We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clerk & Well Pub

Save
Share
156 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1R 5DU England
Lowest prices for your stay
$183
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$183
View deal
Expedia.com$203
Priceline
FindHotel$203
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)

About

#40 of 867 B&Bs / Inns in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal romantic inn in London does not have to be difficult. Welcome to The Clerk & Well Pub, a nice option for travelers like you.

While staying at The Clerk & Well Pub, visitors can check out Coca-Cola London Eye (1.3 mi) and Sky Garden (1.4 mi), some of London's top attractions.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the inn.

The property also boasts a lounge, to help make your stay more enjoyable.

While visiting London, you may want to try some souvlaki at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Daphne Restaurant, Alexander The Great, or The Real Greek - St Martins Lane.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out The British Museum (0.7 mi), Covent Garden (0.9 mi), or St. Paul's Cathedral (0.7 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

The Clerk & Well Pub looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to London.

Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Business

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
230Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
92Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
104Reviews5Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 70
  • 29
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard R wrote a review Sep 2021
Jersey, United Kingdom148 contributions46 helpful votes
We stayed 3 nights the room we had was a good size and well appointed good quality fittings effective air conditioning and quiet- access via steep stairs would not be great for anyone with mobility issues but fine for us. Any minor issues we had were quickly addressed - this is a small chain and we would use them again. This has a good location for Sadlers Wells and Exmouth Market with a good choice of places to eat and drink in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ericcantona wrote a review Aug 2021
Powfoot, United Kingdom91 contributions95 helpful votes
Four of us stayed here for a birthday weekend in London, arriving early afternoon on Friday and leaving on Monday morning. We were delighted with our choice and were made to feel very welcome. The pub downstairs was still closed and so the rooms were really quiet with very effective double glazing and brilliant air conditioning, which we needed as it was very warm and leaving the windows open would have been noisy. Having said that, the area was quiet all weekend and only really came to life on Monday, which we didn’t mind at all. The rooms here are really nice and have a lot of character with every comfort and amenity, though we didn’t spend very much time there as we were out enjoying London. The bed was very comfortable and there was an excellent shower and very nice towels. The links to transport are excellent. We used the NCP car park a 5 minute walk away which was very secure. Buses and the tube are within easy reach of the pub so it was great for getting around. Even though many of the local cafes were still closed post-COVID, there were two really good breakfast places nearby and there will be many more once everything opens up again. We enjoyed going out for breakfast and the quality of cafes was really high in the street just opposite the pub. We would highly recommend the Clerk and Well and will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking at Saffron Hill 5 mins away. Lots of options for breakfast nearby.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Thomas K wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
Very nice hotel, centrally located in the city, easy public transport connections, very clean and with many amenities, minibar food and beverages free of charge available - excellent for business travel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Maria V wrote a review Mar 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom36 contributions24 helpful votes
The staff were super friendly and hospitable. The environment was pleasant- there were TVs around showing soccer matches. I was disappointed by the food (I ordered chicken wings and fries) which was quite oily. My partner ordered chicken cooked with coconut milk, which he liked.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BU1andBU2 wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California4 contributions
Drab with lumpy bed and access via steep, windy stairs absolutely treacherous for seniors. Had to leave for safety reasons and did not use a towel or anything else. Asked for immediate refund and refused any so had to pay for 5 night stay though left right away and had to find a suitable hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from FirstRestaurantGroup, Manager at The Clerk & Well Pub
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Thank you very much for your review. We greatly appreciate your comments about the steep steps and I can assure you that the safety and security of our guests is always our top priority. We do everything possible to inform the guests that we do not have a lift as stated in our booking confirmation and pre-arrival emails to all our guests. Unfortunately we were unable to move you to a room on a lower floor or in a different property because we were fully booked, but we were going to relocate you the following day to another site but you had already left. We are sorry that we have not been able to resolve this, but as per my direct email, we would love you to have you back at one of the other sites. Best regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$157 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonClerkenwell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Clerk & Well Pub
Which popular attractions are close to The Clerk & Well Pub?
Nearby attractions include Harmony Jewels (0.2 miles), Hearts of London (0.2 miles), and Riviere Jewels (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Clerk & Well Pub?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Clerk & Well Pub?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Clerk & Well Pub?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chamisse, Sushi Tetsu, and Anglo.
Is The Clerk & Well Pub located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of London.
Are there any historical sites close to The Clerk & Well Pub?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (1.6 miles), Tower of London (1.8 miles), and Houses of Parliament (1.7 miles).