We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Discovery Accomodation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Discovery Accomodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 638: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We recently stayed at discovery accommodation for our anniversary! The apartment was lovely. Great views from the road it was located on. The only thing was that I wasn't expecting a big polar bear on the shower wall so got a bit of a freight when I walked into the bathroom 😂

Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very basic, but did expect this for the price - only place available when we booked. One nights stay was enough. Plus points - Bed comfortable. Clean sheets Good quality towels Good shower Quite location Staff friendly and helpful. Ok points - Breakfast ok, £6 extra, but had to go to the reception building a few minutes walk away from... More 

Helpful?
Thank auntjamjar
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The family apartment was spacious lovely and clean it was called the pier on silver street.the staff where very helpful and friendly. We would book to use again. It was near to all the shops and the harbour. The apartment had everything you needed and was a very comfortable stay.

Helpful?
Thank tracysamantha
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Discovery cottage, classed as DeLuxe accommodation, was a complete rip off It's located up Clarkson Street past the row of dustbins in a two meter wide courtyard. The lounge and bedroom windows both look out on to neighbouring front doors. No sunlight enters the lounge and it's necessary to have the light on all the time. The cold stone floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snotneck

Travelers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

OK so we have just spent a week on the crescent in a discovery apartment. We had apartment no 2. I thought it best to list the pro and cons to this accommodation in the hope that the owners read this and take on board the constructive feedback Pros 1 great location 2 excellent security 3 spacious for a family... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jaqualineclark
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a number of problems during my short stay. The main one being that the shower was blocked and when we used it the bathroom flooded- this was clearly not a new issue and should have been detected during cleaning. Whilst it was attended too quickly, the staff were not very friendly and didn't seem to care that much... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn M
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were given a free upgrade for our accomodation and couldn't have asked for more. Starfish 6 is spacious, clean and airy with wonderful views across Whitby. Based on Silver Street you can easily access shops and the harbour within a 5 minute walk. With the doors being on a key code it meant that our party was able to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Annaosha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed at the discovery between christmas and new year 2015. We arrived and our standard hotel room was not available in the location we had booked but this was not an issue, we were upgraded to the loftnear silver street This was our second time staying with discovery and we have had no complaints, all rooms have been clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just returned from staying in Beach house 1 Discovery accommodation about two weeks ago. I stayed for two nights. When we first went to check in at reception, we walked down to see the pool area. This is where we found out there are no separate changing rooms for men and women as my friend walked in on a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank KimberlyG2007
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear KimberlyG2007, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We feel as though we should clarify some points that you have mentioned for future travellers. We do not advertise as a hotel but ‘Accommodation’. We provide a range of different accommodation based at different locations across Whitby, suitable for varying budgets and party sizes,... More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for our Wedding Anniversary for a 2 night wknd break with our little dog . We stayed in Starfish 5 which was a 2 bed apartment . We got a txt at 3pm with the codes for the doors . We parked on Silver St £10 for 48hrs . The Apartment was clean with Fresh towels and bedding .... More 

Helpful?
Thank YorkshireKebab
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear YorkshireKebab, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. A jigsaw is always a good addition to the inventory! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Starfish Apartments which are very popular with our guests. Our blinds have been measured and are currently being custom made locally and we are awaiting them... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

272 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (272)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (154)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#54 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#28 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#14 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Address: 11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: $65 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Accomodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay