We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel York Centre

Show Prices
#32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel York Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,242: English reviews
Sun City Center, Florida
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have stayed in about 8 hotels in the past 2 weeks and this was one of the nicest. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were large, modern, clean, bright, and stocked with soaps and shampoos etc. Restaraunt was excellent. It is only a 10 or 15 minute walk to downtown and the old city which is a must to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I am delighted to read all went well during your stay and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back. Thank you once again. With kind regards, Christophe Ughetto

Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardperkins1
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Mirano, Italy
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarajane2
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Newcastle
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here with my 15 yr old last night ,the room which is described as superior queen was quite basic and extremely warn (Premier Inn are far better),it was difficult to sleep in such warmth,we had the window open but they have security locks on them which only allows them to open about 4 inches.........we were then woken by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cassaragi
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for your review on both Tripadvisor and through our own online satisfaction survey. I will share your review with the team and would like to apologise for the noise which occured in the room next door to yours at the early hours of the morning. I understand from the police and our own reports that...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip last night & have no complaints but just felt there was something missing! Finally worked out its the customer service. Although the staff aren't rude, it just feels you're a number & a bit faceless! The rooms are great; very clean & spacious & modern touch is great. We were there on a hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaD7
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning. Many thanks for your comments. I have had the chance to review your feedback with the team this morning as I am very surprised to read you did not feel the service was personal enough. We do pride ourselves in offering such service and I can assure you that we will use your review to ensure this happening...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at Novotel York City for a day at the races the hotel is a great place to stay the staff arraigned Taxies and organised early check at 11am even though check in is at 2 because we had to get to the racecourse for 1pm

Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicola w
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning. Thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted you had a good stay with us and hope you had a lucky day at the races! We all hope to see you again soon. With kind regards, Christophe Ughetto

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel, the room was spotless and the staff are very friendly. The only problem with this hotel was the pool! although it was very clean they temperature was sooo cold!!! they need to heat it up a bit especially for the kids. The breakfast was ok, not great for veggies unless you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning and many thanks for your comments. I am very pleased to read you would consider us again for a return visit and am looking forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again. With kind regards, Christophe Ughetto

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Firstly, the positives; Good location, quiet area of York, friendly staff, lovely breakfast and generally clean and comfortable. Nice pool, albeit small. Now the negative; Although it was 22 Degrees C in York this week, the corridors and rooms were just so hot! I had to sleep on top of the bed rather than in it as the window would...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anthony S
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good morning. Thank you very much for your review. I have had a chance to go through your feedback and am pleased to read about the positives points you acknowledged. I have also had the opportunity to review your comments with our Maintenance Manager with regards to the heat in the hotel. Please rest assured we will investigate this fully...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alig1972
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

London
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Positives: -Well located -Friendly staff -reasonable food, very generous portions -porridge Negatives (of which the list kept growing): -Uncomfortable bed that sinks about a foot when you sit or lie on it - if you are looking for a supportive mattress this ain't the one - more like a camping bed. -poor drainage - smell coming from the taps when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thewildoneforever
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you for your honest feedback. I am very disappointed to read your experience did not match your expectations on this occasion. I have had a long review with my team of managers so that steps can be taken to avoid some of the problems you encountered. Please rest assured your comments have been taken seriously and have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (210)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
2,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $96 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Novotel York Centre staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel York Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 321 over looks the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles marymc721, 6 days ago | Read review
“Enquire about the type of 3rd bed in the superior rooms as drop down bed not that comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles KeriDTredegar, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a new mattress on pull out beds”
 of 5 bubbles Smokeywisk, 1 week ago | Read review
“All our family were in rooms on 1st floor, very quite until party in function suite, I would maybe ask for rooms on the upper floors!”
 of 5 bubbles Ferrylinda, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I dont think there is any good room in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles viktoriab_13, Feb 4, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question