We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Normandie Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Normandie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights from 21st to 23rd of December on a pre Christmas break on b&b basis, it was a cheap hotel for a reason, it was a dump! bedside cabinet covered in cigarette burns, handles missing from the drawers, piece of plywood screwed to the wall to act as the headboard above the bed, if you could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cloelanber
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this little b&b as we needed something local to Winter Wonderland. We booked relatively far in advance so around £55 for the room. This is very cheap for London. We had en suite double. The room was more than fine for the price, although I probably wouldn't want to stay in there for a long period of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sues86
Goes, The Netherlands
Reviewed December 9, 2016

The hotel is well located (walking distance from the Marble Arch station) where buses from Luthon airport stop. It's only a few minutes away from the Paddington metro station. Public transport in London is VERY expensive, therefore, it's advisable to get an Oyster card for 3 days for example at the costs of 25 pounds. You can easily top it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayolino
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Just wanted a B&B for a night and at £56, this appeared a good deal. The price was for a double with private ensuite and included a breakfast; so excellent advertised price. However I found the room to be in poor condition, very basic and no kettle/tea/coffee facility. Ensuite was shabby with black mould in all the white sealant. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nautibuoy2015
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your review. I am sorry you felt the room was in a poor condition. Tea and coffee making facilities are only available on request as advertised. The full English breakfast is always freshly cooked with fresh ingredients which most people enjoy.

Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Rude staff. Very dirty. Room was disgusting and was stinking of cigarette smoke. Requested a ground floor room as a disabled guest, was given furthest away room on second floor. Staff unwilling to help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am surprised that you thought my staff were rude as most people would disagree with you. We do not have any record of your requesting disabled access but could not relocate you as the rooms on the ground floor were already occupied.

Reviewed October 19, 2016

I made the booking for my two senior managers traveling from USA HQ. After check-in on Monday 17th October 2016, the non-smoking room was filled with cigarettes smell. The faucet is dripping, the bathroom fan is clunky and noisy, and can't turn off. It was very cold without proper heating. Overall the room is very old, small and yucky. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were so unhappy with the hotel. I was on holiday at that time and I am disappointed that you felt my staff could not help you. Unfortunately the boiler broke on the day your managers arrived but we had electric heaters in the rooms and since it was not very cold at the time they were...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Stayed here for one night, it is pretty basic but location is great. Walking distance from Paddington Station and a quick walk to nearest tube station, and then only a couple of stops to central London and all the attractions. stayed in a twin room on the second floor. Unfortunately I was kept awake with noise from the street and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank little4pink
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your visit in London. Unfortunately, we cannot control the noise on the street. It is a good idea to ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper. I hope to see you again. Kind Regards:

Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

The Normandie hotel is a clean comfortable hotel, no real down side but the steep staircase if you are on the top floor. The staff are friendly and very happy to help, was given tube and London maps on arrival. Will stay here again! Good English Breakfast too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LordChunky
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards

Reviewed August 21, 2016

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we were very happy with the place. Staff at reception very warm and friendly and it is manned 24 hours a day. Mum and daughter do breakfast and they do a great job. Hotel is centrally located, Walking distance to Marble Arch and a walk through Hyde Park to Harrods in Knightsbridge. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2345Deni
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Paddington, London. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert at Hyde park. The location is the only thing good about this place. I would never normally write a bad review but this place is just dirty, tatty and old! Avoid and stay somewhere else. The man who checked us in was nice and friendly enough but the curtains where hanging off the rails,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danniking80
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with the room. There are fans in the rooms if you felt it was roasting. The smell of grease was from the kitchen as we cook a fresh English breakfast.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#673 of 1,080 in London
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#850 of 1,080 in London
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#735 of 1,080 in London
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avon Hotel
Avon Hotel
#866 of 1,080 in London
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#660 of 1,080 in London
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#741 of 1,080 in London
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Normandie Hotel

Address: 96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $65 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Normandie Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Marquette, Michigan

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Normandie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid rooms 3 & 4 (ground floor). They are by the stairs door going down to the basement dinning room .. lot of noise from 7am.”
 of 5 bubbles nautibuoy2015, Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
“no lift so if you are not able to manage many stairs ask for a room on lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles little4pink, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms effected by road noise due to single glazing to windows”
 of 5 bubbles brianjwpalacio, Apr 24, 2016 | Read review
“No room in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles mtwtraveler, Apr 6, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles kaznal, Oct 4, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay