We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Carlill B&B

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Carlill B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent a great weekend with seven friends at Carlill B&B. Our room (for three) was well equipped, clean and spacious, with very comfortable beds. Breakfasts were first class too and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying there again.

Helpful?
Thank ruthandgeoff
IceMaid1971, Manager at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Rob and Karina More 

Medulin, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this hotel at last minute. Everywhere else was booked up and we were in a meeting the day after and didn't fancy driving there and back in one day. Looked quickly on website and the 2 pics on there looked ok, nothing special but ok. What a shock, Walls had peeling paper & damp. Shower tray covered in mould.... More 

Helpful?
Thank smithstonesales
IceMaid1971, Manager at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would have preferred you to have brought these issues to our attention whilst you were still in Whitby rather than waiting until we couldn't do anything about it. We did have a number of other double rooms that you could have looked at to see if they would have been more suitable. We are... More 

Hoxne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We rolled into Whitby later than expected and still had to put our tent up. We really just couldn't face it so i went in search of beds. Luckily the lights were on so i gave them a knock and they were very welcoming even at the late hour. 5 of us stayed the night and they could not do... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisMoorecmc
IceMaid1971, Manager at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We were very happy to be able to help you out with a bed for the night. Hope you all aren't suffering too much with aching muscles. Rob & Karina More 

Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Me and a friend booked the Carlill B&B in whitby for 2 nights in a sea view twin room. It look nice and spacious online and only £140 so we had to do it. The twin "sea view" room we got put in did in fact have a sea view, if you could see past the inches of dust and... More 

Helpful?
Thank MC1998
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We did not knowingly "catfish" you as we pride ourselves on our openness. We are a bit shocked at the review you have given us regarding the cleanliness of the room that you booked via our online booking system. We pride ourselves on our standards of cleanliness and... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

We have been staying with Rob and Karina for several years now, it's like coming to see old friends. We get just as excited to be seeing them as we do for coming to Whitby. The b&b is in a great location, situated just 2 minutes from the spa pavilion and only 5 minutes from the shops. The communal lounge... More 

Helpful?
Thank anne818
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review :-) More 

nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for goth weekend, very clean, warm and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble, the owners even got porridge in for my fussy husband despite it not being on the breakfast menu. One thing I really liked is that you are left to do your thing, having recently stayed at another B and B where I felt my every... More 

Helpful?
Thank angeljezabell
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in November. More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

Friendly warm people. have stayed twice in this B&B and will be again this year. Some of the rooms are a little dated but renovations are on going and i have seen a difference between my visits. Rooms spotless. Excellent breakfast and excellent value for money. Owners always available for any queries

Helpful?
2 Thank peter4434
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We look forward to seeing you again this year. More 

Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

The rooms are somewhat basic, with no soap, shower gel, shampoo provided. The room we stayed in although spacious was in need of refurbishment / redecoration, The sheets were clean, however the wash hand basin could have been cleaned more thoroughly. The hot water for the early morning shower took ages to come through (more than 10minutes). We were unable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay with us wasn't as enjoyable as it could be if you had brought them to our attention whilst you were here we could have tried to rectify them. We trade ourselves as a basic family run seaside B&B and pride ourselves in providing clean, comfortable rooms and a good... More 

West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

When I read the first review prior to my visit I was cautiously optimistic about our future 2 night stay. When we arrived the exterior had a look of needing some refurbishment and that also followed on into the property and certainly our room. I was very disappointed with the room. It was small and very dated if not verging... More 

Helpful?
Thank Superdi
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay with us wasn't as enjoyable as it could be. We trade ourselves as a basic family run seaside B&B and pride ourselves in providing clean, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. We only took over the business in May 2105 and we have a schedule of renovations in place... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The location was perfect, views stunning, and most importantly the hosts were welcoming. The room was bright and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. My husband and I stayed for one night whilst visiting the area. Karina and Rob who run the Carlill look to have a formula that works. The rooms are elegant, the building beautiful and traditional and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthless1977
IceMaid1971, Owner at Carlill B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Rob and Karina More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#11 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#39 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#24 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#147 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carlill is a family run seaside bed and breakfast. We are ideally located on the West Cliff in Whitby, just a short walk from The Spa Pavilion, beach, whale bones and town. We have a variety of en suite rooms available, some with sea views. All rooms have hospitality trays and TVs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlill B&B

Address: 13-14 Royal Crescent | West Cliff, Whitby YO213EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: $81 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing