We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Normandie Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Normandie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 97: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we were very happy with the place. Staff at reception very warm and friendly and it is manned 24 hours a day. Mum and daughter do breakfast and they do a great job. Hotel is centrally located, Walking distance to Marble Arch and a walk through Hyde Park to Harrods in Knightsbridge. Great... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2345Deni
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert at Hyde park. The location is the only thing good about this place. I would never normally write a bad review but this place is just dirty, tatty and old! Avoid and stay somewhere else. The man who checked us in was nice and friendly enough but the curtains where hanging off the rails,... More 

Helpful?
Thank danniking80
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with the room. There are fans in the rooms if you felt it was roasting. The smell of grease was from the kitchen as we cook a fresh English breakfast. More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Basic accommodation was a bit cold but heaters were provided. Standard accommodation. Breakfast only served till 9, would be better if later option available. Check in fine. Great location as within walking distance to Paddington station.

Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we turn the central heating system off as most of our guests prefer it to be cool. Again breakfast is only served until 9 am as most people like to eat early and go out for the day but it can be extended if requested the previous day! More 

Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

There is no lift to this hotel. If you are on the fourth floor with suitcases, it is certainly a challenge. And then back down again. I moved the single bed away from the radiator (rad was off and window open) to reveal debris under the bed. The hotel is a short walk from Praed Street where there are eateries... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brianjwpalacio
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we can not have a lift installed as the hotel is too small. I am surprised you found debris under the bed but I apologise. More 

California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

Seemed OK to being centrally located, nice people (I thought) decent cheap Hotel I guess. We went out and came back at 11.30pm and the outside of the hotel had transformed there were prostitutes all over the place and rats running around the garbage left on the street. It only got worse. Once in our room we noticed the curtains... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mtwtraveler
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

Looks like mold on the ceiling. Room not filthy, but not clean (soiled wall light switches, sticky surface bedside table, etc.). Not one single touch of charm. On the other hand, the desk concierge was very helpful. Breakfast was ok--I didn't tour the kitchen so trust it was relatively clean--(no refunds available so I tried to think positive to keep... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LeahPhoenix
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

Nice family run place in the center of London, polite and helpful staff. Paddington station is very close which helps the ease of transportation. Kensington Gardens and Palace is just 10 min walk from the hotel which is a pleasent way to spend your day. Hotel room was nice and clean.

Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasha, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday and liked your room. I look forward to perhaps seeing you again now that the hotel has been renovated. More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2016 via mobile

It's a good hotel if you're looking for something for cheap price and close to Edgware road but then again there are other hotels for same price that are better, this is a good hotel but needs upgrading, very poor bedding, heating facility wasn't very good though we were given an electric heater. I didn't really enjoy my stay, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moh K
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay. We are actually decorating the hotel now and replacing the bedding. More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Very very poor, needs a good clean, updating and new window from dripping & mouldy , it's a throw back to the 30s Chewing gum left on the head board, mouldy in corners on the carpet, could hear the traffic through the rattling Windows all night, hand towels for bath towels, no tea or coffee in the rooms, the only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you were not happy with the room . We advertise that tea and coffee is available on request as some people do not want it in their room. If the traffic noise was unbearable you could have asked to change for a room at the back. Also if you had mentioned that the taps were... More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Read some terrible reviews upon booking this, but got was the cheapest I could find for when I wanted. My sister from Australia was visiting and I wanted to show her round London so wanted something much nicer, but we aren't high maintenance and knew we'd be out all weekend and only using this as a place to get some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael_Jamieson
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#607 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#829 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#684 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel
#753 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchard Hotel
Orchard Hotel
#841 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#610 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Normandie Hotel

Address: 96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $73 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay