We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Normandie Hotel

96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Normandie Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a good hotel if you're looking for something for cheap price and close to Edgware road but then again there are other hotels for same price that are better, this is a good hotel but needs upgrading, very poor bedding, heating facility wasn't very good though we were given an electric heater. I didn't really enjoy my stay, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moh K
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay. We are actually decorating the hotel now and replacing the bedding. More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Very very poor, needs a good clean, updating and new window from dripping & mouldy , it's a throw back to the 30s Chewing gum left on the head board, mouldy in corners on the carpet, could hear the traffic through the rattling Windows all night, hand towels for bath towels, no tea or coffee in the rooms, the only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you were not happy with the room . We advertise that tea and coffee is available on request as some people do not want it in their room. If the traffic noise was unbearable you could have asked to change for a room at the back. Also if you had mentioned that the taps were... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Read some terrible reviews upon booking this, but got was the cheapest I could find for when I wanted. My sister from Australia was visiting and I wanted to show her round London so wanted something much nicer, but we aren't high maintenance and knew we'd be out all weekend and only using this as a place to get some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael_Jamieson
devon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

Great location.....whole hotel needs updating drastically. Poor house keeping and complete lack of attention to any detail. No toiletries or hand towels or bath mat. No tea or coffee making facilities. Bed linen clean but holey. The top stairs coming away from the building. Not sure what was going on with the lights...... Would not stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank kaznal
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise that you were not complelely satisfied with your stay at the hotel. Tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as toiletries, are available on request and the bed sheets could have been changed for you with minimal disruption if you had mentioned your concerns during your stay. I have checked the top stairs and staircase and have found noting... More 

Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

It's an excellent choice when you need a place to sleep in London. The hotel staff is very kind and friendly, rooms were cleaned every day. Full English breakfast is included in the price, there is free wi-fi. It's only a 10-minute walk from Marble Arch and Oxford Street. I'll definitely choose it again when I go to London and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bled_SloveniaCilka
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel satisfactory. I look forward to see you again. More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
486 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

Well no bed bugs in our 2 rooms in a few days... The building is old so you get the Victorian feeling of an old London houses which is interesting as well (squeaking stairs, small corridors, small rooms...). We slept ok, the breakfast was good - all as expected in this price range. The best thing is location - so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank izi f
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I hope you will be returning to the hotel and please make yourself known to me when you do. If you are not happy with anything please speak to the reception staff and we will help you with any problems. More 

Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Writing this review is long overdue for me, but here goes. We were lured in by the cheaper price and the central location (Paddington) which would allow us to explore London with ease one last time before leaving Europe. We had spent the previous few months using AirBNB for our accommodations, but decided we wanted to change things up and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night and I know it's not meant to be anything really special but I was glad that I didn't stay longer. The checking process went well but when I got to my room I found that there were no tea and coffee making facilities, no mirror in the bedroom at all, mismatched furniture,... More 

Helpful?
Thank tCas84
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for your disappointment but we advertise that tea and coffee facilities are available on request .I am surprised that you felt that the furniture was mismatched and that the bathroom was very small.Unfortunately since the hotel is very small we have no alternative but to have small bathrooms in some of the rooms.The hotel has been decorated recently... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel as a base to visit central London, thinking it appeared adequate for somewhere simple to sleep in. We were wrong. The hotel appears nice from the road. The room was shocking, the bed looked uncomfortable and was clearly well used. There were hairs in the bed and the throw over the bed I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sdb1342
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am surprised you found the room shocking as it is one that is requested by regular guests. The beds were all changed last year and so was the throw in that room. We have regular pest control inspections and do not have problems with rodents. I have checked the e-mails I sent you and could not hear any laughter.In... More 

Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I was really apprehensive after reading the bad reviews but I must admit the staff and especially the girls in the kitchen were really friendly and helpful. My husband and I have mobility problems and the hotel put us on the ground floor. The only problem is going down the stairs to the dining room. Luckily I can walk but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley B
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We can take breakfast to the room for people with mobility problems. I look forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#306 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Earls Court
0.0 mi away
Orchard Hotel
Orchard Hotel
#770 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#473 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#706 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#776 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay