We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Grove Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Grove Hill Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This lovely guest house is what it is, great value for money. In a most beautiful part of London, east access to the centre of London, free wifi , free breakfast , tea and coffee etc a real bonus if on a budget. You will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Ventercollectos777
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

Don't go there, the owner is really disrespectful. Would never go back here. + if you have allergies this is perfect because the room are so dusty, you are sure you'll get some eczema. i feel scratchy just to think about it.

Helpful?
1 Thank StanislasdelC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

Came here for new years eve . Two nights. We were in the top room. Ceiling very low. Nearly knocked myself out a few times . Window didn't close. But room really warm anyway. BIG problem breakfast 6.30 am to 8 am . Even new years day. Who ever gets up that early when you are on vacation. Room clean.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank edwardsjayne84
Andrew N, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Edwards We are very disappointed with your rather negative review, more so as most of the points you raise are factually incorrect. You should recall that you arrived at our premises with another guest when in fact you had booked a room for just yourself and we were completely full on New Years Eve. We had booked you... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I was at this hotel after a long journey from where I stay as I had a business meeting the next day morning. The reservation was done through an online website and I had received the confirmation. Once I reached the hotel, I encountered this rude receptionist who was constantly talking to someone (owner) I presume. She said that something... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rithik M
Andrew N, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, You booked the cheapest available budget room for one night through Booking.com for £37.00 for one night. We require such short bookings to be paid for in advance and when we tried to take payment, there were irregularities with the card that was used to make the booking and when we contacted the bank, we were informed that... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

The room had 3 single beds in and was not really big enough for all 3. The bathroom stank, I believe we were getting fumes from all the other rooms when they used the Loo, an electric socket was loose and could have come away from the back plate. Breakfast sausages probably never saw any meat ( unless it was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Den H
Jenny N, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr H, You booked a discounted, budget room through Travelstay at a greatly reduced price, including Breakfast. On your arrival, you indicated that you were unable to manage stairs very easily and asked for a room on the ground floor, we had a triple room only available, as we were full otherwise. You immediately asked for a further discount... More 

beverley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

My family recently stayed at this hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and breakfast was very good. We were made to feel very welcome with my 3 year old son. I did read the other "bad" reviews but it didn't put me off. I would say they were a bit harsh and very biased. So don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank bot
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to please and try and address any issues if they are brought to our attention at the time. We are indeed situated in a very nice part of London, with easy access to the centre with a range of interesting... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Grove Hill for 4 days whilst my property was being tefurbished. I found the staff helpful and matter of fact. Breakfast was substantial enough for my requirements. I spoke to the manager a large man with a good sense of humor who chatted to me each time I saw him. Would stay again.

Helpful?
2 Thank jonmclinch
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jon, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate in contacting us again in the future if we can offer our services again. Kind regards, Edwin More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Awful experience with this hotel. The manager took umbrage at an average (and not unfair) 3-star review we posted elsewhere. Shockingly, this resulted in our being turned away on Christmas Eve and my elderly father being treated disrespectfully when he came to check in on our behalf. We, of course, have reported this to our booking agent but they were... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank sarah m
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms M. Thank you for your feedback ,however as you know, you had stayed two weeks previously and did indeed rate us highly but complained about being provided with disposable plastic cups as do many similar hotels these days. These are used as we consider this to be more hygienic. You could have had glass ones for your water... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

After 3 months of calls, emails, meetings and 500 pounds deposit we received a text from Mario, the manager, saying that the deal was broken because the hotel was full! We booked rooms for 16 people and suddenly we didn't have any place for them. We quickly booked Hotel Saint Georgios in Gants Hill (super professional, clean and cheaper!!) and... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Maria S
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Regarding your comment, your friend Pierre has failed to inform you of the full circumstances and therefore I can understand why your assertions are biased, factually incorrect and not objective. In order to assist further I can say that Pierre, having entered into several weeks of haggling and negotiation over the rates, agreed to provisionally book almost the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

Rooms booked weeks before with a deposit and canceled two days before due date by the hotel management who has no intention to give the money back! I read earlier reviews and understand similar cases were already reported. This hotel should simply be blacklisted.

Helpful?
9 Thank philippe c
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philippe, Regarding your comment, your friend Pierre has failed to inform you of the full circumstances and therefore I can understand why your assertions are biased, factually incorrect and not objective. In order to assist further I can say that Pierre, having entered into several weeks of haggling and negotiation over the rates, agreed to provisionally book almost the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Travelodge Snaresbrook
#548 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
East End / East London
Premier Inn London Chingford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Packfords Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woodford
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful family run, long established Guest House in a lovely part of London. Easy access to the West End and City, approximately 20 to 30 minutes. Close to the Central Line Station at South Woodford. Situated in a quiet Residential Street and yet 2 minutes walk to shops restaurants and Cinema. M25 and A406 a 5 minute drive. Olympic Park and Stratford Westfield Shopping ten minutes by underground or short drive. All rooms refurbished and great value for money. Prices include VAT, a Full English Breakfast, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Free Affinity WiFi, car parking. South Woodford is a lovely area to stay in if you want peace and quiet at night but easy access to all facilities and Central London. 400 Acres of Epping Forest is close by to explore and there is a wealth of other interesting activities close by to engage in and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grove Hill Hotel

Address: 38 Grove Hill | South Woodford, London E18 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Grove Hill Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing