We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Safestay York

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Safestay York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 543: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A fantastic hostel in a great location and in a lovely old building. Reading the signs on the walls about what the diffrerent rooms were once used for was interesting. The curtains on the beds helped as they kept the light in/out, and also gave privacy. I had stayed before, albeit a while back and seemingly under different management (as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank douglast749
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

They never cleaned the bathrooms, which were small, and the drains didn't work well. I was soon standing in a pool of filthy water. Also, power outlets were not conveniently placed. Would not return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JODOYO16
wingrove100, General Manager at Safestay York, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of the problem you found with the shower, we have attended to it and everything works great now. Bathrooms are cleaned everyday, and we do expect our guests to leave them in a way they would like to find them. The pod bathrooms are functional in size and are the...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I chosed to stay here for a second time because the previous experience staying here was really good, helpful staff and clean condition, all things are great. But on the second night I didn't sleep well because of a noisy guest who continuously made noise and did not accept the suggestions of other people, finally got stopped because of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Illuminator2333
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hostel was clean and a perfect location for centre of York. All team members were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful (much better than some places I have stayed in). Hostel was quiet even for a Saturday night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5146PAianj
wingrove100, General Manager at Safestay York, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and nice to hear you enjoyed your time in York.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really a very attractive place and everyone was very helpful. I didn't try breakfast, so I can't comment on it. Cooking facility might be an option and I should prefer not to sleep in a mixed dormitory. But I can certainly recommend it. Heating in November would be also be a good idea,as York is cold. You obviously need a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 826ruthf
wingrove100, General Manager at Safestay York, responded to this review

Hi Ruth. Thank you for your feedback. As we move into the colder months we have found a few gremlins lurking in the heating, thankfully we have found the source problem and its much warmer now.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good and clean rooms and friendly staff. Showers didn't get completely warm though and it was not able to switch beds, even though we were placed completely on other sides of the room and beds were free

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M4595YYnadias
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

great night out in York spoiled by night shift staff placing 2 guests into our dorm and expecting 2 of my party to move into a completely different dorm. staff had also moved belongings to accommodate new guests,when we complained we were threatened with arrest by the police if we didn't comply. won't be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gedwar_521461
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only one shared shower room which was cold and unappealing. No towels provided as advertised. Lounge closed early. Bedroom basic. Noisy. Overpriced. No chair in room. No tea or coffee making facilities. Staff pleasant but not welcoming. Definitely a hostel not a home or hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 697valp
wingrove100, General Manager at Safestay York, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Yes we are a hostel, and not a hotel. We have a few private rooms that do have towels, chairs and tea and coffee facilities. Hostels provide basic accommodation and the frills are kept to the minimum to keep the price at a great level for travelers on a budget. Towels are available for hire...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

i stayed in the 12 bed room. there were only three guests including me. So it was pretty comfortable. The room was clean and the bar area and the dining area is also very bright and nice. I was surprised when i first saw the facade of the hostel and by the friendliness of the staff. The location as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvmiaj63
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The safestay in York is in my opinion a truly unique hostel. It's located in a large city mansion from (if I remember correctly) the 18th century. Upon entering the hostel, you will see that they did a great job at preserving the grandeur of that age. By adding some hip and cool contemporary art (without affecting the building's historical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MerijnDrenth
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Safestay York is set in a beautiful Georgian townhouse less than 10 minutes’ walk from York train station and even closer to the historic city centre. You’ll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin, double and family en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4 to 12 people there’s a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay’s own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There’s a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The four social spaces include a breakfast room, serving continental breakfast every day, a fully licensed bar, games room and heated courtyard. The hostel also has a laundry, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The blend of the surreal and the traditional reflects the fairy tale feel of York, giving the hostel an individual charm of its own; whilst staying true to Safestay’s award winning design. Great for groups and individuals Safestay is York’s first choice hostel for the savvy traveller. Stay at Safestay York and you’ll be within easy walking distance of The York Minster, Clifford’s Tower, Jorvik Viking Centre, The Shambles, National Railway Museum, The York Dungeons and much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Safestay York

Address: 88-90 Micklegate | Micklegate House, York YO1 6JX, England (Formerly Ace York - Boutique Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $18 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safestay York 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Safestay York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace York - Boutique Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Safestay York staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Safestay York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Four bed en-suite is very good quality and value for money”
 of 5 bubbles SakuraDragon85, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Away from the local nightclub out back”
 of 5 bubbles 915Anna, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room - if such a one exists! Also ask for a lower bunk in advance (if you prefer).”
  • Bunks in a 6 bed shared dorm.
 of 5 bubbles mkyni, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is quiet, but lots and lots of stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles katharineg698, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
“High floors have lots of steps to climb up”
 of 5 bubbles ge0rgen722, Jul 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay