We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Normandie Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Normandie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just wanted a B&B for a night and at £56, this appeared a good deal. The price was for a double with private ensuite and included a breakfast; so excellent advertised price. However I found the room to be in poor condition, very basic and no kettle/tea/coffee facility. Ensuite was shabby with black mould in all the white sealant. Bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank nautibuoy2015
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your review. I am sorry you felt the room was in a poor condition. Tea and coffee making facilities are only available on request as advertised. The full English breakfast is always freshly cooked with fresh ingredients which most people enjoy. More 

Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rude staff. Very dirty. Room was disgusting and was stinking of cigarette smoke. Requested a ground floor room as a disabled guest, was given furthest away room on second floor. Staff unwilling to help.

Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am surprised that you thought my staff were rude as most people would disagree with you. We do not have any record of your requesting disabled access but could not relocate you as the rooms on the ground floor were already occupied. More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2016

I made the booking for my two senior managers traveling from USA HQ. After check-in on Monday 17th October 2016, the non-smoking room was filled with cigarettes smell. The faucet is dripping, the bathroom fan is clunky and noisy, and can't turn off. It was very cold without proper heating. Overall the room is very old, small and yucky. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex C
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were so unhappy with the hotel. I was on holiday at that time and I am disappointed that you felt my staff could not help you. Unfortunately the boiler broke on the day your managers arrived but we had electric heaters in the rooms and since it was not very cold at the time they were... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Stayed here for one night, it is pretty basic but location is great. Walking distance from Paddington Station and a quick walk to nearest tube station, and then only a couple of stops to central London and all the attractions. stayed in a twin room on the second floor. Unfortunately I was kept awake with noise from the street and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank little4pink
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your visit in London. Unfortunately, we cannot control the noise on the street. It is a good idea to ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper. I hope to see you again. Kind Regards: More 

Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

The Normandie hotel is a clean comfortable hotel, no real down side but the steep staircase if you are on the top floor. The staff are friendly and very happy to help, was given tube and London maps on arrival. Will stay here again! Good English Breakfast too!

Helpful?
1 Thank LordChunky
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we were very happy with the place. Staff at reception very warm and friendly and it is manned 24 hours a day. Mum and daughter do breakfast and they do a great job. Hotel is centrally located, Walking distance to Marble Arch and a walk through Hyde Park to Harrods in Knightsbridge. Great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2345Deni
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Paddington, London. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert at Hyde park. The location is the only thing good about this place. I would never normally write a bad review but this place is just dirty, tatty and old! Avoid and stay somewhere else. The man who checked us in was nice and friendly enough but the curtains where hanging off the rails,... More 

Helpful?
Thank danniking80
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with the room. There are fans in the rooms if you felt it was roasting. The smell of grease was from the kitchen as we cook a fresh English breakfast. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Basic accommodation was a bit cold but heaters were provided. Standard accommodation. Breakfast only served till 9, would be better if later option available. Check in fine. Great location as within walking distance to Paddington station.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we turn the central heating system off as most of our guests prefer it to be cool. Again breakfast is only served until 9 am as most people like to eat early and go out for the day but it can be extended if requested the previous day! More 

Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2016

There is no lift to this hotel. If you are on the fourth floor with suitcases, it is certainly a challenge. And then back down again. I moved the single bed away from the radiator (rad was off and window open) to reveal debris under the bed. The hotel is a short walk from Praed Street where there are eateries... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brianjwpalacio
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we can not have a lift installed as the hotel is too small. I am surprised you found debris under the bed but I apologise. More 

California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2016

Seemed OK to being centrally located, nice people (I thought) decent cheap Hotel I guess. We went out and came back at 11.30pm and the outside of the hotel had transformed there were prostitutes all over the place and rats running around the garbage left on the street. It only got worse. Once in our room we noticed the curtains... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank mtwtraveler
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#658 of 1,078 in London
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#829 of 1,078 in London
569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#731 of 1,078 in London
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#838 of 1,078 in London
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#634 of 1,078 in London
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#663 of 1,078 in London
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Normandie Hotel

Address: 96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Normandie Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Marquette, Michigan

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Normandie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid rooms 3 & 4 (ground floor). They are by the stairs door going down to the basement dinning room .. lot of noise from 7am.”
 of 5 bubbles nautibuoy2015, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“no lift so if you are not able to manage many stairs ask for a room on lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles little4pink, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms effected by road noise due to single glazing to windows”
 of 5 bubbles brianjwpalacio, Apr 24, 2016 | Read review
“No room in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles mtwtraveler, Apr 6, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles kaznal, Oct 4, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay