We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Norwich

Save
Share
Norwich Sports Village Drayton High Road Drayton High Road, Norwich NR6 5DU England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (122)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 50 hotels in Norwich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Express Norwich is a vibrant 78 bedroom hotel located to the North of the city. Our guest can take advantage of our airport courtesy shuttle bus which runs daily and can be pre booked with the hotel reception or for a fee will run to Norwich and local surrounding areas, subject to availability. The Holiday Inn Express is located 2.5MI from Norwich City Centre and is 1.9MI from Norwich International Airport just off the A140. The hotel has been designed to combine contemporary design with comfortable accommodation and value pricing catering for both business and leisure travellers. The largest David Lloyd Gym is situated next door and guests can purchase discounted passes from the hotel. Each of the 78 bedrooms has a desk area with complimentary WiFi, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV with satellite channels and an invigorating power shower. Our rates include continental breakfast with a hot offering served from 5am during the week in the Great Room, which is also a relaxing and informal place to unwind with a drink from our bar or to enjoy a light snack from our evening menu.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Aerobics offsite
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Lithuanian, Polish
575Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 122
  • 188
  • 156
  • 59
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lizzieb187 wrote a review Oct 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
Our first staycation during COVID19 and our first trip to Norwich. Hotel and room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very welcoming and friendly during our five-day visit. We requested that our room not be cleaned each day and this reduced the number of people entering our room. There were sanitizing stations all throughout the hotel. Breakfast was very well co-ordinated. There was still a decent choice of a cooked breakfast, cereals, juices, fruit, toast and croissants - you could also choose to take a tray back to your room if you were uncomfortable eating in the dining room. My only gripe was that you only get half a cup of tea or coffee but just ask for a jug of hot water to top it up. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel. There is a car park next to the HIE car park which could get noisy at night - but that isn't the fault of the hotel and it didn't last long. We would definitely return here again. Norfolk is a beautiful county with many interesting places to visit (even during these strange times). Thank You to all the hotel staff for making our short break such an enjoyable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Lizzieb187, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed your first staycation during the pandemic with us. It's great that you found the hotel room was clean and comfortable and that the team were welcoming and friendly. We have worked hard to ensure that we create a safe and clean environment during the pandemic so I am happy that you recognised this. I hope to see you again soon. Darren.
Read more
GordonMogg wrote a review Oct 2020
Redcar, United Kingdom313 contributions80 helpful votes
First time I have visited Norwich and got a great deal for bed and breakfast for me and my fiancée. Due to Covid it was a bit strange but the hotel handled it very well it was a bit slow checking h in but that was fine as there was a few of us at the same time. The room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. The staff very helpful and friendly. The evening meal was very good. Breakfast was handled extremely well under the circumstances and the food well cooked and piping hot. Again the staff were brilliant. Would be happy to stay there again and hopefully will do in the not too distant future
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Hi GordonMogg, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to read that we handled the covid restrictions well and that the room was clean, tidy and comfortable. It's also great to read that the team were helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Darren.
Read more
sdsdeeley wrote a review Sep 2020
Hastings, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel staff were excellent, Friendly, Helpful and covid safety aware. The hotel was clean and well maintained, they had put good Corona virus measures in place and I felt comfortable and safe. (The outside of the hotel adjoins the David Lloyd leisure club which was extremely tired and tatty but don't let that put you off,) The hotel is just off the city ring road and made an excellent base for going out to explore Norfolk.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Hi sdsdeeley, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to read that the team were happy and friendly and that the hotel was clean clean and well maintained. We have worked hard on our Coronavirus measures whilst trying to maintain good service so I am happy that you can see that. I hope you can visit again soon. Darren.
Read more
Andrew K wrote a review Sep 2020
Madrid, Spain9 contributions9 helpful votes
First of all I have to say the staff were lovely. Polite efficient and responsive. Sadly though, the place was a metaphor for this country. Tired, falling to bits and a bit tacky. Two nights we stayed. The room we were first given had a hole in the bathroom floor and the net curtains were brown in places. So we moved and the new one looked like someone has been skating on the dressing table. The paint was chipped and scuffed here and there. But hey, it was better. Inevitably however, the room key stopped working and the toilet bunged up. I thought the place was quite clean but my Wife smiled and said ‘its superficial’ pointing out the dust on the switch casing and the sticky threshold between the bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast was served quickly with a smile. But the sausages came from the sausage factory, the bacon from the bacon factory and the scrambled egg from the powdered egg factory. (And obviously fried, boiled or poached weren’t available because that would be too near to fresh - likewise the case I guess for the absent tomatoes, mushrooms. ...... or anything else that could be fresh) so nothing much to go wrong there - or right for that matter. And the whole system-built concrete thing sits at the bottom of an ASDA car park next to a derelict place that looks like a massive dirty, petrified igloo. Would I go back. Well yes. Because the bed was comfy, the sheets were clean, it was cheap and I do superficial (unlike my wife). And mostly, I know that when things go wrong, which they inevitably will, the nice staff will be there to cheerfully put things right. Nevertheless, my message to the top bid of Holiday Inn (uk) and it’s board of directors is: Not good enough guys. Knock it down. Don’t be superficial. Don’t be the Ryan Air of hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Hi andrewkD8298IM, Thank you for your review. I'm happy to read that the team were lovely and that they were polite, efficient and responsive to your needs. It's great to read that were helpful for any issues that you had. We are having a full refurbishment of the hotel very soon which we are all excited about. We are also replacing the key lock system which will also rectify the issue with this. We are hoping that a business will move into the neighbouring 'igloo' soon so that it can made to look a nicer. Our complimentary breakfast is designed to be for those on the go and is a continental offering with some hot items. I will pass on your feedback about our hot items to the kitchen team however we will not be able to offer tomatoes or mushrooms as this is not a Holiday Inn Express brand standard. I hope to welcome yourself and your wife back when we have a nice new hotel. Kind regards, Darren.
Read more
SamanthaKM wrote a review Aug 2020
Ipswich, United Kingdom72 contributions27 helpful votes
Awful experience. Booked a night here with work, took over 40 minutes to check in and they reported the room was not paid for even thought it had been. Other guests standing in a long queue waiting to check in. Took them 3 attempts to gain access to my room. Finally get access and the lights aren’t working. Dirty tissues on the floor - thought you advertised additional COVID cleaning measures? Freezing cold room. No apology. 1 person was covering the reception and bar with queues of guests waiting. Told there were no other rooms. Left without any solution from the reception.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Fulcher, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Hi SamanthaKM. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience. My apologies about the issues that you encountered during you stay. I would like to talk to you further about this. Please could you email me on gm@hiexnorwich.co.uk. Kind regards, Darren.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express norwich hotel norwich, holiday inn norwich, norwich holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Norwich Sport Village Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Norwich?
Nearby attractions include High Altitude (0.2 miles), Ladybelt Country Park (0.4 miles), and Dotty Pottery (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Norwich?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Norwich?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Norwich?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Norwich?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Norwich?
Conveniently located restaurants include New Red Mango Indian Restaurant, Chestnut Tree, and Bramleys Cafe and Cakery.
Does Holiday Inn Express Norwich have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Norwich offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Express Norwich offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Norwich?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Czech, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Norwich?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (2.2 miles), History Mystery (2.2 miles), and Norwich Cathedral (2.2 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Norwich accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.