We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Traveler (266)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (11)

About

#10 of 11 hotels in Middlesbrough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres boasting a lavish bar and grill, leisure club with 25m sparkling pool and fully equipped gym. Handy for both business and pleasure with good transport links to all major towns and cities, extremely handy for shopping at the 'metro' centre - Europe’s largest indoor mall. Close to all major tourist attractions including the North Yorkshire Moors.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Sauna
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Solarium
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
871Reviews
12Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 113
  • 209
  • 219
  • 146
  • 184
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My partner and I booked to stay 2 nights at this hotel as we were attending a wedding 10 mins down the road, so a positive is that it was close by. However, our stay here left a lot to be desired. Upon first entering our room it seemed basic but fine, it was fairly clean although the food menu was stuck down to our desk with chewing gum! And the bed was not at all comfortable. When we reluctantly returned on the second night around 10.15pm there was some sort of teenagers disco happening in the function room directly outside our window - it was far too hot in the room to not open the window but extremely loud with the window open and even shut for that matter, there was kids running up and down the corridor at all hours or just gathered around the corridors in groups. Luckily I was sober after said wedding so we made the best decision we could have made and drove home that night instead of staying another night! Being 6 months pregnant I wasn't prepared for a terrible nights sleep in a place we didn't want to stay! No questions were asked as to why we were checking out early which says something about the customer service. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't return. I've had better experiences at the travelodge for less money.
Read more
The place is very outdated and shabby and the cleanliness leaves a lot to the imagination as does the food! Bathroom had pubic hair all over the floor, bedding was covered in stains and so was the carpet. Food wise I ordered gammon and got cold ham. Truly awful and would never stay here again even if they paid me!
Read more
Response from Dean L, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Lisa G3439 Thank you for your review. You spoke with the operations manager during your stay in relation to your room and were compensated. The room did have one hair in the bathroom and the mattress encasement was stained but the bedding was clean. This was not an acceptable standard and the shortfall will be brought to the attention of the cleaner who serviced your room. It is not correct that you were given cold ham as the main course were not served cold. We purchase gammon joints and cook these on site. The only difference between gammon and ham is that a gammon joint has been cured in the same way as bacon and ham is dry cured, but they come from the same part of a pig. All our coach tours guests get a three course three choice menu and any special diets are catered for. I am sorry that you feel you would never stay with us again but I am glad my operations manager was able to rectify the short comings that you found in your room.
Read more
Hotel. First, staff friendly helpful and pleasant. Rooms reasonable size. Very clean. Beds comfortable. Slightly tired deco. Windows have curtains but no blinds or voile consequently unless curtains closed those on ground floor in full view. Evening meal mediocre at best, Gammon ordered and slice of boiled ham provided ! Breakfast fine. All eatable but not particularly enjoyable. About what u expect for price I guess. Waiting and catering staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel offers groups special deals. We had 50+ teenagers at breakfast and language was disgusting. Typical I guess for 14 year olds now a days who want to use the F word repeatedly. Supervision of such groups poor. Some of our party had to repeatedly complain late at night about children running riot along corridors. An inexpensive but basic hotel with very bad WiFi (non existent most of time) Also poor mobile connection. Have to say hotel was clean. Plenty of hot water. Tea and coffee etc. Best was staff who I commend. I’d pay more for improved food though. National coach trip. Hotel better than some they use. Don’t expect four star and you won’t be disappointed. Having said that staff were four star
Read more
Response from Dean L, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Paul B Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your evening meal we did have gammon on the menu and I can assure you that it was not boiled ham. I will speak with the organisers of the group in relation to the Language at breakfast as this was not acceptable and had you raised this with one of the team we could have dealt with it. You comments regarding the team will be passed onto them as they do work hard to meet guest expectations. The hotel I believe is very good value for money all guest stays include full use of our Escape Zone Leisure club with pool, sauna, and full gym. I hope if you are in the area again your will consider staying with us
Read more
Stayed for one night Surfaces in room where filthy as was carpet which can’t ever have been hoovered. But worst of all mattress dirty saggy and only a sheet- no mattress protector Shocking Never would I stay there again Old dated and dirty !!!!!
Read more
Response from Dean L, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mrs Henderson Thank you for your review We have no record of you speaking to any of the team if you would like to email reservations on midds.reservations@hfyh.co.uk we could look into this for you
Read more
Stayed here as part of a FlamingoLand bus trip from Ayrshire. Rooms very clean, plenty of room as a double & a single (we had our grand son with us & no family rooms left). Restaurant had great service from the staff, food was very good. We had picked our meal from a menue as we checked in, kids pizza was huge!! My ham was none too shabby either😊. Breakfast was standard help urself hot or cold food.
Read more
Response from Dean L, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Bigrabcree Thank you for your email. I hope you had a great day out at Flamingo land, when the group arrived it did look like all had had fun on the rides. When we have coaches that we know will have a number of children as passengers we do try and provide an appropriate menu for them. I will pass on your comments to the team in the restaurant. Should you be in the area again or indeed do a return coach trip to flamingo land we look forward to welcoming you back
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sporting lodge inn middlesbrough hotel middlesbrough, sporting hotel middlesbrough, middlesbrough sporting hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireMiddlesbrough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing