We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 453: English reviews
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The room I can't fault, really nice room and brilliant location. The things that let it down though where when we arrived we weren't told about the £500 deposit and neither where this group that traveled down from Manchester who where unfortunately not aloud to stay because of this and they didn't get there money back. I proved I wasn't...

Thank Eddie1997
Essex England
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Shame that I used to book this as a preference but this stay has done it for me, all windows wide open and no heating it was freezing, filter coffee provided but no cafetière !!! They used to give free water but nothing!!! Reception staff unhelpful when asked why there was no plug in the bath! Won't be returning

Thank MikeUK66
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here 11 days with another 3 weeks to go and trying to get someone to sort out the tv which displays no signal for the last 11 days . Everyone comes up n unplugs n replugs the tv and promises to contact sky but still no resolution each day. Getting quite frustrated now. The wifi is also ridiculously slow...

Thank Mariam R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spacious apartment, spotlessly clean, Good kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, large sized fridge and freezer. Very pleased with our stay there - will definitely return as more convenient than staying in a hotel. Heating system excellent.

Thank 377Rosa
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Describe the service you experienced: Not very good service at all. We arrived early and were told our room was not ready but if we paid £30 we could check in early. Tried to ask for the simplest of help and it was very hard. We checked into our room that was supposed to sleep 6 people. We only had...

Thank Bren R
EmpireSquare S, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this review

Dear Bren R, Thank you for taking time to leave us a feedback. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused with your stay. We value our customer feedback and we invest our time and effort to make the guest experience more enjoyable . I would like...

Reviewed January 4, 2017

My family of four recently stayed at Marlin Apartments, Empire Square over the Christmas holiday. We were very pleased with our 2-bedroom apartment. I don't think we would have found anything as nice or with as much space for the same price anywhere in London. The location was excellent, very close to three Tube stops, which made it very easy...

Thank Michele R
EmpireSquare S, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this review

Dear Michele R, Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise for the impression you had while visiting us. I am glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you very much for the comments of your stay. We value our customer feedback and we invest our time and effort to make the guest experience...

Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

I always look at Marlin when it comes to visits in London. I find booking an apartment a lot better than a hotel for just because I have more living space compared to a box room a hotel can offer for similar price! The room had everything I needed and everything was clean and tidy. The hallways was slightly messy...

Thank Wesley C
EmpireSquare S, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this review

Dear Wesley C, Thank you for taking time to leave us a feedback. I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and you are happy with our services. The view is one of the benefits with our apartments on the higher floor and the view is really beautiful . We are looking forward to welcome you...

Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

Repeating visit to London with Marlin Apartments this time different location, great hosting like always, super clean and amazing views shard amazing during the night and great service. Great location and very well connected.

Thank Ekaitz B
EmpireSquare S, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this review

Dear Ekaitz, Thank you very much for such a nice feedback. We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, it is always pleasure to read about great guest experiences in Empire Square! We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, Joana Mikionyte Operations Manager

Johnston, Iowa
Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at the Marlin over Christmas and Boxing Day. The first apartment we were given was ok but not a great view. After my husband complained we were given a corner room on the 5th floor with a great view so it paid to ask for better. Not sure why we weren't given the better room...

1Thank RockenRhonda
EmpireSquare S, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this review

Dear RockenRhonda, Thank you for the feedback about your stay with us at Marlin Apartments Empire Square! I was glad to read that eventually you received a nice apartment with the nice view and I am very sorry with regards to the bathroom. It is always helpful to receive a feedback from the guest to make some improvements or to...

Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Kids loved it - late check in and close to the Shard. I bit of rubbish in the corridors and a update of the communal areas would make this place even better. House keeping a little more attention on fridge cleanliness needed. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. View from the balcony is amazing. If your budget allows it's a...

Thank famising
EmpireSquare S, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this review

Dear Famising, Thank you for your stay with Marlin Apartments and for your feedback shared on TripAdvisor. It was lovely to read that your kids enjoyed to stay with us! Reception team were glad to read nice comments as they do work hard to ensure we keep our guest happy and comfortable. Our apologies in relation to corridors and the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

443 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (186)
Room/Suite (46)
View from Room (24)
Bathroom (11)
Dining (12)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (241)
One Bedroom Apartment (76)
The Hotel (27)
Two Bedroom Apartment (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Room/Suite (9)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
#65 of 816 in London
444 reviews
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
City of London
Cheval Three Quays
Cheval Three Quays
#2 of 816 in London
2,112 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
#94 of 816 in London
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at London Bridge, just minutes from London’s financial district, this landmark development provides unrivalled access to London’s City centre and it’s most inspiring attractions. These cutting edge apartments fuse London’s cosmopolitan culture with award winning contemporary design, encompassing a vast internal courtyard and private landscaped gardens. Modern furnishings complement the large living space in each apartment, with many offering striking views across London. The emphasis is on light and space, with most apartments boasting large scenic windows and floor-to-ceiling glazing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

Address: 34 Long Lane | 5-8 Empire Square South, London SE1 4NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Price Range: $151 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlin Apartments - Empire Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Marlin Apartments - Empire Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square Hotel London
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Marlin Apartments - Empire Square staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Marlin Apartments - Empire Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher the Better. There is a road nearby, plus people walking home late from London Bridge. Balcony adds more room for a family.”
  • View of The Shard from the lounge
  • View of central courtyard of apartments.Mixture of owner & rental.
  • Lounge, kitchen, diner. Lots of light & separate areas
  • Decent sized bedroom, with drawers and plenty of hanging & storage space
  • Decent sized bathroom
  • Extensive kitchen if you want to keep to budget.
 of 5 bubbles ColinandJulia, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great views”
 of 5 bubbles aking73, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“GO somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 73ruthx, Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a shard view - but dont expect to get one! we didn't !”
 of 5 bubbles KettlesInverness, May 23, 2016 | Read review
“I cant comment on the other apartments, but apartment was near perfect (Apartment 8)”
 of 5 bubbles sampatel228, May 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question