We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 389: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great Staff upon check in, were very friendly and respectful. I think he said his name was Tom. The room was spacious and the bathroom was very nice too. The food was amazing. I had the Lamb Steak which I really enjoyed. The young blonde girl who served us was very friendly and attentive to our needs. Check out was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jakegreen1992
norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent staff made an otherwise good stay great, they could not do enough to make the stay pleasurable, their local knowledge was excellent and tended to my every need. The hotel is quite old but this defines character rather than the big chain hotels which you shut the door and you never know where you are. Excellent price and value

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank David W
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a business trip, could choose any hotel in the area however chose this due to convince to the University rather than price (there were cheaper hotels, some with gym and pool facilities in the area) Hotel is very dated and un kept. The walls were dirty with a tea stain down the wall by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. All the issues you have mentioned such as air-conditioning and the walls are either being addressed or will be addressed during the refurbishments. All the staff know full well they must not use their personal phones during work time, so I am very disappointed you found them on their phones on you arrival and please... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Although my single room was spotlessly clean, crisp white sheets can't disguise the ancient mattress that just sags/crumples when you sit or lay on it. It's ok in your grandma's spare bedroom cos she's had it since 1974 but not ok in a hotel. The other down was the noise. It is a creaky old hotel which is fair enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kscn55
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. We are aware of the noise from the flooring and when the hotel progresses with the full refurbishment the floorboards are all going to be replaced to solve this issue, and as you say, we do try and reflect this in the prices charged. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a business meeting booked in by the university. I have never written a bad review before but the owners of this place need a wake up call. Other than an unhelpful receptionist when I arrived, the staff were excellent, attentive, flexible and polite. Unfortunately the room was appalling. Bathroom tiny, linoleum floor uneven, thick black mould round the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dazelwood
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you had such a poor experience. As said previously, the owners are in the process of agreeing a full refurbishment for the whole of the hotel, which obviously all staff and management are looking forward to immensely. Please be aware, a lot of the rooms have already been upgraded so I do apologise you did not... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We booked the garden suite as we wanted a bit more space to relax. The 2 bed room is like a house at the back of the hotel and was exactly what we needed. Big leather sofas and the kitchenette was great! My only criticism was that the floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank fish4amy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here for a long weekend while visiting friends. The positives were the food at breakfast - not the usual Best Western buffet scrum down but cooked to order and very good. The waiting staff were generally good and the reception staff were always attentive and helpful. BUT... We were put in a room in an outbuilding called "The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stodge168
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have already started on the refurbishment of the cottage rooms which we hope to have completed by November. All you have suggested regarding design is all in hand, but thank you anyway. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our reservations reading the reviews on TripAdvisor especially with staying with a 5 week old baby, but I'm pleased to say that we couldn't have asked for more. We stayed in the Garden Suite which had 2 bedrooms and a living area and kitchenette. The rooms were reasonably priced, tidy and comfortable, with the only drawbacks being that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you had a good stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

First the good news. Generally friendly, professional service, excellent breakfast (it would cost you £11, by the way, if it wasn't included), well-stocked bar with efficient barman who knew was a "large Scotch" meant without having to ask (£5.40 in case you're interested). Clean room, decent-sized telly (which, amazingly, was easy to turn on and off). Now, the not-so-good. Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank jukeboxcanary
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fair and honest feedback. We hope you will come back and stay with us again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
1.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#20 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Address: Newmarket Road 10 Arlington Lane, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range: $81 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay