We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Show Prices
#21 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 581: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here as a gift from my parents for his 50th birthday weekend. We stayed in the 4 poster room, which is a little on the tired side but that added to the character, very clean fresh towels every day. We stayed for dinner both nights and it was great, even down to the fact the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hazel h
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel H I am so glad you had a great time with us and enjoyed your visit to York. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and hope to see you in the new year. Yours Chirs

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 27, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times now, twice with family and once with my partner. I lived in York for three years whilst I was there for university, and I can say that this hotel is well worth the money (there's a small pool, and an excellent/generous breakfast), at such close proximity to York. The fact you can walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WolfOf221B
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wolfof221b Thank you once again for using the hotel when you are in York. It is one of the best parts of the job to welcome returning guests. I hope to see you soon. Chris

Reviewed November 19, 2014

Stayed 2 nights over the weekend of the 14th & 15th November. This was our 3rd visit over the last 12 months and yet again we had a great time. The hotel is ideally located for a 10 minute stroll into York city centre or alternatively in the other direction a 10 minutes walk to the racecourse. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RippondenDave, Thank you for your very kind review It was a pleasure as always to welcome you back. I do hope you both have a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to seeing you in the New Year. Would just like to say thank you for your quick tip and yes all people have to do is phone. Yours...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights bed and breakfast. The room was a little on the small side, however it was adequate for this visit. We would come back again, but would want a room with a little more breathing space. The site showed pictures of rooms that all looked bigger than ours, so we would hope...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank karon_duke
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karon_duke, Thank you for your review. I would be delighted to place you in a bigger room the next time you come but please give me a call make the booking so that I can cater for your needs. I am a little puzzled to why you had problems with the wi-fi in that room as the router is...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2014

Stayed at the Kilima for one night. The first thing to say is that all the staff we met were excellent, friendly and helpful. We had a good dinner at a good price and the breakfast was very good. We had booked a suite as a treat and a four poster bed. The bedroom was quite cramped though clean, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AVB159
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AVB159 I would just like to say thank you for all the nice comments regarding both the food in the hotel and the staff. I am however sorry that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations regarding your room. I have just replayed to Geoffrey T and all I can say is that great things are...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three nights for a short break in November. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The staff were very willing and friendly. The hotel is in an old house that has been extended. The dining room is in what would have been the cellar down some steep stairs. The brick work is partially exposed and there are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoffrey T
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey T Great title “Give it a whirl!” and I agree with you more should. The problem is we are full most of the time, which is great for me but means so many are missing out. I do wish sometimes that people would book more in advance to avoid disappointment. The owner and I have taken on board...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my son during half term. The hotel had been recommended by a work colleague and we will definitely return in the new year. The room was great lovely four poster bed and plenty of space. From the moment we arrived the staff made us so welcome and nothing was to much for them, there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bamba12310
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bamba12310 Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We are just about to put a new menu in and until I looked at your review had taken the Fish cakes off but I have now put them back on. I was pleased to see your son had enjoyed the pool I know we are very lucky to...

UK
Reviewed November 1, 2014

My husband and I booked the Kilima hotel for a short anniversary break and were generally happy with our 3 night stay. We weren't put off by the distance from town, it was certainly handy to have a hotel with a free car park. Took a brisk 10mis to reach the town walls then another 5-10mins to reach the centre...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BuddyColUk
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Buddycoluk, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was pleased to see that you had in the main enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken on board your comments and will be addressing them. On the subject of the broken seat in steam room we have looked into this problem with many companies but none seems...

york, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2014

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor G
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 29, 2014

Only a 15 minute walk into York through the Micklegate this hotel is ideal - it has loads of parking, good sized rooms, old style character, Breakfasts were good, service excellent. On a bus route into town and taxis we hired were less than £6.00

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AlisdairMcRae
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alisdair McRae I think you have summed up in a few words exactly the hotel that we are. Set in the perfect location not too far out but not too close to the city centre. We are very lucky to be on two main bus routes into the city and as you so rightly say a taxi is only...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

239 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (158)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (33)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $96 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room at the back of the hotel as the front overlooks the road.”
 of 5 bubbles jansteve_8, 3 days ago | Read review
“Book direct with hotel and talk outlining your preferences.”
 of 5 bubbles 991stevec991, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“book direct - for free parking - otherwise its £5”
 of 5 bubbles mah18632016, Jan 27, 2017 | Read review
“The four posted suites are so full of character from days gone by”
 of 5 bubbles RabB365, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms seem quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 394ara, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question