We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Traveler (258)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (11)

About

#10 of 11 hotels in Middlesbrough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres boasting a lavish bar and grill, leisure club with 25m sparkling pool and fully equipped gym. Handy for both business and pleasure with good transport links to all major towns and cities, extremely handy for shopping at the 'metro' centre - Europe’s largest indoor mall. Close to all major tourist attractions including the North Yorkshire Moors.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
861Reviews
12Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 113
  • 206
  • 215
  • 144
  • 183
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have reviewed this hotel before, but it now deserves another. Myself and colleague were held up badly in traffic en-route and finished up arriving well after 9.30pm. We informed the hotel an the kitchen actually stayed open until we arrived. The food was perfect, hot and
Read more
Recently stayed here for two nights as part of a National Holiday coach trip. Rooms very tired!! Broken light fittings, bathroom of poor quality. Rooms need a deep clean & repainting. Evening meal was extremely poor so ensured on our 2nd evening we didn't need to eat in the
Read more
Response from Dean L, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Julooks I do not agree with your description that we Discriminate against coach trips and your statement that we keep coach trips separate is entirely false. All coach trips hear have a three course three choice menu with the main course being served at a carvery. Any special diets are also catered for. The hotel has only one main restaurant area the Old Poste House Bar where all coach parties are served. You have not stated if you reported the broken light fitting and was not clear if you meant that a bulb have gone, the maintenance has gone to all rooms used for coach bookings and have not found any broken lights. Whilst some of our rooms may need repainting (which is an ongoing project as in many hotels) the bathrooms have everything you would need. I am sorry that you felt you did not enjoy your stay but I believe we do offer good value for money for a guests stay Kind regards Dean
Read more
Myself and my teenage daughter stayed on 01st June , Receptionist was cheerful, however I had to ask directions to room and also had to also ask about breakfast as wasn't offered this when we checked in, when I got into the room, it was very dated and the windows had damp around
Read more
Response from Dean L, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
I am sorry that you found issues in your room. we could have looked at moving you had you made us aware at the time. The housekeeping manager will be passed on this email to ensure we rectify the issue. It is very unfortunate that you were disturbed during the night. The hotel night team did go and deal with the incident but were obviously not going to add to any noise. We cannot be responsible for other peoples inconsiderate behaviour but on occasions that it does occur we aim to deal with it as swiftly as possible with minimal disturbance. i will speak with the team member who checked you out as they should have asked about your stay. Thank you for your comments i will ensure that these are passed onto the team Kind regards Dean
Read more
I had to stay here recently due to no availability at the local Premier Inn. I was pleasantly surprised with the gym being part of your stay as it's well equipped. The rooms are nice and the restaurant has plenty to choose from. I will definitely use this hotel again after
Read more
Response from Dean L, Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for you review of your recent stay. All our room rates do include full use of the escape zone club and offer great value when you do compare to some of our competitors. We have all the amenities on site so together with the free parking we are an alternative to the typical branded hotels that are in the centre of the town We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards Dean
Read more
+1
Have thought long and hard about posting a review because I had such a mixed experience. Booked a twin for 2 nights with a room rate of £140.00 not including breakfast. I would really like to start on a possative and say that the room was worth it but I really wasn't. Before
Read more
Response from Dean L, Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your comments regarding the team. It was my understanding that you slept in the room then contacted reception regarding the cleanliness, the manager on duty refunded your nights stay after going to the room with you. It is never our intention to let a room with debris on the floor and I can only assume that the vacuuming of the room was missed by the cleaner as they tend to Vacuum rooms all in a block at the end of the bedroom cleaning. In relation to your allegation of getting electrocuted by an Iron you are not correct instating that you were not asked about an accident form. You refused to complete one when asked by my operations manager. The iron is in fully working order and is not faulty. All our portable appliances are tested every year and visually checked by our maintenance team. It was unfortunate that you encountered the issues regarding the room and took until the following day to speak with one of the team. I will speak with those who you encountered and pass on your comments to them kind regards Dean
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$58 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sporting lodge inn middlesbrough hotel middlesbroughsporting hotel middlesbroughmiddlesbrough sporting hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireMiddlesbrough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing