of the best restaurants we have been to and the service was excellent. Some of the rooms are a little tight but I'd rather have a slightly smaller room with a fantastic hotel and restaurant than a large room with a bad hotel and facilities. I would recommend and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Honestreview1985
telford
Reviewed February 18, 2015

I would seriously question the veracity of some of these positive reviews. Quite simply, one of the worst places I have ever visited. Rooms are unbelievably small and noisy, and many staff have an attitude. If you have a choice of staying here or sleeping on a park bench, go with the bench.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank harveydo
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harveydo, We are truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us 4 years ago which you reviewed on this site at the time. We are always eternally grateful to those guests who have enjoyed their stays with us and who then spare their precious time to share their experiences on here. We don't think it wholly appropriate...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 18, 2015

After going to university in York and knowing the city well, me and my partner decided for a trip away with my parents. We booked the rooms together in the same name. My parents, who arrived after us were given the superior room as an upgrade and we were put in a family room at complete opposite ends of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank La11062010
Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

Just completed a 2 night mini break where I can safely say we had the most appalling stay I have had in recent times. We checked in to discover we were given a room without any floor space, a bath or anywhere for our 3 year old to stay. After requesting another room we were given a bath but still...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sara M
JohnDWallace, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara M, I am sorry that your bedroom didn't live up to your expectations but I have double checked your booking through Expedia/Hotels.com and you did actually book a Standard Double Bedroom for the three of you to share rather than the more suitable Family Bedroom for your stay (I presume that these were no longer available lastminute since...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 16, 2015

We have just had a weekend stay at this hotel and the room was very small and that was supposed to be superior room. Also can't understand why you pay for parking when the parking is on hotel grounds. Rip off springs to mind as the room was expensive. If you are planning a stay in the beautiful city of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 15, 2015

When we arrived the receptionist kindly allowed us to park before our allotted check in time. On return to the hotel we were shown to our room which was nice and modern, but small. The hotel were refitting a fire panel, which we understand is necessary, but a forewarning on booking that this work would be undertaken would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie L
Harlow
Reviewed February 12, 2015

Terribly disappointed with the experience at this hotel. Check in was smooth and was led to a small double bed room for an overnight stay. Was a little surprised at how small it was but thought we could manage. Problem 1: no heating Problem 2: renovation on going in the room next door with lots of banging. Informed reception immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank awhhaa
neilandlucy
Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel (we also had a small reception here when we got married) and it is still a great hotel. The staff are lovely and very helpful. We stayed on a Sunday night and found the rates to be very good value. I would always recommend booking a four poster bed suite if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilandlucy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 7, 2015

Stayed here with a living social voucher so it was excellent value for money. We had a ground floor room to the side of the hotel. It was a decent size with a double bed, armchair, desk and built in wardrobe. Bathroom only had a shower but it was a luxury spa shower, best I have ever seen. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elke M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

667 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (404)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Other (204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Other (70)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (40)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#18 of 46 in York
1,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Piano Restaurant
The Piano Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $87 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Churchill Hotel staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Churchill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose one with a view to the front.”
  • Bedroom View
 of 5 bubbles markeey8, 4 days ago | Read review
“Bunker rooms are amazing, but if you like a window or a view, request this before hand”
 of 5 bubbles 304ashleym, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“If you want a bath don't have room 115. Tiny bathroom with shower but well equiped.”
 of 5 bubbles SouthernScot2017, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Bunker rooms in the basement”
 of 5 bubbles PaulT090763, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“I stayed in a family room so had loads of space - can't comment on other types of room.”
 of 5 bubbles K4500BUdavidb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question