We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton York

Save
Share
St. Maurices Road, York YO31 7JA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/01/21
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (269)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (34)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 07/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton York
Updated 07/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#44 of 49 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy a relaxing stay in the heart of the city at DoubleTree by Hilton York. Our prime location overlooks the historic City Walls and is within walking distance to York Minster and other famous attractions. We look forward to welcoming you with a warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Settle into one of our 143 air-conditioned guest rooms featuring a 49-inch flat-screen HDTV, complimentary WiFi, work desk and safe. Treat yourself to one of our suites for extra space to relax and upgraded amenities such as a coffeemaker, bathrobe, slippers and free on-site parking. Start each day at The Yorkshire Bar and Grill with our freshly prepared breakfast buffet. Enjoy an array of local favorites, light bites and incredible seasonal dishes served in the courtyard garden or beautifully designed main restaurant. Room service is available for a relaxing meal in the comfort of your guest room or suite.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
692Reviews50Q+A88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 202
  • 175
  • 136
  • 101
  • 78
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gerry L wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Poor room service, inadequate parking, untrained staff, I wish I had used travel lodge or premier inn . The only thing going for this hotel is location, definitely not what you would expect from Hilton😡
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
NickiFaulks wrote a review Nov 2020
Warwickshire, United Kingdom25 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We were due to stay for 4 nights from Sunday 1st Nov, however due to the new COVID-19 lockdown we were advised on arrival that we could only stay for 3 nights, understandable and not their fault. Then we were told we could only stay for 2 nights but they would move us to The Hilton again not their fault. The staff at the DoubleTree by Hilton were amazing and so accommodating, helpful and apologetic. They even paid for the taxi to take us to The Hilton. The rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton are beautiful, we couldn’t fault anything, our deluxe double was huge and the bathroom was very modern. The staff at breakfast were lovely especially Becky. The only downside is the parking at £13 per night, but it was easy enough to pay to park at Sainsbury’s for £20 for the duration just round the corner. We will definitely return to the DoubleTree by Hilton in the future. The Hilton though was another matter, nothing good about the stay there, avoid!! Thank you DoubleTree by Hilton for our pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Bradnam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York
Responded Dec 23, 2020
Dear NickiFaulks Thank you for your 5 star rating of your stay, and post on Trip Advisor. I was really pleased to hear you had a great stay. I am sorry we had to relocate you during the stay, due to the second lock down, but really appreciate your feedback regarding the staff and how this was handled. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards Martin R Bradnam General Manager
Read more
Diane K wrote a review Jun 11
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Just come back from York yesterday, firstly the good point about the hotel is its location near York Minster. When we arrived at reception I had booked 2 separate rooms, they only had one but luckily I produced my paperwork to prove what I had booked and paid for, they said the hotel was full but managed to get us 2 rooms next to each other but we had to come back later. They also said that breakfast was not included but we had also paid for that which now we wish we had not as it was the worst breakfast even experienced in a hotel or B&B. The breakfast was cold, eggs hard, tomatoes undercooked, mushrooms stone cold, toast not cooked and so hard you could not cut it with a knife, juices in warm little cartons with straws like you would put in a school packed lunch. No fruit salad, coffee week. The staff were very nice and drinks in bar lounge were good. Because of COVID the rooms were not served and not enough tissues or toilet paper left for 3 nights. The room was spacious but very dark, the lighting was poor apart from the bathroom. We enjoyed our stay in York but the hotel should address these issues.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We were on ground floor which was quiet but room was dark.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Bradnam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York
Responded 2 days ago
Dear dianekR2672PS, Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. I am sure you can appreciate the impact the epidemic has had on our industry, and the fact that whilst hotels have re-opened, our offering and approaches have changed due to many factors, including epidemic legislation and guidance, our COVID risk assessment, reduced staffing levels, and reduced service from our own suppliers, reacting to the epidemic and reopening after closure. Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast. I was sorry to read you were disappointed by our offering. We planned our breakfast product very carefully following our re-opening, with a section of grab items that are in individual wrappers, and a selection of items that are served to you by our breakfast team. I am sure you can appreciate, we are unable to offer the range of items pre-covid due to limited space. I have taken your feedback onboard. I will review our buffet unit with the breakfast team in order to ensure the food temperature improves, and will also share your feedback with the chef. I was glad to read you enjoyed the hotels location, and the staff. I was sorry to read there were some issues with your reservation. Unfortunately, I can only see your TripAdviser profile, and would need more information to search for your reservation details. I would believe this booking would have been made through a third party. We have since lock down been experiencing some issues with bookings coming through into our systems. I am pleased these issues were resolved. Thank you for your feedback which is always important, as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. I truly appreciate the time and effort taken to communicate your points to us. Your sincerely, Martin R Bradnam General Manager
Read more
woodbank66 wrote a review Jun 10
Lancashire, United Kingdom101 contributions82 helpful votes
