We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Accomodation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Discovery Accomodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 664: English reviews
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The suite is always clean and well furnished.i have been staying for 8 years and have never had a complaint in any of them. The only thing is if you stay agai you are supposed to get 10% discount which I didn't receive because they have lost my history so am reluctant to make another booking as after a number... More 

Helpful?
Thank langholmejohn
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Starfish apartments on Silver Street during our stay. I was a bit concerned about what to expect reading some of the reviews but can only assume that they were written by the kind of people who, no matter what, always find fault with something. My husband my 2 young boys and I loved it. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in Discovery Cottage advertised as a 'quaint fisherman's cottage in our attractive courtyard'. Sadly it did not live up to expectations from the glossy pictures the company are presenting on the web or outside their office. It was very small, very dark, windows looked out onto walls, definitely not an attractive courtyard. One of the legs on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tangocharlie191

Travelers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

One night stay as a wedding gift. Stayed in the Seagull Loft, wall to wall wood effect. Stained bedsheets which we only noticed on going to bed. Wine stain on carpet with cotton over top so not even cleaned prior to our visit. Large bed spring sticking out on left side of bed. Bed creaked every time you moved. Bathroom... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hahaha69
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My company had an event in Whitby so we decided to stay over rather than travel. We booked 3 apartments which brought down the cost for us. We were a bit concerned by some of the reviews but we neednt of been. Our apartments were great. Clean and tidy and very central. We checked in and the guy on reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynn r
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear lynn r, Thanks for getting in touch about your recent stay with us. We're pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We love Silver Street chip shop and Rusty Shears is great for a cheeky gin. They love trip advisor reviews too! Rebook direct for your next stay with us and receive 10% discount. Kind Regards Discovery... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled down from Scotland for this weekender , pleasantly surprised with the accommodation , we stayed in the Cockleshells apt , self contained mini suite ,only negative was the bedroom upstairs hadn't a handrail which was a small issue to the wife who struggles a bit with stairs , other than that it was excellent , staff polite , location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Tony M, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're always looking for ways to improve our accommodation so we value your comments about the handrail for the stairs. This is certainly something we can look in to. When you choose to stay again, book direct using your phone number and pin number on our... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Whitby for the weekend. The accommodation we were allocated was very nice. The room was very comfortable with everything we needed for a fantastic stay..The Reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. All in all a fantastic stay.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Jackie H, Thanks for your 5* review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our team pleasant and helpful. Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation More 

Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked online and they took the payment out right away so they had been paid about 3 months before hand. On the day they send you a text message about booking in we are from Australia so the phone number they had wasn't working. This is a weird set up. We booked this site because of the picture of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paddy C
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Paddy C, We advertise that payment will be taken at the time of booking. We advertise our address. We state that we need the correct UK mobile number. We state that we are situated at multiple locations. We state that private parking is £8. We have nearly 60 rooms and apartments but only 20 private parking spaces - that's... More 

cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Discovery accommodation is a very clean flat with several rooms, plenty of space, ideal location 4 minutes walk form harbour. We stayed in 'Dune' and it was so good, kitchen fitted with all essentials large lounge, good quality TV and Radio - very comfortable spacious bed. Staff - Mandy so kind and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. -... More 

Helpful?
Thank lyndel4
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear lyndel4, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Dune. We'll certainly share your review with the staff. Don't forget, repeat bookings direct get 10% discount! Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel through booking.com I thought it would be a great cheap night away. Unfortunately when we arrived we were told they had cancelled the booking due to my bank details not been updated despite me updating them three weeks before we went and myself received an email confirming the details modified. Despite myself showing the email to... More 

Helpful?
Thank lauram4503
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Laura4503, I have looked at your booking. We emailed you and we informed you via booking.com that they payment information was not complete and that we were unable to take payment. We advised you that payment would be needed within 24 hours to keep the booking. We didn't receive the information within the 24 hours as stated and therefore... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

273 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (273)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (154)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#13 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#27 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Address: 11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: $65 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Accomodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay