We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/21/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
SAVE $20
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (703)
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (160)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 07/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton York
Updated 07/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#40 of 46 hotels in York
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
3,592Reviews58Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 982
  • 1,173
  • 825
  • 407
  • 205
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nicole T wrote a review Oct 17
2 contributions
Lovely break from Soctland. My partner and I booked a standard double room initially for two nights. The room was clean, warm and the bed was very comfy. Spacious and price was decent (included breakfas)t. The hotel is right in the centre right opposite the York Castle. 15 minute walk to the railway station, 8 mins walk to York minister, and 3-8 mins walk to most restaurants and bars. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and decided to stay another night. The hotel staff were very friendly, accomodating and good hosts, gave us a cheap deal for the last night. They also made adjusments for us to for late check out because we were travelling later that evening. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and buffet service, full english breakfast. Quite handy as most hotels are not currently providing the service due to Covid. I woould recommend the hotel without a fault. Stay from 11/10/2020 - 14/10/2020.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have less noise.
See more room tips
Response from Hilton York, General Manager at Hilton York
Responded 4 days ago
Dear nicoletN3870ZB, Many thanks for posting your feedback on this review site. It is a pleasure to receive such positive comments especially about my team, which I am very proud of them all as they all work hard delivering high levels of customer service at all times. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Hilton York
Read more
paultasker6 wrote a review Sep 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom235 contributions129 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We have just returned from a 2 night stay to celebrate my 65th birthday and we were extremely happy with our experience. The location of The Hilton is fantastic of course with Clifford’s Tower right outside the door and some great restaurants immediately to the right. We loved The Olive Tree by the way. The staff were extremely polite and very, very helpful. Full Covid safe measures are in place of course so you do need to wear your face mask in the public areas of the hotel. We booked a room with two double beds for maximum comfort and we loved it. The only issue was difficulty getting hot water in the shower since our room was right at one end of the hotel but is was really, really quiet which we wanted. Some reviews mention rather dated rooms but ours was just fine. The wifi reception was spot on and the connection was speedy. Breakfast is fully Covid-safe too with tables really well spaced. The staff explain the procedure in great detail on your first trip. There are no fried or poached eggs only scrambled for Covid-safety reasons. A staff member serves items from the hot buffet. There is a small selection of cereals, fruits, yogurts etc to start with and a toaster to make your own toast from bread which is individually sealed for safety too. The buffet quality was similar to breakfast buffets everywhere, not outstanding but perfectly adequate. We both enjoyed it anyway. We came by train not car as their valet only parking is a staggering £25 per day. York parking prices are not cheap. The Jorvik Centre is just minutes away from the Hilton and you’re in a great position for a lovely river walk by the Ouse just to the right by the local restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Hilton York, General Manager at Hilton York
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Dear paultasker6, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay and for scoring us five out of five. We are delighted to read you had a very pleasant stay and found full COVID measures in place and felt safe. Thank you for your kind comments about the team, they are working very hard to ensure our guests have a memorable stay especially in the current climate. We are happy you also enjoyed the breakfast offerings too. Should your travels bring you back to the area we hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Hilton York
Read more
Claire T wrote a review Oct 11
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom39 contributions29 helpful votes
I booked a delux king room for myself and my partner. The room was clean, but dated and not very luxurious for a "delux" room. No fridge and a tiny bathroom and no outlets next to the bed which isn't ideal in this day and age where everyone wants to charge various electronic devices. We went to the bar for a drink before dinner and the service was a little slow, but the waitress was nice, although she seemed to have limited english. No matter though, she was nice and we muddled through. However, we came back to the bar for another drink before bed and some nibbles (our previous meal out was early and it was more style over substance so we were a little peckish), and asked for menus for drinks and food. The waitress came back 5 mins later with said menus and we then proceeded to wait 15 minutes for her to come back and take our order before giving up and going to a nearby tesco to get a bottle of wine and some nibbles. The bar was practically empty and there was no reason to be kept waiting that long. The breakfast was also dissapointing. Scrambled watery eggs with no taste. The beans looked like they had been sat there for hours and the bacon was dry and rubbery. No fried eggs and no table service, instead you go up to the buffet and have to be served your tired looking food with no offer of choice about the amount you may want of each available item. We also waited for 10 mins after being seated just to be offered coffee. Over all I felt the price did not match the service, decor or breakfast. The location is wonderful, but we will not be back. There are plenty of cheaper places in great locations with better rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Hilton York, General Manager at Hilton York
Responded 6 days ago
Dear claireP794, Thank you for posting a review following your stay at Hilton York. I would like to apologise for the fact that you did not feel that it was of a standard that you would expect from Hilton. Your comments are invaluable to us as they will help us to avoid a recurrence and to improve our service for our guests. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future so that we can show you that we can do better and meet the high standards that are normally associated with Hilton hotels. Thank you for your honest feedback. Kind regards, Hilton York
Read more
PY888 wrote a review Oct 10
Barnet, United Kingdom552 contributions45 helpful votes
Mini break, away from London, location is great, right in the center, walked from York station in 17 minutes, by taxi, less than 5 minutes, cost about £5. Room comfortable, no fridge, good house keeping, but they don't top up the toiletries, we have to keep asking reception for extra toilet paper/shower cap/shampoo/shower gel and sleepers. Another down point, buffet breakfast! Very limited items available, everything need to ask, drinks/juice/sugar/salt & pepper, when I asked for white toast with butter and strawberry jam, the serving lady, her English not very good, she doesn't understand what I wanted? Even when I need sweetener, she doesn't understand what is it? Asked for apple, she gave me yogurt??? Hilton need to train staff properly with a bit more understanding English. After checked out, no storage for luggage, a bit difficult to carry luggage before head back to London. Overall, reception really friendly, room clean. Breakfast not really not worth it if it is not included.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Hilton York, General Manager at Hilton York
Responded 6 days ago
Dear PY888, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay. I am sorry to read of the shortfalls that occurred during your stay and the areas our services failed to deliver to your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been taken most seriously and I will be speaking with our Food & Beverage management team who will be taking the necessary corrective actions with their teams to ensure that we meet the high standards that are normally associated with Hilton hotels. On a brighter note I am pleased that you found the location great for visiting York. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future to show you that we can do better. Kind regards, Hilton York
Read more
Alex wrote a review Oct 10
London, United Kingdom43 contributions6 helpful votes
Just one night in this fantastic Hilton hotel located ridiculously close to all main places to be seen in York. Check-in process was okey, with a very appreciated upgrade to a tower view deluxe room. There is a tree right in front of the tower so I could not see the tower at all. It is a funny anecdote, please don't chop off the tree. Room itself is very nice and modern, except some furniture, which were not damaged but pretty old looking. The star of my stay was Klaas from bar, who showed me what truly hospitality means. He took part of his time to offer me some snacks to combine with the coffee + opening for me a map and giving me some useful information. Dinner service was excellent, with again attentive staff serving delicious food. Breakfast service was standard, nothing out of what it's normally served. Overall fantastic stay for a fantastic town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Hilton York, General Manager at Hilton York
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Goldmemberuk, Thank you for your score, it is a pleasure to read you had a fantastic stay and found our location ideal for exploring the historic city of York. It is very kind of you mentioning our team members, I am very proud of them! Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Hilton York
Read more
$99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hilton york hotel york, hilton international york, hilton hotel york, york hilton international
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton York
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton York?
Nearby attractions include Shambles (0.2 miles), GR8escape York (0.2 miles), and Mindlock Escape Rooms (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton York?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton York?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Taylor Made Kitchen, Stam & Maria Greek Street Food York, and Pairings Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hilton York located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of York.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton York offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton York?
Many travelers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.5 miles), Holy Trinity Church (0.3 miles), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.1 miles).
Is Hilton York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.