Well where to actually start with this hotel, I suppose I should have took notice of the other reviews. Please take this review seriously, I do not believe in condemning a hotel for a few mistakes BUT this management team need to make serious changes here. I booked this hotel to celebrate a belated 60th birthday last year, I was going to stay at another hotel but cancelled to stay here. We booked a deluxe room, when we checked in we were asked to book a slot for breakfast, which we did also leave a card to be charged, and given 2 key cards told where the room was and off we went. Where did we go for breakfast ? Which way was the town centre ? No info at all in the rooms not a leaflet nothing. The room was bland nothing what so ever deluxe about it a smack window that didn’t open an iron and a board a kettle a safe that’s it it was nothing like the pictures at all. At 11.15pm electric went off I rang down to reception and to give them there due Ash and the other chap on the desk were great so we had to move rooms we were given a family room which the two double beds were great. The floor mega mega creaks oh my god never heard anything like it anyway the tap dripped most of the night and the traffic so loud anyway we never slept most of the night. I went to see the duty manager next morning she was very apologetic and said my bill will be compensated for. The next morning we went to breakfast 9.20pm.the queue was fairly long but we queued got our breakfast served by the staff was ok nothing to write home about. We have been here 5 days and no housekeeping has been even though I was told Twice it would be. I happened to see the cleaner and was able to empty the bins myself! She gladly gave us fresh towels that was it. Oh and I was given 2 loo rolls to carry from reception not what you expect from a 4 star hotel. Would I stop here again no I wouldn’t would I recommend it no I wouldn’t the staff seem nice enough, but nice isn’t enough it’s shambolic to say the least and the competition is strong they need to improve before it goes to the wall and I for 1 won’t be sorry but only for the staff who try .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don’t stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Bradnam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York
Responded 2 days ago
Dear woodbank66, Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. I am sure you can appreciate the impact the epidemic has had on our industry, and the fact that whilst hotels have re-opened, our offering and approaches have changed due to many factors, including epidemic legislation and guidance, our COVID risk assessment, reduced staffing levels, and reduced service from our own suppliers, reacting to the epidemic and reopening after closure. I appreciate and understand your comments relating to literature in the room. As part of our cleanstay approach, we have removed as much literature around the building, and in the bedrooms as possible. In our Deluxe rooms, we have reduced the supplement priced from £25.00 to £10.00, but we have reduced the amenity items we place in these rooms. I was pleased to hear of the support and service received by Ash, and Alex, and will certainly pass this on for you, and I am sorry the electric outage resulted in a room move during the night. Thank you for your feedback about the alternative room you stayed in. I was sorry that you were disturbed by the noise you experienced, but glad you reported it during your stay, and the Duty Manager reacted to this. I appreciate your comments relating to breakfast. 9.20am is during our peak breakfast time, which of course will be busy. We display a traffic light system around the hotel to encourage guests to choose a different time slot. We do have to limit the number of guests in the dining room at different times, to maintain social distancing, and in line with our COVID risk assessment. I am sure you can appreciate we have had to reduce down our breakfast choice at this moment in time. As part of cleanstay, we try to not enter a guests personal space. However, where guests request a room clean, we can facilitate this. Out housekeeping department is outsourced. I am sorry there was a misunderstanding and your room was not serviced as you expected. Woodbank66, I appreciate your feedback. The hospitality sector is recovering from a major health epidemic that closed many hotels. I speak to many of my colleagues, and other General Managers around the city. We are all working hard with our teams under extenuating circumstances, to rebuild and plan the recovery of our properties. I take on board your feedback, and note your expectations. Thank you for your feedback which is always important, as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. I truly appreciate the time and effort taken to communicate your points to us. Your sincerely, Martin R Bradnam General Manager
Read more
mattb11023 wrote a review Jun 10
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom15 contributions15 helpful votes
The hotel’s food was expensive for a small amount. Breakfast was poorly served with a long buffet que. Once finally served the the bacon was undercooked, sausage was raw and toast cold. The milk urn ran out of milk and was not filled up for 45 minutes. After watching the staff it became obvious that they weren’t coping with the influx of guests, I suspect that this is because they weren’t trained to cope with the COVID restrictions. Such a shame to get the simple basics wrong because the room was clean and tidy and well presented
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Bradnam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York
Responded 2 days ago
Dear mattb11023, Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. I am sure you can appreciate the impact the epidemic has had on our industry, and the fact that whilst hotels have re-opened, our offering and approaches have changed due to many factors, including epidemic legislation and guidance, our COVID risk assessment, reduced staffing levels, and reduced service from our own suppliers, reacting to the epidemic and reopening after closure. Thank you for your feedback relating to breakfast. This is an area we have put a lot of time and effort into, however is also a key pressure point. I take your comments on board, and will work with the team to address these points. I was glad to read you found your room clean, tidy and well presented. Thank you for your feedback which is always important, as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. I truly appreciate the time and effort taken to communicate your points to us. Your sincerely, Martin R Bradnam General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western york, york best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Monkbar Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
143
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton York
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton York?
Nearby attractions include York Minster (0.2 miles), Shambles (0.3 miles), and The Hilt (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton York?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton York?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Taylor Made Kitchen, Las Iguanas, and Wheldrakes.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton York offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton York?
Many travelers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.7 miles), Holy Trinity Church (0.2 miles), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.3 miles).
Is DoubleTree by Hilton York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.