We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
151-157 City Road, London EC1V 1JH England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$182
Travelocity$182
Tripadvisor$182
Agoda.com$182
Orbitz.com$182
Autograph$182
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1715)
360
Panoramas (28)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#48 of 1,204 hotels in London
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Energising, beautifully designed and brimming with innovation, Montcalm East is something of a nucleus for London's most progressive neighbourhood, its unmistakable shape a new London landmark where bohemian Shoreditch meets the City of London.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
3444Reviews92Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,568
  • 571
  • 182
  • 76
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Karundeep B wrote a review Today
1 contribution
What can I say! What a hotel, especially the staff, namely Simone, she made us feel welcome & what an asset to the hotel & company she is. Lovely hotel in a great location, we had a fantastic view in room 1214. Credit to the hotel & staff, thanks again Simone if you see this
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deby S wrote a review May 2022
Punta Gorda, Florida96 contributions34 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This East End Hotel was a welcome relief after a long day traveling! The Staff was so welcoming and charming, that they made us feel like we had come home. If you love comfort, beautiful modern art and decor, this hotel is for you. It's beautifully located to the Underground and bus line; as well as, wonderful coffee shops, groceries, pubs and restaurants. The rooms were lovely, spacious, clean and neat. My only con is they need to leave lighting instructions in the room to figure out how to control all the cool lighting, heated tile floors (so awesome) and electronic outlets. The comfortable beds and mood lighting was fabulous. Our friends who came with us; really enjoyed the steam room, pool and hot tub located there. Do yourself a favor and pay for breakfast at Mood and Mead located downstairs. The wait staff and chefs bend over backwards getting you your drink requests or your favorite fresh eggs. This entire establishment is so worth your stay!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingrid Moreni, General Manager at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Responded May 13, 2022
Dear Deby S, You made my day.. This is the feedback we work so hard to achieve every day and I feel very lucky as the building is beautiful, the food delicious , the location strategic, the Spa our gem and the staff is genuinely fantastic!! I personally love the underfloor heating and our mood lights, I will definitely take your suggestion onboard and create some instructions to make it easier to use. We are looking forward to see you at Montcalm East on your next visit to London. Regards Ingrid Moreni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan P wrote a review Today
2 contributions
Montcalm East has everything a traveler to London might need, including professional and friendly staff, an excellent location amid plenty of fab restaurants and close to transit, plus top-notch beautiful facilities. In particular, we can not say enough about how much we appreciated everyone on staff who did everything they could to make our stay so incredible. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ed L wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Nicholas, Roul and Iqbal where all fantastic and went above and beyond during my stay ensuring was taken care of. The breakfast buffet was great and I was happy it was included with my stay. I will be definitely returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingrid Moreni, General Manager at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Responded yesterday
Dear EdL Thank you for taking the share your feedback. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our delicious food and that our concierge team was so fantastic. This is the level of service we strive to achieve every day and I am happy we met your expectations. We can’t wait to meeting you soon Regards Ingrid More i
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick W wrote a review Yesterday
Great hotel! Clean and very comfortable rooms. Raul and Andrei we were very helpful! They both went out of their way to make me feel welcome and give directions. I loved the location - very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingrid Moreni, General Manager at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Responded yesterday
Dear Patric W, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad the location was convenient for you and that Raul and Andrei were so helpful. I will share your kind words with them as this is a great motivation for us . We look forward to meeting you soon Regards Ingrid Moreni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChristinafromNY wrote a review Nov 2022
Beaufort, North Carolina97 contributions54 helpful votes
This hotel is exceptional in several ways: its eco-conscious switches; its modern yet comfortable décor; its bar and restaurant—oh that full English breakfast! How we miss you! Most of all Montcalm East is blessed with exceptional staff: Tsvetelin, who found us a way to Scotland during a rail strike; Josh the charismatic whiskey expert at the bar; Simone at the concierge who bought my Mom flowers for her birthday. We hated to leave!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingrid Moreni, General Manager at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Responded 3 days ago
Dear ChristianafromNY, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. You made my day!! I’m so glad to read that my team provided an exceptional service and they made your stay so special. Please come visit us next time you are in London. Looking forward to welcome you back soon Warm regards Ingrid Moreni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kira K wrote a review Nov 2022
Loved Simone she made our experience so extra special and was super accommodating and helpful with any questions we had. The service at this hotel has been amazing and everyone has been so helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingrid Moreni, General Manager at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Responded 4 days ago
Dear KiraK, Thank you for your review. I am so glad to read that Simone and the staff made your stay extra special , this is the level of service we strive to achieve. I will make sure they read your feedback as your kind words will be a great motivation to the team. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards Ingrid Moreni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
I’ve stayed at this property for 25 nights this year for work. There are always problems. The hotel lost my laundry for three hours one timeZ. The bar staff refused to get me a bottle of water at 2345 because they didn’t want to serve water one trip. The TV never seems to work. There was a stay where the hot water went out. Today, the hotel both added a second stay which I cancelled (and treated me like a criminal at the desk demanding documentation of cancellation which happened on 19 October 2022. This is over a month ago. In addition, the room has stains on the carpet and a tub that has a slow drain thst keeps water. The GM Actonf Ovindui ensures the problems would be solved. As expected they were not. I’ve been trying to contact the front desk for 45 minutes via the Marriott app without any luck. Avoid this property. I kept hoping it would get better but it just gets worse. While I will continue to come to London, I will never stay at this property again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Hope for the best but expect things to always get messed up.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ovidiu Gilca, Other at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Dadmazement, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is valuable and provides valuable insight for us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the challenges you have faced during your previous stays as well as the current one. We indeed have experienced technical difficulties with our Satellite dish on the evening of 28th of November which required contractors to investigate and fix the issue. The services have come back in operation on the morning of 29th of November. This has been a consequence of the bad weather during that day and was unfortunately out of our control. Rest assured, the team has worked to full capacity to restore this in the shortest time possible. I have investigated the matter regarding the duplicate reservation we had on your name upon your arrival. We indeed had 2 reservations under your name out of which, one should have been cancelled long before your actual arrival. Unfortunately the cancellation you have made did not integrate in our system, reason for which both reservations were still active. Upon understanding the situation, the team merely requested to have the cancellation e-mail so we could proceed with cancelling the second booking. I am truly sorry if you felt that the front desk team made you feel uncomfortable. I assure you they had the best intentions in mind and only wanted to help. I have personally inspected your room after we met and made sure the drain works to standard. I am sorry you thought that was not the case and as a consequence I have made an ulterior inspection on the following day. I do hope this is fine now. Please let me know if I can be of any further help. Kind Regards, Ovidiu Gilca Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel B wrote a review Nov 2022
Belper, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a really great stay here. We actually had reservations in a different hotel close by, but they messed up our reservation and were not able to offer a room big enough for me and my family (despite having booked and paid in full several months ago). I asked for a refund and walked over to Montcalm East to see if they had availability. The staff were so friendly, welcoming and understanding of our situation. We had been travelling for hours and had a tired and upset 7 year old boy and just needed somewhere nice to relax and sleep. We were able to reserve a beautiful room. It required an extra bed for my son but the housekeeping team made up the bed to the same standard as the main bed and my little boy couldn’t have been happier or cosier. We were even offered a round of drinks on the house to help us settle in and relax. The room was very nicely styled and provided luxurious comfort. The beds were really comfortable and the shower was fantastic. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a nice extra touch. My son and wife have said they don’t want to stay anywhere else ever again when we visit London :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingrid Moreni, General Manager at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Responded 5 days ago
Hi there, thank you so much for sharing your review. You made my day!! I feel very lucky to work with such a fantastic team and your kind words are a huge motivation to us; I am glad you walked in and even more that your family found a home away from home. We can't wait to welcoming you back soon. Regards Ingrid Moreni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Viktorsch wrote a review Nov 2022
Bergen, Norway3 contributions3 helpful votes
My now fiancé and I had a great experience at Montcalm East. I had planned a proposal and he been in contact with Simone, the Guest Experiences Supervisor and she took care of decorating the room with balloons, flowers, chocolate and bubbles to make the proposal perfect. Communication was super smooth and we loved the spa and location. 10/10 and thanks again Simone!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ovidiu Gilca, Other at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Viktorsch, Congratulations on your engagement! We appreciate the time you took to share your experience at Montcalm East. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed it and hope to welcome you back soon. Simone will be over the moon the read your comments. Once again, thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion. Kind Regards, Ovidiu Gilca Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$219 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonShoreditch / East End / East London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
288
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MONTCALM EAST, SHOREDITCH LONDON - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Montcalm East, Shoreditch London
Which popular attractions are close to Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
Nearby attractions include HiddenCity (0.2 miles), Wesley's Chapel & Museum of Methodism (0.3 miles), and Nightjar (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza Union Hoxton, Plate Restaurant, Bar and Bake, and The Nightjar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Montcalm East, Shoreditch London located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of London.
Are any cleaning services offered at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Montcalm East, Shoreditch London offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Montcalm East, Shoreditch London?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.5 miles), Tower of London (1.5 miles), and Houses of Parliament (2.5 miles).