We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Highfield Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Highfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 190: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for several weeks for work nearby. Very friendly staff. Clean, tidy and modern rooms. Large portions of pub classics. Strange bar system where everyone cues at the bar rather than all standing at the bar together, but once your used to it you just do the same. Locals come in regular for the takeaway desserts, which are tasty and... More 

Helpful?
Thank James Y
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

booked a one night stay at this hotel with my husband as it's very reasonably priced with breakfast included.just want to say the poor star rate was not for the room,in fact the room was lovely with up to date furnishings and it was clean,you get what you pay for.we stayed in a first floor room which was ideal as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne F
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we take all feedback seriously as it lets us know where we can improve. More 

Travelers are raving about these Middlesbrough hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Burton in Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Really comfy bed, spoilt by noise. I appreciated it's over a busy pub, but sound proofing your windows and putting a fan in the room would have been nice. The last night I think I finally fell asleep some where between roanan keating and baggy trousers on karaoke. It's a shame as the staff are lovely, but the place is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle N
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we take all feedback seriously as it lets us know where we can improve. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

My wife and I arrived at the "Hotel" after finally finding it (The Sat-Nav took us to a housing estate at the back of the place) We were shown to our room - (Room 2) and were a little surprised to see we'd been checked into a room with facilities for the disabled. we were also advised of breakfast times... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank davewalker80
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we take all feedback seriously as it lets us know where we can improve. More 

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

we booked a superior room which had a kingsize bed(2 twins stuck together) not very romantic as middle join was not flat,no shower working for the 4 nights,was given a free meal with drinks but felt this was too little,we went upstairs on one night to get a shower in another room,such a palova,breakfast was not too good,sausages were awful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we take all feedback seriously as it lets us know where we can improve. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews on here I was quite apprehensive to say the least when my company told me I was booked in here. I needn't have been. The place itself is very welcoming, I booked in with no problem at all and was shown to my room by a very helpful member of staff. The room itself... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan B
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review out property, it's always great to hear when a guest enjoyed their stay with us! More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Great value, extremely clean hotel. Don't be put off by the busy restaurant - by 10pm it was quiet and we had a great night s sleep. Breakfast wash t the best, but, for what we paid, all in all a good central base and would definitely return. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review out property, it's always great to hear when a guest enjoyed their stay with us! More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

I stayed three nights in this hotel whilst visiting a sick relative in the hospital down the road. The hotel is nothing flash and an older hotel, but what they do, they do well. Clean rooms, with all the basic facilities, The showers were the only poor aspect with small shower heads and black mould in the grouting. The free... More 

Helpful?
Thank millwall_fan
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review out property, it's always great to hear when a guest enjoyed their stay with us! More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night prior to attending a conference in Billingham. We had requested a quiet room and an extra duvet, both of which were provided without any fuss. The room was clean and the water in the shower was hot and plentiful. We had a little issue with the toilet not flushing correctly on... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review out property, it's always great to hear when a guest enjoyed their stay with us! More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

On arrival we went to reception to find no one there, asking at the bar for assistance, was told there were issues as the heavy rain had caused the dinning room ceiling to leak, once that was brought under control. was then greeted by the hotel's receptionist. she went upstairs to check our room was ready, (but we did request... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jdm1958
BestWesternMiddles, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we take all feedback seriously as it lets us know where we can improve. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
0.3 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#7 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: Marton Road, Middlesbrough TS4 2PA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Middlesbrough)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range: $49 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay