We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beacon Farm

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Beacon Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Thus is a self proclaimed budget campsite - don't expect anything else The showers and toilets are dated but they don't hide this or try to disguise it - if they extend /update them it will mean they will have to put up their prices and then exclude a lot of campers who are happy with basics and their only... More 

Helpful?
Thank adrian b
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Booked here on a spur of the moment. We had read the reviews, some of which were not the best but for the price we paid the site was excellent. Shower block more than adequate even if a little rough around the edges. Site is big and plenty of space for our tent pitch. Owners, family and staff are the... More 

Helpful?
Thank durham6111
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All the bad reviews are snobs . Showers are adequate .cleaned at night by so called Grumpy farmer and in day. He wasn't grumpy .said hello everytime. Other staff were pleasant and helpful . Icecream parlour / cafe bit slow but good size breakfast . You pay for what you get so good value campsite . Thank you would come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well, after searching High and Low on tinterweb (as some call it) we came across this very lovely place. Upon arrival Tuesday 9th August (I think that was the date) we were greeted by extremely helpful and polite staff (I forget their names.). We booked in and paid our two nights fee and we were then directed towards a preferred... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy H
BEACON2012, Owner at Beacon Farm, responded to this review

Hi Andy, Thank you so much for a great review! It always nice to get feedback. We hope to see you again soon, Regards, Matt More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer very friendly staff and helpful. Everything on site is all you need. your not paying premium prices so don't expect swanky facilities however they are good. We will be staying longer next year.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
BEACON2012, Manager at Beacon Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Andrew! We hope to see you again next year, Regards, Matt More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Beacon Farm last Saturday. I have eaten a lot of Beacon Farm ice cream but have never visited the actual farm. The Coffee Shop was very busy so we decided just to have ice creams sat outside. The female members of staff were helpful and friendly and there was a lot of flavours of ice cream to choose from.... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
BEACON2012, Manager at Beacon Farm, responded to this review

Hi James, Thanks for your review and I am glad you enjoy our ice cream! We are a little rough around the edges up at the (working) farm I do admit, we do try to improve little bit at a time but due to the wet weather over winter there have been one or two jobs that haven't been undertaken.... More 

Holmfirth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the site was so busy I felt hemmed in, not something I have ever felt before at this site. A temporary toilet block has been added which has allowed more tents to be pitched. When I pitched I had space all around by the time I left I could just get my car to the tent, not sure why people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellsmum
BEACON2012, Manager at Beacon Farm, responded to this review

Hi Ellsmum, Thank you for your review. Sorry that you had a bit of a bad experience whilst stopping with us. Whilst our pitches aren't marked out to allow freedom for people to camp where they like we leave it to people to use their common sense and not pitch to close to each other, in this case, someone was... More 

Brotton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It really upsets me to write a poor review for beacon farm as I have been visiting since I was a child, but I visited a couple of days ago and was appalled by the attitude of one member of staff. The food and ice cream were all of good quality and many of the young girls working there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
BEACON2012, Manager at Beacon Farm, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience on one of our visits to us. Unfortunately in this case it seems like one of our staff did not act in an appropriate way, at this time of year we are very busy and the work is very stressful, however this is no excuse. The customer that... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Our little family have just returned from 2 nights in Whitby and we were happy with our stay. We arrived around 3pm and were greeted by a young man in the reception who was helpful enough in telling us where to pitch, etc. We arrived at a pretty good time really as it started filling up later on in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Faerycakes
BEACON2012, Manager at Beacon Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our campsite, we hope you can stop with us again sometime! I just thought I would explain the charge for the showers. The main reason we charge 20p for the showers is that people in the past have left the showers running and run all of the hot water out, whilst I know... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Our group of 4 motorcyclists stayed overnight on a ride out around the North Yorkshire coast. Check-in was quick, easy and the staff were helpful and friendly, offering some wood for our bike stands if needed. Toilet and wash facilities were basic and it would have been better if the wash basins were in a separate area rather than in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor C
BEACON2012, Manager at Beacon Farm, responded to this review

Hi Trevor, Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I just thought I would write back to explain the noise you were hearing, which as you say was out of our control. It was a local farm cutting their grass for silage and when the weather is right they tend to work... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
2.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#111 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Captain Cook's Haven
Captain Cook's Haven
#3 of 39 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Beacon Farm

Address: Beacon Farm Beacon Way, Whitby YO22 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing